4/15 Doodles AMPS 487 +7 346 (1.5R) +9.5 305 PMPS 349 +2 396 (2R) +3 370 +5 305

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 4/14 We have a nasty bounce this morning from those beautiful blues yesterday. I've noticed that he does get sleepy in the blues like he did when he started seeing these numbers and greens in the beginning. His poor little body. Good news...he's bossy and seems to be feeling good with a good appy. At 4am, 1/2 hour before my alarm goes off I was woken up to cat rough housing...he had Moo pinned down.

R Team...my levemir should be here no later than Monday. What's a good day to start and do we hold this dose until then? I promised DH we'd go to a friends house tomorrow night so no R will be given or a small dose depending on where he is. Today is the 6th cycle on the 12u dose.
 
Hope the bounce clears quickly Karen. Glad Doodles is feeling good and rough housing with Moo! That's a good sign! Best of luck with the Levemir!
 
I have noticed the same thing with Stomper in regards to sleepiness when he hit the blues. Yesterday he slept all day and then wanted to play last night when he bounced. This morning too he is the same - very playful.

Hope the bounce clears quickly. I was so happy to see those numbers from last night though for him!
 
It's probably safe to say that Moo is rooting for some lower numbers. ;) I just saw the rest of yesterday's condo: Gorgeous blue surf! ...and I guess he deserves a little break after all that excitement yesterday.
 
So awesome to see the blues again :cool:!! Hopefully that will soon be the norm and Doodles will be used to it. Yay for feeling great, too - although no need to pin down Moo to prove how good you feel, OK, Doodles? Have a great day, Karen!
 
I always have the same kind of mixed emotions when someone in my house is feeling off and then starts feeling better. The boys like to pick on Frankie because she's just so happy-go-lucky. When they haven't been feeling well but then start picking on Frankie, I know they are on the mend...mixed blessing because I'm happy they're feeling better; not happy that they bug poor Frankie.
 
Doodles.....no bouncy!!!!

Here's my thought but I'm also going to chat with Wendy, Sandy, and Julie but I'd leave the dose for now. He's getting into some blues so let's see if he can continue it. If he doesn't keep getting back to blue in the next few cycles, we might want to increase.

You can start the lev whenever you want but I suggest you do it on a morning cycle. Shoot Lantus the night before and lev the next morning. Normally, we cut the dose back 30%, just in case he's one that likes to have a pretty act first cycle with lev. That would mean taking him to about 8 or 9u and I'm not sure if we want to drop him back that much because of the IAA. So .... Let us get back to you on that. Do you have any thoughts about it?

If we do drop him back a bit and he doesn't respond right off the bat, then we will fast track him back up. I raised Gracie's lev dose after 24 hours and again after 48. She ended up having to go above her Lantus dose but then she eventually got much lower on lev.

Edited to add: you will need to potentially learn the best times to give him R with lev and so I think it might be w good idea to lay off the R the first couple of lev cycles but we are also discussing that.
 
Last edited:
R Team...my levemir should be here no later than Monday. What's a good day to start and do we hold this dose until then? I promised DH we'd go to a friends house tomorrow night so no R will be given or a small dose depending on where he is. Today is the 6th cycle on the 12u dose.
I don't have personal experience with transitioning from Lantus to Lev but am sure you will have an answer soon.

Easy on the R today. You want to avoid getting roped into a counter productive loop of beating down high numbers caused by beating down high numbers.

Regarding holding this dose let's see how the rest of this cycle plays out.
 
I'd leave the dose for now. He's getting into some blues so let's see if he can continue it
I agree with holding the dose for now.
you will need to potentially learn the best times to give him R with lev and so I think it might be w good idea to lay off the R the first couple of lev cycles
On board here too!
That would mean taking him to about 8 or 9u and I'm not sure if we want to drop him back that much because of the IAA. So .... Let us get back to you on that.
I'll take your lead. 30% reduction of 12u is 8u but see what others have to say.
 
Right now, we think you should hold the 12u dose and start the lev at 10u bid but it depends on your level of comfort and also what he does the next few cycles.
 
Last edited:
2u R? Ok, we'll plan on 10u for the lev and not increase the lantus at this time. I plan to start lev on Sunday or Monday I get it by tomorrow.
sorry...typo. .... 12u of Lantus with a suggestion to start the lev at 10u with no R the first couple of lev cycles. And the potential to increase the lev to 12u after two cycles.
 
sorry...typo. .... 12u of Lantus with a suggestion to start the lev at 10u with no R the first couple of lev cycles. And the potential to increase the lev to 12u after two cycles.

Ok, got it. We'll hold it and go easy. Absolutely no R for a few cycles on Lev...I have to see what the heck his cycles are going to look like :nailbiting::nailbiting: If I give any R during the PM cycle it will be conservative. I feel horrible for creating him to bounce.

Thanks Marje.
 
Here are some SS of cats with high dose conditions that switched from Lantus to Lev.
Ozy - switched 12/21/13 to a reduced dose and ended up on the same Lev dose before getting green. Ozy had just IAA.
Cobb - switched 8/6/14 to a reduced Lev dose, waa using R too. Saw a little bit of green initially then had to increase just a bit, then the IAA broke. Never hit the Lantus dose when using Levemir. The switch was done over a year after diagnosis - were the antibodies done anyway? Cobb was IAA confirmed and suspected acro though not tested.
Cyrstal - switched 1/27/15 to Lev at a reduced dose and ended up going a lot higher. R use started later. Acromegaly confirmed, IAA suspected but she couldn't get the test in Europe.
Leo - switched 4/10/12 to just 10% less Lev than the Lantus dose. Ended up going a lot higher. Leo was confirmed acromegaly and not tested for IAA - though I rather suspect it now.
Tiggy - switched 6/24/14 to 10% less but almost immediatly had to drop the dose to 1/2 the Lantus dose. Tiggy was acromegaly only.
Neko switched 9/10/13 - but we were "micro dosing" at that point. IAA was broken, we started at 70% and ended up at almost the same dose as the Lantus dose.
 
Here are some SS of cats with high dose conditions that switched from Lantus to Lev.
Thanks Wendy. I'm not expecting a miracle but do hope the stinging goes away. Sometimes it's still hard for me to admit this is happening. Oh well, we just keep going and he's feeling good.
 
1.5R @ +7 just to keep him from hitting red.
Beautiful!
Just enough to keep him in the 300-350 range (and off the 4th floor)
If you suspect a bounce use just enough R to take the edge off - tap the numbers down with a lighter hand until the worst of it has passed.
Then pick up where you left off, mindful of how fast and/or far an R dose takes him
By the way, what is your R scale these days?
If I give any R during the PM cycle it will be conservative. I feel horrible for creating him to bounce.
Don't be hard on yourself; its a very tricky balancing act.
Its like drawing a curve with an etch-a-sketch...learning how to use the Left and Right nobs incrementally and simultaneously to achieve a nice smooth line.
 
Beautiful!
Just enough to keep him in the 300-350 range (and off the 4th floor)
Thanks Sandy. Just got a little heavy handed last night but lesson learned.
By the way, what is your R scale these days?

It's still a little questionable. If he's at the higher end of the range I went with the higher dose. Last night was just proved to be stupid but thought I was being too conservative. This is what I plan to use for the +2 dose. Afternoon I tend to be lighter handed and just want him to coast if needed.
- 350-400, 3u
- 300-350, 2.5u
-250-300, 2u
- 200-250, 1.5u

What do you think?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top