4.16.15 Zoey amps (417)+5(290) PMPS (392)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Good morning!

She's high because of the new prescription enzymes. They contain Amylase which is something she's already high in and is also known to cause food bg spikes. I have a post on the main forum to see if anyone has any experience with enzymes to suggest a replacement and will call the vet.

I adjusted her normal feeding at about +9 and cut it back in an effort to keep her numbers from going even further than the 493 they had already reached. Her number's lower so we'll call it a good decision. LOL

Here's yesterday.

Have a wonderful day everyone!
 
Vet said to reduce the enzymes to 1/4 tspn 2 x daily. +5 bg is 290, added 1/4 tspn. He wants to keep her on this dose to see if it helps. It did make a difference last night in her hunger/begging levels. She seemed far more content and was kneeding biscuits forever. This morning she is actually jumping distances to get to the bed to do her blood tests instead of pulling herself up. I don't know if that's the enzymes after one dose but if it is, we definitely need to keep them and look at an insulin increase to compensate.

Cautiously optimistic here ... (whispered celebrations)
 
The enzymes are looking like they're going to keep Zoey's bg close to highs of 400 and lows of 200s. If it is not less than 300 ps in the a.m., would it be okay to go ahead and up her insulin to 4.0 since she's going to be on these enzymes awhile?
 
I would just stick with the protocol no matter the enzymes or not and that means sticking with this dose for a minimum of 6 cycles

None of us really knows what effect the enzymes might have on the BG so the safest thing to do is just stick with the scheduled increases as needed
 
I'm so glad to hear the enzymes seem to be helping Zoey's behavior so far!! Paws crossed you can find a good dose to compensate for any increased BGs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top