4/2 Rosa AMBG 131 PMPS 99 +2 101 +4 86 +6 89

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning, looking good! Is Rosa down to just one shot a day. Her numbers are looking really good, and even decreasing even without a morning shot. I am curious to see what she does today without a morning shot. Sammy has been experiencing some inverted curves due to too much insulin and we lowered his dose, and will probably lower it again tonight. Hopefully Rosa will be completely off insulin really soon.
 
Hi Tina and thanks for looking in :)

It's always interesting for me to see where Rosa finishes the day after a skipped am shot. She does seem to be doing pretty well on one shot per day although she's really still meant to be getting two shots of 0.05. I just haven't been able to give the am shots recently with work though that will change next week. I'm going to have to wait and see what happens when I put her back on 2 shots per day though. Although some people thought she was nadiring late on 2 shots of 0.1 a few weeks ago I'm still sure some of the cycles then were inverted...they were the exact opposite of how they should look when I plotted a curve from her readings. If she starts doing the same on the reduced dose when she's back to 2 shots I'll have to keep her on one per day for a bit I think.

I'm at work at the moment but I'll take a look at Sammy's ss when I get home - the inverted cycle phenomenon does interest me because I'm so certain I've seen it with Rosa too.
 
I just looked at Sammy's ss and I think I see the cycles you're talking about - particularly noticeable on 3/30 and 3/31. Plotted on a chart, they definitely look inverted. Rosa's were similar, though with slightly higher numbers overall from 3/8 through 3/11 AM. What interested me with Rosa was that on 2 occasions, both AM shots, she dropped pretty fast to +1 and then went up from there to mid-cycle. From everything I was able to find online about inverted cycles, that fast drop followed by a rise to an inverted curve is often a tell-tale of too much insulin. Like I said, opinion here does vary on whether she was just having late nadirs and I do completely respect the opinions of everyone here which makes it a difficult decision to call, but her numbers overall have been a little better with the lower dose and some skipped shots, so I'm still fairly certain the 0.1 twice a day had got to be a bit too much for her. And when I gave her the trial for a couple of days, the first 0.1 shot I gave her when her numbers started rising brought her all the way down in just a couple of hours to the point where I was having to carb her a lot to keep her above 50. Sammy's looking so good at the moment, though still with that higher point at mid-cycle, I think it's worth trying another reduction to see what happens. You can always go back up if it doesn't work out.

I'm really hoping we'll see both Sammy and Rosa off the insulin soon - maybe we can get them to work together on this a bit and keep each other in good numbers! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top