4/2: Sammy - AMPS 81; +1 85; +2 81; +3 89; +6 93; +9 78; +11 95; PMPS 85; +2 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

@Jill & Alex (GA) Thank you so much for the visit last night, and thank you for letting me know that I am not CRAZY. When everyone kept telling me that Sammy wasn't having an inverted curve I was really starting to doubt my ability to read and understand the spreadsheet and treat him. But obviously the early reduction to .25u was a good idea.

Yes, I agree that the inverted curve on the evening of 3/30 and the morning of 3/31 could have been influenced by the .5u depot. Last night we did have a bit of an inverted curve but he did have a nadir lower than PS. I didn't see your post before shooting and I did go ahead and give a skinny .25u. I will see how today goes and if I see another inverted curve today, or a LOW, then I will reduce to .1u tonight and see how that goes. I would try to hold that dose for at least 4 cycles to let the depot clear out a bit before I decide to take him of insulin all together.

As I have said all along I don't want to remove him from insulin too soon, but it just seems counter productive to continue to put insulin into him when his pancreas is working on its own. If I continue with the insulin it is just asking for trouble. I would love to be able to start our 14 day OTJ trial by the weekend, but we will just see how it goes the next couple of cycles.

Sammy was eating quite well last night. I decide to split up the varieties of food. I have been giving him four different foods, just a few grams of each at each MM, but last night I decided to split them up two at one MM and the other two at the next. That seemed to help cleanse his palette a bit for the next snack.

Oh, and PS this morning was within 30 minutes of eating. When I put his +9.5 snack out last night there was still a bit of the +6 snack leftover and apparently he ate that one first and still had a bit of the +9.5 snack left. I caught him on video just 15-20 minutes before testing eating just a bit of food. I know he should have a 2 hour window before PS, but at least I have the video to let me know when he ate.

Hope everyone has a fantastic day.
 
Oh, and by the way, I do agree, having a forum where others can share their opinions is great, even if you don't agree with everything. There have been many times through this journey that other opinions have helped me to see what I wasn't seeing, and it is the main reason Sammy is nearing the Falls once again.
 
You're welcome!
Sammy doesn't usually get much of a food spike... even at higher doses of insulin. I like that you're not in a rush, but OTOH, watching for the possibility of too much insulin. It's funny how even a tiny dose can actually cause numbers to rise a little.
Let's see what happens...
 
You're welcome!
Sammy doesn't usually get much of a food spike... even at higher doses of insulin. I like that you're not in a rush, but OTOH, watching for the possibility of too much insulin. It's funny how even a tiny dose can actually cause numbers to rise a little.
Let's see what happens...

Hi @Jill & Alex (GA) I was actually going to contact you again today. It looks like Sammy is having another inverted curve today. At first I thought he might go down when I saw the 81 at +2, but that didn't happen. My question is should I reduce to .1u tonight or discontinue altogether? With the lower dose the rise isn't as high, but it is definitely still there. If I had to guess I would think that we still might see it with .1u also, but if that is the best option before going to an OTJ trial I am all for it. Thanks again for stopping by to check on Sammy.
 
What a nice day for Sammy! I agree with you on no insulin is better than insulin if Sammy is ready. You won't always agree with other's thoughts, but it is so nice to have a place like FDMB to bounce ideas around. I don't know about you, but my vet has learned a lot from me. ;) Have a wonderful day!!
 
What a nice day for Sammy! I agree with you on no insulin is better than insulin if Sammy is ready. You won't always agree with other's thoughts, but it is so nice to have a place like FDMB to bounce ideas around. I don't know about you, but my vet has learned a lot from me. ;) Have a wonderful day!!

Absolutely. There has been more than once that someone has pointed something out that I didn't see. You are correct, might not always agree, but it is nice to have other options to consider.

My vet is the same.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top