4/2 Spot - AMPS 146/ +4 94 / +9 81 / PMPS 57/ +1 97/ +4 44/ +4.5 104 - wrong green Spot!!

SpotsMom

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

Spot had a nice long run in the greens yesterday, and looks ready to repeat today (hopefully)! Last night after dropping to 60 at +4, he pulled himself up with no intervention other than his normally scheduled meal time at +4.

These greens still make me nervous but he doesn’t seem to be diving, just riding them out :joyful:
 
Meanwhile I just got this email from my well meaning vet:

“I had a glance at Spot's numbers and I think it may be worth trying 3.75 in the AM and 3.5 in the PM (or vice versa). He's near his happy place, but staying too long under 100 for my preference. Please let me know if you have any questions for me.”

:banghead::banghead::banghead:

ETA: it really stresses me out going against her advice... I sent her the TR protocol so she knows I’m working with a purpose. Hopefully she’s onboard with the protocol :confused:
 
Last edited:
Meanwhile I just got this email from my well meaning vet:

“I had a glance at Spot's numbers and I think it may be worth trying 3.75 in the AM and 3.5 in the PM (or vice versa). He's near his happy place, but staying too long under 100 for my preference. Please let me know if you have any questions for me.”

:banghead::banghead::banghead:

ETA: it really stresses me out going against her advice... I sent her the TR protocol so she knows I’m working with a purpose. Hopefully she’s onboard with the protocol :confused:
Don’t need to tell the vet everything, sometimes it is easier that way..also human meters read lower than pet meters, maybe the vet thinks those numbers are actually “pet meter numbers” ie. Such as Alphatrack and vets labs would produce. Which would make them appear lower, does that make sense?
 
Those look like some beautiful numbers to me! I don't think you should feel bad about going against the vet's advice; she doesn't seem to quite grasp that you're monitoring those lower numbers closely, that Lantus is better at a consistent dose, and that, like Julie said, the vet may not be oriented to your meter's numbers.

Well done, Spot!:D
 
I did make sure to clarify the meter type to her in my reply. I suspect she is thinking in pet meter numbers. I sent her links to the protocol too just so she doesn’t think I’m a cowboy doing dangerous things. I couldn’t be happier with his numbers right now so it was just a bit of a shock that she looked at them and thought differently. She’s been a partner in Spots diabetes journey for over a year and seems to truly want to do best for him even if it’s unfamiliar to her, so I won’t be leaving her out of my choices... I just have to back them up :)
 
It might still click for her--TR is so different than how they were taught. Our vet was uncomfortable at first about how I was going against his advice, but the last time he saw Felix (and Felix's spreadsheet), he suggested that he'd like to see me be even a little more aggressive! Reading the Roomp and Rand paper did seem to help him see that I wasn't just following the whims of some crazy cat ladies on the Internet.
 
In the past week, we've had multiple diabetic patients drop by and we'd do spot checks. A patient got a reading of 110 when they came in at around after lunch time and the vet in charge was surprised. Then later talked to the owner saying it's a nice number but they're concerned about the animal going too low and advised the owner to reduce the dose by a unit. Granted, the owner wasn't testing at home and it was read on a pet meter.

But I just thought my reaction vs. the vet's reaction was funny. I made a "Oh good!" noise and my vet made a "Oh no!" noise lol!!!

There's also another vet at work that told me she wanted to see my cat at numbers around 70 and that was back when I knew NOTHING about FD and was horrified that she wanted my cat "so low"!

Now I know better!

I think you trying to work with your vet is great and not something I could do personally. The guilt would kill me (and did bother me a lot in the beginning when I went against advice). I hope your vet sees Spot's progress and learns something from it so she can help other FD patients! :)
 
Back
Top