4/20/20 Teal'c amps 367 +4 215 +9 507 sorry miss post today here

Patty & Teal'c

Member Since 2019
Strange day. This morning preshot about the same as it has been. Did a increase last night and saw 215 @ +4. Was excited to think we might see some blues.

Decided to get 4 hours sleep since I worked 12 hours last night. Layed down and he was at the door crying to be let in. So I got out of bed to let him sleep with me. I opened the door he came in I shut door turned and stepped on him. You know how they scream when you step on them well he didn't he meowed but nothing more. I helped him into bed. Like normal he came to the top of the bed and placed his front paws on my had his head on my upper arm and purring up a storm. Figured all was good. Forgot to turn on alarm so slept for 5 hours.

Woke up got dressed and went to make the bed. He hadn't moved. Helped him out of bed. Made bed picked him up to take him to testing spot. Tested and got a 507 was in shock. Placed him on floor to feed him a little before time to remove food. Noticed him standing on 3 legs only placing the hind left leg down once in awhile to steady himself. Then as he walked away I noticed him limping. Barely using that leg.

That's when I realized he was in pain which helped explain the 507. I called vet and they can't see him till tomorrow morning. I explained that I thought the pain might be causing his BG to soar. They said if I could bring him in at 5 someone could see him. I explained that is his test feed shot time. I did say if they would see him I would skip shot if I had to. They said no he was too hi to skip just have him there by 5:15. So I did the test feed shoot 10 mins early so I could get him there.

They came out took the pet taxi from car and I waited. The vet comes back out says he can't tell which leg cause Teal'c won't walk for him just wants to hide. Oh, and he seems to be down on his hocks slightly. Suggesting it's just the neuropathy. I then explain the events of that morning when I stepped on him. Vet goes back in. Few mins later comes back out with Teal'c in the pet taxi. Says he gave him a shot of metacam that will last for 3 days. That will be 37$. Why didn't they xray his leg. I felt the vet was dismissing that it could be anything besides neuropathy.

So my question is can neuropathy cause him to limp on one leg? Can the pain in one leg be more severe then the other? Should I seek a second opinion? If I hadn't stepped on him I would not question it, but i know what happened.

They also said he has lost another pound and is down to 12.5 lbs from 20 lbs a year ago. I feel so bad, sad and guilty.

I know this is long but felt back story was important
 
Sorry I can't help with the neuropathy question, but I did have a cat who liked to injure himself playing too hard. :rolleyes: I'd hear a loud bang in the kitchen of cat against metal, and he'd come limping out. What worked for me was to take video on my phone at home, and I'd send that into the vet if he wouldn't "perform" at the vet.

The higher numbers today might also be some New Dose Wonkiness. I hope he comes down for you tomorrow.
 
He is limping again this afternoon. I let him sleep with me again. Didn't step on him this time. Tested him when we got up at +9 105 much better number.:)
 
Back
Top