? 4/20 Ducia 0.5UF AMPS 217, +2.75 228, +5 226 Another Flat Yellow Day - Dose increase ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Hello everyone,

Today is Ducia's 6th cycle on the earned reduction dose. No good numbers.

There was dose messing up done: instead of 0.55U I gave her exact 0.5U for the 3 cycles on 4/18 and 4/19, = Pink and mostly Yellow.

Last night and today the 0.5U was on the fat side. Today, after filling the syringe, I could clearly see the upper edge of the plunger but no gap underneath it. I am guessing here that this current dose is about 0.6U (or 0.65?!). Yellow at pre-shot and at +2.75.

Has the reduction failed?

Should I increase to 0.75?

She lost some weight and want to increase her portions to make the total of 6 oz /24 hours.

Wishing the very happy and very healthy to all of our kitties
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Maybe the 0.75 u would be a dose to try? You have a few good numbers on 0.5 u but you probably want to see more dark green.

ETA: I've seen people on here say that flat yellow can come before a drop.
 
I've seen people on here say that flat yellow can come before a drop.
I 've heard that too.
That's why I am hesitant to increase right away.:confused: So hard to get the dose right when measuring in between the lines.:mad:
But it's been two yellow days...:confused:Yesterday and the day before the dose was 0.5 even.
Today more like 0.6U.
There is still sometime in the day left.
 
I 've heard that too.
That's why I am hesitant to increase right away.:confused: So hard to get the dose right when measuring in between the lines.:mad:
But it's been two yellow days...:confused:Yesterday and the day before the dose was 0.5 even.
Today more like 0.6U.
There is still sometime in the day left.
Maybe wait until tomorrow morning?
 
the TR says:
"Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl. Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours."
Ducia had green number on the second cycle after the reduction.

I really cannot decise right now whether to wait another day or not? :confused::bookworm::banghead::confused:
 
the TR says:
"Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl. Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours."
Ducia had green number on the second cycle after the reduction.

I really cannot decise right now whether to wait another day or not? :confused::bookworm::banghead::confused:
I don't follow TR to the letter because I've learned that Teasel can take more than three days to show what a dose can do. Today was his 7th day on a fat 3 u dose and look what he did. I also increase by less than 0.25 u because he reacts very strongly. About the only thing from TR that I'm following now is the low BG dose reduction number (68 on the AlphaTrak meter). He's a long term diabetic (over a year) so I should let him go lime green up to three times before reducing but I'm not sure I want to do that. I'll think about it.
 
I 've heard that too.
That's why I am hesitant to increase right away.:confused: So hard to get the dose right when measuring in between the lines.:mad:
But it's been two yellow days...:confused:Yesterday and the day before the dose was 0.5 even.
Today more like 0.6U.
There is still sometime in the day left.
I know what you mean about measuring between the lines. I've been struggling with the .75U (I'm just getting it to the same place each time and calling it good. My husband also showed me how to use calipers to help accuracy in dosing), and I'm also having trouble deciding if my recent reduction is a failed reduction or not. When I increased to 1U again a few days ago, Callie went too low. I've done a few curves and had below 15o for the nadir so with SLGS that means it's not a failed reduction (if I understand correctly) but her numbers are bouncing all over the place. This morning was a whopping 598 so I'm confused about what to do also. You have my sympathy. I echo your :confused:. :bighug:to you.
 
He's a long term diabetic (over a year) so I should let him go lime green up to three times before reducing but I'm not sure I want to do that. I'll think about it.
Very same thinking here. To the letter. :rolleyes: Seems so cruel to go thru it three times...:confused::blackeye:
I am inclining to give the Fat 0.5 another cycle.
But the dear hubby hear is home now, and he feels we should increase to 0.75 tonight. IDK.
I hope to collect more opinions before the shoot time.
 
Very same thinking here. To the letter. :rolleyes: Seems so cruel to go thru it three times...:confused::blackeye:
I am inclining to give the Fat 0.5 another cycle.
But the dear hubby hear is home now, and he feels we should increase to 0.75 tonight. IDK.
I hope to collect more opinions before the shoot time.
Well, Teasel has bounced up to 306 after his exciting day. I'm not surprised. At least I can sleep without worrying tonight. o_O
 
I know what you mean about measuring between the lines. I've been struggling with the .75U (I'm just getting it to the same place each time and calling it good. My husband also showed me how to use calipers to help accuracy in dosing), and I'm also having trouble deciding if my recent reduction is a failed reduction or not. When I increased to 1U again a few days ago, Callie went too low. I've done a few curves and had below 15o for the nadir so with SLGS that means it's not a failed reduction (if I understand correctly) but her numbers are bouncing all over the place. This morning was a whopping 598 so I'm confused about what to do also. You have my sympathy. I echo your :confused:. :bighug:to you.
Thank you! :bighug: Soo much to learn! To try, to fail and to start again from the square one :banghead::confused:.
Hugs from the very confused to you and Callie
I hope she wakes up with the better number for you:bighug:
 
Hi Tanya.

Since you have been giving a fattened dose last night and this morning, that could be considered an increase. You could give it at least six full cycles at that amount before going to .75, or you could go to .75 now if you want. Try to give the same amount each time and not worry so much about how much it is you're giving. Consistency is more important than accuracy. I'm suspecting, since you skipped over .75 last time, you're going to find that it's a better dose for Ducia than .5f.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top