4/22 Carter: AMPS 471, +3.75 "HI", +6 497, +9 443, PMPS 448

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Carter

Very Active Member
Hello!

Yesterday.


Upped Carter's dose to 1.5u this morning. Will see how he does for the next 3 days (6 cycles) and then reassess from there. I suspect I will have to increase again but you never know!

Started using the automatic feeders this morning. So far so good. Will hopefully make my life easier so I can feed once for the whole day and then not have to worry about it all the other times.

Does anyone that uses the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder know if that square space under the food compartment is meant for an ice pack? Because it's perfect size, so that's what I used it for.

Carter's hotspot still healing, haven't noticed him licking it as much. I'll probably lay off the Vetericyn today to give it time to "dry up" a little.

Negative on ketones (all days since I started testing) which for no history of ketones I might be over-killing it but he's been high so if I can catch him while he's in the litterbox or I can tell he hasn't peed in a while (he always pees in one spot, and it's larger than the other boys) I drop him in the box and he'll go right away.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Last edited:
Nice start Carter! Just slide on down today! Yes that compartment under the feeder is for ice. Good overall report for Carter.
 
I think Carter has different plans... +3,75 read at "HI" on meter, so over 600.

Ugh numbers like that make me a nervous wreck.
 
I think Carter has different plans... +3,75 read at "HI" on meter, so over 600.

Ugh numbers like that make me a nervous wreck.
Erica, believe me, I totally get that! Check out Shoes' SS and you will understand why I understand. Since you just increased Carter's dose, this could be something call New Dose Wonkiness, or NDW as it is known here. Check out the link here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/.
 
Erica, believe me, I totally get that! Check out Shoes' SS and you will understand why I understand. Since you just increased Carter's dose, this could be something call New Dose Wonkiness, or NDW as it is known here. Check out the link here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/.

Looks like our boys could be friends!!

Read the link, so that's comforting that it's common. I just feel bad for him being so high. I guess I'm still in the Vetsulin mindset where "omg he is 500+ this morning but I KNOW even a small amount of Vetsulin will decrease him greatly." which is a stupid minset because Vetsulin only put a band-aid on the problem, for Carter at least.
 
Looks like our boys could be friends!!

Read the link, so that's comforting that it's common. I just feel bad for him being so high. I guess I'm still in the Vetsulin mindset where "omg he is 500+ this morning but I KNOW even a small amount of Vetsulin will decrease him greatly." which is a stupid minset because Vetsulin only put a band-aid on the problem, for Carter at least.
Am glad that it helped.
 
Looks like our boys could be friends!!

Read the link, so that's comforting that it's common. I just feel bad for him being so high. I guess I'm still in the Vetsulin mindset where "omg he is 500+ this morning but I KNOW even a small amount of Vetsulin will decrease him greatly." which is a stupid minset because Vetsulin only put a band-aid on the problem, for Carter at least.
nothing "stupid" about it---- I had to turn off my pro zinc brain when we started lantus.... it is all a process.
Having to work around a kitty's biology requires the patience pants that we share around here -- I think @Bobbie And Bubba has them right now:rolleyes:
Your in the right place and Carter will start to accept lower numbers before you know it:cat::bighug::cat:
Your doing a great job:)
 
Hey there and welcome! Yes, lots of patience needed in this dance. I do have the patience pants so if you need them.......

I have the Petsafe 5 and I don't think I have a square under the food compartments. There is a rectangle under the compartment that is available to the kitty. I will tag @Woodsywife because I think she has spoke about using ice packs in her feeder. You can always freeze portions and then put them in the feeder frozen and they will thaw as the day goes on.

My dog gets hot spots too and as soon as she starts with one, I put aloe vera get , the kind you use for sunburn relief. It stops the hot spot in it's tracks! And it has lidocaine in it to stop any pain. I use CVS brand and I also put it on Bubba's ears when poking causes redness.

Good job checking on the ketones.
 
nothing "stupid" about it---- I had to turn off my pro zinc brain when we started lantus.... it is all a process.
Having to work around a kitty's biology requires the patience pants that we share around here -- I think @Bobbie And Bubba has them right now:rolleyes:
Your in the right place and Carter will start to accept lower numbers before you know it:cat::bighug::cat:
Your doing a great job:)
Thank you!!

I'm trying to collect as much data as possible and take advantage of this time where I'm inbetween jobs. I'm hoping he can be regulated somewhat by then so I don't worry and can see better how his body responds to Lantus.
 
Does anyone that uses the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder know if that square space under the food compartment is meant for an ice pack? Because it's perfect size, so that's what I used it for.
Apparently this ice pack fits under there, though I just use a folded over gel pack.

Do you know what causes the hot spots? Inflammation can increase the numbers, but today is probably NDW talking.

Come on down Carter!
 
Hey there and welcome! Yes, lots of patience needed in this dance. I do have the patience pants so if you need them.......

I have the Petsafe 5 and I don't think I have a square under the food compartments. There is a rectangle under the compartment that is available to the kitty. I will tag @Woodsywife because I think she has spoke about using ice packs in her feeder. You can always freeze portions and then put them in the feeder frozen and they will thaw as the day goes on.

My dog gets hot spots too and as soon as she starts with one, I put aloe vera get , the kind you use for sunburn relief. It stops the hot spot in it's tracks! And it has lidocaine in it to stop any pain. I use CVS brand and I also put it on Bubba's ears when poking causes redness.

Good job checking on the ketones.

I thought about freezing portions but I literally have no room in my freezer to store enough for 3 big boys let alone my own food. The rectangle thing is what I was referring to, I have some ice packs that fit perfectly so I stuck 'em under there! :)

I added extra water to the portions but I was thinking of maybe putting ice cubs in with the portions. Same affect as water but will also keep it cooler. I have a small space for a small ice tray in my freezer at max lol

Would the aloe vera be safe if he licks the area?
 
Apparently this ice pack fits under there, though I just use a folded over gel pack.

Do you know what causes the hot spots? Inflammation can increase the numbers, but today is probably NDW talking.

Come on down Carter!

Yeah I have two mini gel packs that I put in each one.

I'm not sure what caused this hotspot other than the fact that Carter is still a little hefty and the placement looks like it could have been caused by his belly rolls and some friction haha! And in turn he tried to clean it up by licking it therefore it becoming more irritated.

I also thought about it being a ant bite since we had some red ant issues this past week. It's much smaller and healing up now ever since we shaved it and applied the Vetericyn but today I let it air out. It doesn't seem inflammed, fortunately. Looks like a small scab now.
 
I thought about freezing portions but I literally have no room in my freezer to store enough for 3 big boys let alone my own food. The rectangle thing is what I was referring to, I have some ice packs that fit perfectly so I stuck 'em under there! :)

I added extra water to the portions but I was thinking of maybe putting ice cubs in with the portions. Same affect as water but will also keep it cooler. I have a small space for a small ice tray in my freezer at max lol

Would the aloe vera be safe if he licks the area?
I don't know the answer to the safety of licking the aloe vera. I will tell you that my dog tries to lick it after I apply and I distract her with a treat and soon the lidocaine kicks in and she doesn't fool with it.

I will try the ice pack in the rectangle! Good idea!
 
I thought about freezing portions but I literally have no room in my freezer to store enough for 3 big boys let alone my own food. The rectangle thing is what I was referring to, I have some ice packs that fit perfectly so I stuck 'em under there! :)

I added extra water to the portions but I was thinking of maybe putting ice cubs in with the portions. Same affect as water but will also keep it cooler. I have a small space for a small ice tray in my freezer at max lol

Would the aloe vera be safe if he licks the area?

Yes you can put ice cube in the food itself. I do that. I use the two compartment feeder, the 're-useable ice cubes fit perfectly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top