4/22 Miss Meows AMPS 313, +2 296, +6.25 168, +8 153, PMPS 301, +2 369

Status
Not open for further replies.

missMeows

Member Since 2015
Good morning everyone,

Yesterday

Nothing much to report. Just happy I have a fiance willing to test while I'm at work so I can focus on tasks at hand. Well kinda... I should be working now :)

Ok, back to work!

Cheers!
 
Last edited:
It IS great to have someone else to help out...we're not all so lucky, so I feel very blessed to have my amazing DH. Have a great day, guys!!
 
Haha. Well he tries! Just woke him up because he forgot to do her +6. He's getting to it :)

BTW - what's a DH? I'm seeing it a lot...Diabetic Husband?
 
Oh I got it... Dear Husband! Geez, I was thinking that there were many more diabetic men then I previously thought! Sometimes I'm a bit slow :)
 
Tricky question - some cats do nadir around the same time most cycles, some it varies all the time. I never did manage to really pin down a nadir time for Rosa - it varied a lot and I saw anything between +3 and +13 but looking at other cats' spreadsheets they seem to be a bit more consistent. It might well be a case of getting tests in at different points in the cycle where possible to see if her nadir varies or stays around the same time. That, together with curves should help you work out if she has a "usual" nadir time and if so, around when it usually is.
 
Ah ok. I was just wondering if/when her numbers start to drop and I have to moniter more, if I could know that if her nadir is +8 (or 4pm, which it looks like is happening) then her nadir after her PMPS would be +8 (or 4am). Guess one of these days I'll have to pull an all nighter to see :)
 
Well the good thing is that a lot of cats seem to go low early if they're going to earn a reduction...which certainly helps us beans who do need some sleep at night! I see you're getting a +2 just about every cycle which really does help - often you can tell at that point whether or not it's likely to be an active cycle...that way you can tell better which nights you might have to stay up and monitor later and which nights it's likely to be safe to get some good sleep in. I never quite managed a full all-nighter with Rosa...it was close a few times, but never quite the full cycle - but I'm sure if you can do that it will give you a better idea of whether her nadir is fairly consistent or whether it is different at night. :)
 
I see you're getting a +2 just about every cycle which really does help

So if they often go low earlier than later, does that mean that a +2 at night isn't worth as much as a +2 in the AM? This week was pretty a-typical and I think in the future I'm gonna be able to only get around 1 +2 during the week, but more on weekends.
 
The +2 is useful any time you can get it - it's not always possible with work commitments etc, but as long as you can get a +2 in the evenings and at weekends, that will definitely help. If you see a +2 that's lower than the pre-shot that's often an early indication that it might be a very active cycle - the cat may well drop into green numbers and it might be a reduction earning cycle (unfortunately, those often seem to happen at night).

The "earlier" I was referring to actually meant earlier in the cycle, not earlier in the day (sorry, I don't think I made that clear enough) - so if you see a +2 that's quite a bit lower than the pre-shot then we'd usually suggest you get a +3...and depending on that number, you can then work out when to test next. :)

Oh and congrats to you and Rosa!!!!
Thank you! :D She's made me a very happy momma - I never expected her to get this far with the hideous readings she had early on...she surprised me in the best possible way! :D
 
Ah, I see what you mean. Thanks for clarifying, it's all starting to make sense :)

And thanks for sticking around even though you don't have to anymore! You're story gives us newbies hope!
 
Skooter tended to nadir early in his cycle and normally around the same time in each cycle. However, I have noticed that his nadir is moving to a little later in his cycle these days...

I think it also depends on the insulin you are using. From reading other people's condos, Lev will nadir later, sometimes into the next cycle. It looks like your bubba is on Lantus, which is what Skooter is on.....that is where getting the random tests in whenever possible helps....it helps to fill in the blanks to figure out when the typical nadir is...and because she is a cat, once you figure out her typical nadir, I am sure she will change it on you :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top