4/23 Chi Chi AMPS 88+2 53+2.5 46+3 49+3.5 50+5.5 78 Back from vet PMPS 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-63-4-25-100-5-91-9-99-pmps-103-3-106.136672/

Good morning! Today we go to the vet for a checkup. Im not sure if they will need a stool sample or if they can test without one. They didn't ask me to get one, but I will take it if she poops within 4 hours of appt. She will eat her last meal for today at +5, and her appt is at +6.5. It shouldn't hopefuly affect her labs. She was hungry this am and ate well. Her pee piles are still big, but not huge. Im just nervous, but glad to be finally getting her in after many delays, due to my work schedule and then having to take civvie in the last time. I will update til we leave for vet. Have a great day everyone!
 
Gave her kibble treats at +3 and +3.5 earlier. It didn't bring her up much but she is surfing around 50. Im going to go to Petsmart to get gravy lovers ff so I will have on hand from now on. No poop yet today, so I guess we wont be taking a sample in to vet appt. I did give her a little miralax this am.
 
My vet will never look at stool samples that I bring in. I've stopped even trying he prefers a direct sample that he gets himself. I think the will likely run labs to check for pancreatic insufficiency if the stool looks suspicious but since some is normal in color I think all is well. I hope I'm right. She sure wants a reduction don't you think? More Vetty vines.
 
We are back from the vet after 2 1/2 hours. This vet is the owner of the hospital and is very thorough with his evaluations. He talked a lot! I will try to summarize the best I can. he did BW and the results were all normal..except for the kidney values, and Globulin. The BUN was at the low end of "high"(36.6) and the Creatinine was at the high end of "normal"(1.8). He said it indicates very early kidney disease, which is most likely genetic. He thinks the stool color is related to possible gastric or ulcer problem. He prescribed Azodyl for easing the burden on the kidneys, which he said would add bacteria to the colon instead? he kinda lost me on that..he also gave me an AB..Metronidazole, and a big bottle of Antacid..Aluminum Hydroxide gel, sugar free. Her bg was 229, which he said was good, factoring in stress elevation. I shared her numbers with him and he said they are really looking good, but he was concerned about her being in the 40s and 50s, and suggested I reduce her insulin. I reminded him that I use a human meter, but he sorta brushed it off and stuck with his recommendation. He said to continue with what Im doing as far as food goes, as her phosphorus etc are all normal. Her teeth look "bad" but no mention of a dental, and he did scrape off some tartar on her molars, and said "thats better". He said I should see an improvement in her stool color within a few days, and if not, then to bring her back for plan B..which may include using barium to inspect the GI tract, ultrasound, and/or other test. The elevation in Globulin (5.4) was likely due to inflammation. Im going to try and scan everything and insert to her ss. Wish us luck in getting all this into her twice a day..
 
Dis you get a copy of the labs you can pist? Unless the phosphorus is above 4.6 she doesn't need binders. Max has had a BUN in that range for years. Since the labs weren't done on a fast that is not concerning. "If' she has kidney disease it would be early stage 1 and I wouldn't change a thing. My vet would never change anything based on a single lab result and I've seen Max"s numbers change from time to time.. Now if he did a urinalysis that showed a low USG it might lean more toward CKD but again you would want a retest and preferably on early morning urine which is always more concentrated. Did he get a direct stool sample and run a test for fecal blood? I started writing before reading all you wrote so I see that you gave the labs. Good. I know a lot about them and so does Marje. Metronidazole can be constipation get so be prepared for that. The AH is a phish binder that needs to be added to food to bind with it and makes no sense unless it is high.
 
What a lovely green surf today, although a bit on the dramatic side. :D Someone is definitely inching closer to a reduction. I haven't seen a vet yet that liked seeing a cat in the 40s and 50s, including that expert we saw, Dr. Richard Nelson.

No advice from me on the meds, although Harvey is also on Azodyl for his kidneys. Don't know if that has anything to do with it, but his numbers have improved since we started him on it.
 
I scanned the labs but dont know how to get them on her ss. I can upload them here in a reply I suppose. her phos. was 4.9, which he said is normal based on the range of 2.6-6.0 I gave her the mint(yuk) flavored sf antacid..she didnt like it a bit. She would have none of the ab, which I tried to hide in cheese, and then fd chicken..so I guess I will try again tomorrow on that. I did sprinkle the Azodyl on her food. She was 253 at pmps, either high from vet stress, or the kibble she got today. I dropped her down to 2.5f also. I had trouble getting her up this am, as she dropped low in the 40s early on in the cycle for the past 2 days. If she heads back up, I will increase again.
 
bw3 001.jpg
BW 001.jpg
 
Oh.. and he said a fecal test for blood in the stool would show positive results in a cat. so he said it would be useless. he got a stool sample to check for parasites.
 
I'm not an expert on labs, but I would wonder if she has teeth bad enough that the vet can scrape off chunks of tartar . . . well, seems like that would be bad enough to cause inflammation. Punkin had bad tartar on his teeth and he had multiple teeth removed in both of his dentals. I think dental stuff can be the achilles heel for a cat trying to get regulated and/or go OTJ.

I'm glad you reduced her dose. Looks like it was time.

Punkin had metronidazole multiple times. It worked great on him and didn't cause constipation. I thought it was a wonder drug for soothing his gut and getting rid of diarrhea. Does Chi Chi like pill pockets? Punkin liked them and we could just throw the pill pocket balls (around the meds) on the floor and he'd eat them. We trained our civvie to eat the pill pocket balls just in case we ever have to give her meds. Even if you have to poke the pill down his throat, if you wrap it in a little bit of pill pocket it won't stick to your finger and will go down easier.
 
When Max was given metro because he had diarrhea my vet told me to stop it when the diarrhea stopped and not to be surprised if he skipped a day or so and dint poop. I guess another ECID. I didn't end up using it because the diarrhea was a one day deal. It was a Friday so I got it just in case. Julie, you were lucky with the pill pockets and metro. It tastes awful like Pepcid and Tiffany tasted it just once and never ate a pill pocket again. That's why I started using gel caps to hide the taste.
 
It looks like he gave you the Aluminum Hydroxide to use as an antacid, not as a phosphorus binder (but it works for that too)

I can't imagine trying to get China to drink mint...I can hardly stand Maalox myself!

I wonder if it would be easier to give her 1/4 tab of a 10mg Pepcid (famotadine) instead? It's also for ulcers/excess acid and a lot of us here us it

I agree with Julie too..if there's enough tarter to scrape off, there's probably enough to need a good dental to get the teeth cleaned up and taken care of
 
It looks like he gave you the Aluminum Hydroxide to use as an antacid, not as a phosphorus binder (but it works for that too)

I can't imagine trying to get China to drink mint...I can hardly stand Maalox myself!

I wonder if it would be easier to give her 1/4 tab of a 10mg Pepcid (famotadine) instead? It's also for ulcers/excess acid and a lot of us here us it

I agree with Julie too..if there's enough tarter to scrape off, there's probably enough to need a good dental to get the teeth cleaned up and taken care of

I thought of that too Chris. I was given the mint for Tiffany but as a binder and so I switched to the tasteless powder.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top