4/24 Mikey PMPS 465 Hairball Edition

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Last time: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-22-mikey-amps-520-input-needed.136684/#post-1409730

Last night our boy decided to hack up a hairball the size of Texas. Thankfully, he did this on his bed. In the past, he's give me an extra three loads of laundry by hacking the big one on the bed, soaking right through to the mattress. Mikey has hardly had any hairballs, since we've switched to an all canned diet, but he out did himself this time. I guess its a spring thing. Needless to say, he was off his food this morning. When he refused to eat most of his food, we reduced his dose to .25. He and I went back to bed after I set up the timed feeder, and when I got up (very late!) he'd eaten everything I put in it. Tonight he's back to normal, so we went back up to .5. I hated to shoot that lower does, but it is what is it. Hopefully, he will get back on track quickly. We'll start counting again from tonight and see where he is in six cycles. Unless he pulls a fast one, of course. After all, he is Mikey. :banghead:
 
Did you decide to go back to the 8% food and stay with it, then?

Some people have reported that hairballs increased their cat's BGs and when the hairball left, the blood sugar dropped back down. I never noticed that with punkin, but enough people have mentioned it that i thought i'd pass it along.

at least you didn't step in it. that's the worst. i know from experience - and it's never with a shoe on! :eek:

if you are wanting to try reducing the carbs, i'd do a gradual change from the 8% to the 3%, say over 3 days or so until he was all at 3%. I wouldn't reduce the dose in advance, just if he went below 50.

I can always tell when it's after 4pm because the cats begin to take turns climbing on me and kneading my tummy. the pseudo-affection is really just a ploy to get my attention so I'll feed them. I know this because they never do it otherwise. :cool: I'm mentioning this because I now have an orange kitty who has moved in to occupy everything from the laptop to my chin.:woot:
 
Yes, he's on the 8% food. My plan is to get six cycles in at .5 with 8% food, then check in to see if we should increase the insulin or decrease the carbs. Of course that assumes that he doesn't go low on the .5 dose, and you know what they say about assuming! Especially when it's about Mikey!
 
Mikey, Mikey, Mikey you missed da great opportunity, who throws up their furballs in their own bed! It be so good when you do it on da floor an da beans step in it in da bare footsies, you can hear dem squawk from whereber you be, it be great! Next time you do better...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top