4/26&4/27Taco and his lows.

Cindy&Taco

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/taco-update-1-26-19.209989/#post-2326307

It's been a while since we've been here. Taco has been taking us hiking on some hard trails.
Again, we do admit we are test aholics :) Tacos mom ,my daughter and I grandma.
We've tried cutting back, but this boy is just SO unpredictable:banghead: And just when we try to cut back, he takes us on some unexpected rugged hike.:nailbiting:
HIS EARS ARE FINE, if I had enough energy right now I would take a close up of his ears for all to see ;)
We are not working TR or SLGS, we are working TW, (Tacos Way)
I dont suggest any one do this unless you are going to be with your cat 24/7 and still this may not be a good idea. This is what we have chosen to do with Taco.
Tonight he took us to his lowest BG in 2 years, and as well as we know Taco , he threw us for a loop, when we couldnt get his BG to where 'WE" wanted it to raise quicker than he decided.:rolleyes:
We will most likely work on him most of tonight into the morning as we always do, hoping that he doesnt decide to take his bungee cords out later on a bounce like crazy. We shall see.:stop:
You can see on his SS how we handled his "mini" hypo.
@MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Hi Cindy,
Nice to see you, I've not been about much recently either.
I take it his 'mini hypo' was asymptomatic?
I hadn't looked at his numbers in quite some time and though he still likes to throw a curveball as a general rule he seems flatter overall, and a lot of nice blue and green in there.
Hope your guy is still feeling good and playing with the walmart bags.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi there and good to see you and Taco. What a ride yesterday into the evening and good job steering him. It will be interesting to see what he does in the next cycle. He is clearing his bounces quickly. I think he is looking for a reduction soon...

How did he act when he went under 50? Did he have any symptoms of going hypo like shaking, looking confused, becoming aggressive or the becoming lethargic? We say that the cat hypoed, it is meaning that there were symptoms otherwise, his BG's just went low.
 
Hi there and good to see you and Taco. What a ride yesterday into the evening and good job steering him. It will be interesting to see what he does in the next cycle. He is clearing his bounces quickly. I think he is looking for a reduction soon...

How did he act when he went under 50? Did he have any symptoms of going hypo like shaking, looking confused, becoming aggressive or the becoming lethargic? We say that the cat hypoed, it is meaning that there were symptoms otherwise, his BG's just went low.
Oh OK, I learned something new today :)No hypo then, just low:stop: He's giving me a big run around since yesterday:nailbiting: The 17C isnt touching him, well not like I thought it would.
He has been acting like his regular self, CANNOT ever tell when he gets low. That's why I'm a test maniac. By now I would have thought that his BG would be up more, but, I keep having to test&feed. He surely wont get his 1.75U this AM. Hope the 1.50 sticks this time.:D
 
Hi Cindy,
Nice to see you, I've not been about much recently either.
I take it his 'mini hypo' was asymptomatic?
I hadn't looked at his numbers in quite some time and though he still likes to throw a curveball as a general rule he seems flatter overall, and a lot of nice blue and green in there.
Hope your guy is still feeling good and playing with the walmart bags.
:bighug::bighug:
Yes!! he loves throwing curveballs and always has. SO darned unpredictable!! I just learned from Bobbie that I assume it's asymptomatic? Nothing unusual, but, I guess he's getting full by now and hope I don't need to feed him much longer :( I thought he'd be on his way back up by now. Next cycle will be interesting to see which way he goes :)
 
Being a Lev kitty, I'm thinking that this is him getting to nadir in this cycle, the 40 at +2 being the nadir from the am cycle (ie at +14) does that make sense?
Hope he surfs the end of the cycle for you.
You may not see a significant rise until later in the morning.

So glad that he had no symptoms.
 
Being a Lev kitty, I'm thinking that this is him getting to nadir in this cycle, the 40 at +2 being the nadir from the am cycle (ie at +14) does that make sense?
Hope he surfs the end of the cycle for you.
You may not see a significant rise until later in the morning.

So glad that he had no symptoms.
I really don't know what he's doing :rolleyes: I've never seen him go low twice or more in one day and then so hard to get back up. He's got me worn outo_O He's coming up some, but, he's been eating almost every 30 minutes, I just hope he doesnt show me any yellows or pinks.Every CGs dream ,right:D
:bighug:
 
Cindy --

I'd give some thought to reducing Taco's dose. That 40, as you know could easily have been lower 30 seconds before. You had 2 back-to-back cycles with numbers in the 40s. I think Taco is trying to tell you it's too much juice.
Yes!! :) I said above he wasnt getting his 1.75U in 2 hours, he'll be going down to 1.50,hoping it will stick this time. :)
 
I'm somewhat stuck:banghead: Unfortunately he dropped at +11 BG 54,and I gave him 1 tsp 20 Carb. Would it still be wise to shoot at his regular time in 1 hour at his 1.50U reduction? He just won't stay up.I'm willing to shoot a 50 if he's going to come up, but, I can I tell? Anyone?
 
If I were in your situation, I would skip this particular shot and let that depot drain for a cycle then do the lower dose. Levemir is more forgiving than Lantus when it comes to the next cycles that are depot dependent. What he's throwing at you right now is telling you there's too much insulin precipitating for his body to handle it easily. You're not only dealing with the current dose's insulin amount, you're dealing with the depot precipitation from the last about 3 days.
 
Looking at what you have been feeding over the cycle MC and HC, it seems to me that you have been fighting to keep his head above the water.
So I think a skip shot to reduce the depot might be the way to go, unless he suddenly bounces at amps.
Or if you don't like to skip altogether, then a significantly reduced dose, say 0.75 or 0.50u.
 
Went with the .75 and fed him 2 tsp 20C and 20 mil water &his miralax. The last hour before preshot he kept on trying to drink water, hasnt drank water out of a bowl for almost 2 years. He gets equal parts water and food at each meal. He didnt have water all night ,so I guess he was thirsty. Thank you for the help on a plan at shot time. I want to try and keep him on his schedule,so no skip today. Hoping the rest of the day goes without these drops, no reds,no pinks ,and no yellows. Not asking for much am I?:D
Thanks again:bighug::bighug:
 
Remember the early part of the cycle will likely play out the same so if the depot has got overfull it will still be doing the talking. You'll see the effect of the token dose later in the cycle.
Good luck with the rest of the morning
 
Glad to see you back on the board.
I haven't been around for a while either, and today is my first day back too.

Taco really is a challenge, isn't he? Have you checked out Ravan's SS? He was as bouncy as Taco, and his bounces lasted for days. @JoyBee&Ravan has him on CBD oil now, and he is doing amazingly well. Maybe something to investigate for Taco?

Hope the new lower dose works for him. :bighug:
 
Back
Top