4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~PMBG 100~+4 73

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Randi & Max (GA), Apr 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yesterday's Condo

    Max did not have his shot last night because I got home too late to give it.
    So it has been 23 hours without insulin and he is at 75.

    Do I give a drop this morning? Do I skip?
    Yesterday on 3 drops he went from 91 to 46 in 2 hours.
    Maybe we are ready for a trial?
     
  2. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Wowsers....this is a tough one.

    What's your gut telling you?

    Would be be around to monitor today?

    You could shoot the 2 drops, see what happens and it would give you more data to help decide if it's time for a trial. But if your gut is telling you something different...
     
  3. Monique & Spooky

    Monique & Spooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    I would say go for it! After 24 hours and he is still lookin very good, there is nothing left from that drop working here it's all Max!
     
  4. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    2 drops or 1 drop.
    I have no where to go today other than maybe an hour and I can do it
    whenever I want.
     
  5. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    I think Monique said to go for the trial!!!!!! Looks like a green light to start the trial.

    What do you think????? nailbite_smile
     
  6. Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

    Michelle & Scrabble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Wow look at u guys!!!!! Wish I had advice for u but just want to say how awesome he is doing!!!!! Can you imagine otj trial???? So cool!!!
     
  7. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Oh, I thought she said go for the drops and see.
    Now I am confused.
    Serves me right to ask too many questions.

    ETA: Yesterday morning he had 3 drops.
     
  8. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Have you re-read Monique's posting? PM her if your confused.

    I read it again and I really think she is saying go for it...that this is Max's body working on his own.
     
  9. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Yes but she said "drop" and Max had 3 drops yesterday so i thought if I gave a drop today
    and his numbers were good tomorrow then OTJ trial.
    No coffee yet and very tired so very worried.
     
  10. Monique & Spooky

    Monique & Spooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Yes I meant it looks like a good time to start the trial, you are already at day 1 so keep chewing!
     
  11. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT


    DID YOU READ THAT??????? is there a way to wake everyone up in LL to see the good news???????
     
  12. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    Okay. I am so nervous. I hope he is ready. I was still thinking 2 more weeks.

    Okay, holding my breath and going to change the subject line.
    That will shock everyone when they wake up.

    Thanks my friends for being here this morning.

    MAX IS GOING ON OTJ TRIAL
    nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
     
  13. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

    :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
    Yep, Yep, that's what I read too....time for Max to start chewing!!! Hahahahahahaha what wonderful news for a Saturday morning!! Way to go Max (and Randi, of course!) :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Gooooooo Max!!!!!
     
  14. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max AMBG 75 Day 1 OTJ Trial

    I was going btb after this morning's shot and posting...then read your condo and then...well, let's just say I'm waaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy too excited to go back to bed.

    Max can totally do it!!!!!!!

    Nothing to be nervous about...this boy has been telling you for a while that he's done with the diabetes thing! Besides, you bought him a new pink bed yesterday to celebrate! :lol:

    Congratulations on the trial!!!!!
     
  15. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Thanks Amy, me too.
    Now I also am wired. Oh well, guess I will have my coffee now
    and sleep tomorrow.
     
  16. Marvie and Tugger

    Marvie and Tugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max AMBG 75 Day 1 OTJ Trial

    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

    HOLY CARP!

    :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat


    bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif GO MAX GO! You didn't even wait for permission Max dude, you just ran with it! bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif

    I bet your mamabean is a nervous wreck! nailbite_smile Be a good boy and give her lots of extra loves today.
     
  17. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Randi,
    Today is PERFECT to start the trial, if you think about it. It's the weekend and he actually already started with that missed shot, so he's already doing well!

    I know you're nervous but what's the harm in trying, especially how he likes to go freaky low on you. For all you know, he's been hinting at you for awhile but you're just not listenin'!!

    Best of luck on it all. If it works, great; if not, no biggie.
    But let's all pull for the first choice!

    Good job Max!!
     
  18. Monique & Spooky

    Monique & Spooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max AMBG 75 Day 1 OTJ Trial

    I'm pretty sure what Max went through was some insulin resistance and once that broke and it started working for him he went with full speed towards remission. He seems to very sensistive to insulin now (a few drops sends him quite low at +3). I'm sure as long as he stays on his appropriate diet his pancreas will stay strong and he will make it through. I think you could have shot the one drop and he wouldn't have gone to low today because his shed was empty from skipping last night, but with a number like 75 and no insulin, shooting a drop for 3-5 to send him low again is just formality. If he drifts back up at some point and doesn't come back down on his own you can always pause the trial and shot a drop for a few weeks.

    We need to get some partys going on around here!
     
  19. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    :eek: Wow! This is crazy exciting! :thumbup

    Congrats for giving it a go. All fingers, toes, paws, and whiskers are crossed over here for a successful trial....and lots more sleep for you, max, and your family!

    Btw....quite an adventure you had yesterday...11 cases! :shock: :lol:
     
  20. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    (((Randi & Max))) Sooooooo excited for the two of you :thumbup
    Supporting & encouraging you both!! Happy Caturday & have a wonderful weekend!
     
  21. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Randi, I'm just dropping back in to say...Giggle Giggle.....I am so excited for you. I know the feeling you are having...I had that not to long ago when it was suggested that Spot start his gum trial....I was scared and excited at the same time. I dance with Spot...especially on day 17 when I decided that it was time to end the trial. I am so happy that you guys are at this point flip_cat
     
  22. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    WOO HOO
    Go Mad Max. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
     
  23. Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

    Michelle & Scrabble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    yay!!!!!!!!!!!! How awesome and unexpected for you!!!!!!!!! Wishing you the best of luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT flip_cat
     
  24. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    YAY MAX!!! This is GREAT news....so excited for you both!!! :dizcat
    What a nice surprise, eh?
    You guys will do great!!! HUGS!!! :YMHUG:
     
  25. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    WAY TO GO MAX!!! GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR TRIAL!!!

    :D :D :D :D

    jan and sara
     
  26. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    RANDI!!!!!!! MAX!!!!!!!!! OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE SOOOOOO EXCITED!!!
    GO MAX GO!! MR. P IS AWAKE & FUNCTIONING!! CHEW GUM DAY 1 dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat bcatrun_gif party_cat
     
  27. Nina and KB

    Nina and KB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    This is terrific! Go, Max!!
     
  28. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    I am so happy for you guys! I bet the entire family, including DPS, is going to be holding their collective breath for 2 weeks.
     
  29. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    This is so wonderful. Good work, Randi!
     
  30. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Boys like Pink Beds too...

    besides, Max thinks you bought it for the trial celebration.

    :lol:

    It sounds like there will never be a bed you could buy that Max wouldn't like. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
     
  31. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Wow! That's just great news! The feeling in the pit of your stomach will go away. You'll start to believe it--mostly.

    BEST OF LUCK!
     
  32. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    MAX, YOU ARE AWSOME!!!! Go, guy, go for it! Chew that gum!!

    Stu
     
  33. Donna & KiKi

    Donna & KiKi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    \M/ THAT'S AWESOME!!! \M/
    Good luck!! (and good job)
     
  34. OptOut

    OptOut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Wow! I can't believe it...Max is on a trial! :mrgreen:
     
  35. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Excellent. Congratulations on starting Trial Day 1. This is very exciting news!!

    Goooooooooo Max !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  36. Melanie and Smokey

    Melanie and Smokey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Yay Max! You can do this. :thumbup
     
  37. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

    I heard thru FB the good news....Happy Day 1 Randi and Max!

    So so happy for you !

    All the best of luck and good positive stuff for a successful trial!

    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
     
  38. Helene & Tizon

    Helene & Tizon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Mad Max is chewing GUM!

    Gooooooooo Max!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  39. Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

    Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

    Alex is so excited for you guys that he could just BOUNCE all over the place....

    confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

    YAY Max! :thumbup

    Fingers toes and paws crossed for your success :dizcat

    Hugs,
    Caryl, Alex & Jackson :mrgreen:
     
  40. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

    WOW! an OTJ trial for max! :mrgreen:
    GOOD LUCK!!!
     
  41. bettyandhank

    bettyandhank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

    OMG!!!!! :eek: CONGRATULATIONS MAX! GOOD FOR YOU! :thumbup

    AWESOME!!

    GO MAX!! :RAHCAT

    Go MAX!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT


    B&H
     
  42. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

    dancing_cat dancing_cat Congratulations !!! Randi and Max!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat
    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
    How did I miss this this morning! :shock: Way to go!! WhoooooHooooo!
     
  43. Sarah and Buzz

    Sarah and Buzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

    Congrats on beginning your trial! :) I know Max (and you) will do wonderfully. Can't wait to see how he progresses!
     
  44. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    Thanks everyone for the amazing congratulations and visiting Max today.
    I am still in shock over this and when I saw his 100 I had the urge
    to get his insulin ready.
    He still thinks he can be served his dinner on his chair and I guess he
    was right. I brought his dinner there as his sisters ate in the kitchen.

    So I have seen quite a few OTJ trials since I joined but I was wondering, when are
    the best times to test Max to see how he does?

    Today is bitter sweet because my dd's are in Vermont with their dad and they
    do not know Max has started his trial. I hope they come back to a great
    surprise on Monday.
    This will be the longest 2 weeks I think.
     
  45. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    wow, an OTJ trial! Congratulations!

    Usually we suggest testing before his AM/PM meals like usual. If green, he's doing ok. If blue, then you would want to feed and test again in 3-4 hours to see if he came down. In general, if you want to do extra tests then 3-4 hours after a meal is good. Feel small meals as much as possible, so as not to overwhelm the pancreas.
     
  46. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    One day at a time, and it looks like Mad Max is surfing along nicely!
    As for the bittersweet part, naw, I think this is more personal and between you and Max. You were the one who worried and stressed and stayed awake to feed him to safety. And Max knows that too.

    I sure don't know when would be the best times to test, and only you will know those times cuz you know Max. How about check the ss for some of the others on trials?
    What's really important are the ps and the others may be up but you want him to bring himself down, right? When would you like to test. That's when you should test.
    I am sure there are proper times to test, so someone will be along to give you the exact times and why.
     
  47. skippy and birten

    skippy and birten Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    Whoo Hoo congrates on day one.
    Question: I was looking at your SS and noticed that you went from 4.00 to 2.00 units without holding the 3 day cycles and then gradually reducing. I am just curious cause I want to make sure I am doing the right thing,,,
     
  48. Marvie and Tugger

    Marvie and Tugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    What an awesome day! I agree, this is between you and Max. Celebrate this day together =) You've both worked hard to get here. Congrats and a great day one =)
     
  49. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    Birten, the 2u shot was a BCS shot - Big Chicken **** because of his PS # being low and I wanted to fill his shed with something. There is a comment on the ss. I have pretty much followed protocol however have a look at the top of the ss as I don't know how familiar you are with Max's journey. He did make up his own rules on his way down the dosing ladder and those with the exerience believe that Max was possibly insulin resistant or possibly had glucose toxicity which could explain how we went up to 6u.
    Then he cracked and started crashing down very quickly. The holding of the dose for the 3 days applies to going up the ladder. Decreases happen when the numbers drop and ECID.
    As long as you follow your gut and the advice here, you wll do the right thing for skippy.
    I am not the best at making comments on my ss but where there is important info, you should see it. Max's nickname is "Mad Max" so he is not the best example to follow but hey, it could happen.
    Hope his helps.
     
  50. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

    Whoo Hoo hope the OTJ trial is a success way to go Max :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat drinking24
     
  51. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    So I guess I should say this is pretty cool.
    To be honest, I am not sure I fully understood how this works.
    After eating, there is a food spike then the pancreas are supposed to kick, produces the insulin and the numbers are supposed to come down.

    I think I should do some more research so I know what Max's body is
    supposed to do now.

    The end of the first day, 13 more to go.
    Thanks for the support.
     
  52. Dawn & Nova

    Dawn & Nova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Whoohooo!!! How exciting! You can do it Max!

    Really happy to see a blue bookend-er go on trial.. gives me hope for my furball :)
     
  53. Melanie and Smokey

    Melanie and Smokey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    flip_cat flip_cat Isn't that first good drop after showing a blue wonderful!! Great work Max.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page