? 4/5/17,AMPS 338,+4/219, PMPS/260, +3/310, still learning, please follow.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did you have a specific question, Darnell?

Sounds like Sprocket is doing pretty well now, although we all understand how scary the idea of ketones can be. About all I can suggest there is that you try to get a ketone test in at least once a day for awhile, keep him eating, and increase his insulin as often as necessary until we he gets down into some better numbers

Its time for you to go up to 3.75. I know you don't have anything in your signature about what dosing method you're using, but with ketones in the mix and him running so high, I wouldn't hold a dose longer than 6 cycles that's not getting him down into at least lower blues.

Maybe take today and practice and decide what looks like 3.75 for you on the syringes so you'll be ready to increase tonight
 
At this point. Confused on my question I guess. Just trying to do everything to keep him ok & not get ketones again. Testing ketone strips every time i see head towards litterbox.
Is there a better needle syringe that has more precise measurements?
 
IF you have WalMart, the Relion syringes come with half unit markings and are also very cheap. I use the 3/10mL cc, 31 gauge, 8mm length, with half unit markings.
 
Everything makes me nervous now. Today since 6am. 11 hrs ago. I have given 3 fancy feast cans between both cats with Sprocket eating more of the food. He has had at least 5.5-6oz so far. He is acting so hungry. I gave the two of them 1 tblsp of zero dry n he was like a hoover. I was even able to get him to eat his pill pocket when I been having issues with that lately. He is at about 170calories so far. Is that ok? Am I just panicky?
 
Everything makes me nervous now. Today since 6am. 11 hrs ago. I have given 3 fancy feast cans between both cats with Sprocket eating more of the food. He has had at least 5.5-6oz so far. He is acting so hungry. I gave the two of them 1 tblsp of zero dry n he was like a hoover. I was even able to get him to eat his pill pocket when I been having issues with that lately. He is at about 170calories so far. Is that ok? Am I just panicky?
You are doing all you can. Get a ketone test when you can and increase his dose as suggested by Chris to start bringing his numbers down. you're doing great!
 
When numbers are high, the energy from the food has a hard time getting to the cells where it is needed. This means that they need more food to get the same number of calories in them. As the numbers get better they will need less food. For now, keep on feeding him and don't worry about the amounts as much. Lack of food is a factor in DKA, so we want to make sure he is getting his calories.

When my cat was in high numbers I was feeding almost twice what I usually did just to maintain his weight. Once his numbers improved, I was able to cut back on the feeding.
 
Just trying to do everything to keep him ok & not get ketones again
I am too new here to advice but my cat Ducia is post-DKA.

In addition to all said above about enough insulin and food and urine testing I was giving her SQ fluids 75 ml/day for some time. The fluids help to flash the ketones out and it is not too difficult to do.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-give-subcutaneous-fluids-video.75933/

Please discuss this info with the Board and/or your vet.

The frequency and amount of SQf is vary per cat. Mine was tiny 6.5 - 7 lbs.
She's been consistently ketones free for some time now.
Best of luck!
:bighug::bighug:
 
Are you giving anything for liver support per vet?

He has been on ursodiol since 1st hospital visit 1st week of March. Plus denamarin too till yesterday. Vet said hold off on that and cerenia to have less meds since he is giving issues taking meds currently. I have about 2 weeks worth of pills left of ursodiol and about a week left of denamarin if he ends up continuing those long term.
He started his ALT in 600s & was 166 last thursday.
 
I am too new here to advice but my cat Ducia is post-DKA.

In addition to all said above about enough insulin and food and urine testing I was giving her SQ fluids 75 ml/day for some time. The fluids help to flash the ketones out and it is not too difficult to do.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-give-subcutaneous-fluids-video.75933/

Please discuss this info with the Board and/or your vet.

The frequency and amount of SQf is vary per cat. Mine was tiny 6.5 - 7 lbs.
She's been consistently ketones free for some time now.
Best of luck!
:bighug::bighug:

Glad your kitty is post dka. How long has it been?
I have been giving Sprocket sub q fluids for about 2 weeks now. About 100 ml per day as he is 14 lbs give or take ounces.
How long did u give fluids?
Or do you do it regularly?
 
He has been getting about 8-12 oz of wet food a day for a few days. He has had less dry too. It seems like his numbers are going down with a few more cycles. Am i wrong?
I am trying very hard to understand and do everything right but its so complex and terrifying.
Its like I want to cry all the time. I try to keep it together to not appear stressed but it doesn't always work.
I want to yell at all the vets I talk to and have encountered to do their job and learn the details of feline diabetes and get on board as its their job that they chose.
If vets would get with this group maybe more kitties would never become diabetic and the ones that are would be better. Its so stressful as the guilt they try to put in you like they are the only ones that know about cats.
Ok. Vent over I guess. Sorry. I had to express myself somewhere.
 
Glad your kitty is post dka. How long has it been?
I have been giving Sprocket sub q fluids for about 2 weeks now. About 100 ml per day as he is 14 lbs give or take ounces.
How long did u give fluids?
Or do you do it regularly?
I was giving the SQf for about 5 or 6 days only and cancelled after I began getting Negative results regularly. A vet in ER tested her urine about2 or 3 weeks ago, it was negative and I consider her post DKA ever since. I cannot afford vet visits on regular basis so it was the best confirmation I could ever get.
I think you are doing great job for Sprocket. :bighug: And I promise that with practice and education that you can get on this Board by reading posts, stickies, etc you will feel less terrified and stressed. :) I did.
Keep on the good job and post your questions and concerns and you will learn a lot in no time.
Sending you and Sprocket healing vines
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top