? 4/7 Millie Post DKA PMPS 286, +9 415, AMPS 577 Decrease needed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Millie started a new dose (1.25) two days ago. Yesterday we saw bgs at 150 and 89. Then last night and this morning she started to move up, which seems customary for her. I guess this bouncing is NDW? I have a neighbor stopping by this afternoon to help me get a midday reading (+5) and then my husband will be home at her +9 hour.

I know I've been on here before with this same situation but I guess I just want to be sure that all I do now is maintain dose, monitor ketones and watch bg and wait it out for a few more days?


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...se-1-25-8-532-what-to-do.175911/#post-1933884
 
Theoretically, that green 89 means a reduction in the SLGS protocol. It's awfully close to the margin so you might want input from the pros.

Is Millie an extremely difficult cat to test? It would be so much better if you could manage it yourself because a situation could arise when you have to test frequently to monitor because she's gone very low.
 
Yes that is a bounce. Because her BG has been above normal for so long Millie's counter regulatory systems are perceiving yesterday's lower numbers as a danger and taking measures to bring BGs back up.

Since what goes up must come down, today you have an opportunity to see how quickly the bounce clears- very valuable information that will help you get to "know thy cat".
 
Theoretically, that green 89 means a reduction in the SLGS protocol. It's awfully close to the margin so you might want input from the pros.

Is Millie an extremely difficult cat to test? It would be so much better if you could manage it yourself because a situation could arise when you have to test frequently to monitor because she's gone very low.
Yes, Millie is difficult to test. She needs to be wrapped in a towel and held. She will even reject the treats she loves. I've been trying to mimic testing by myself (warming the ear) but when I touch the ear as if to prick it, she bolts. The neighbor came by a few times this week and helped me. I will continue to try because it would be great if I could do it alone (my husband hasn't been happy being woken at 2 or 4 in the morning especially on a work day.
 
Yes that is a bounce. Because her BG has been above normal for so long Millie's counter regulatory systems are perceiving yesterday's lower numbers as a danger and taking measures to bring BGs back up.

Since what goes up must come down, today you have an opportunity to see how quickly the bounce clears- very valuable information that will help you get to "know thy cat".
We knew she'd bounce because she does it without fail. This has kept us from increasing and staying with the dose. I know it's also hard to stay with it because of the DKA. I'm learning patience.
 
I had a bouncy girl too. After a while it helped if I thought of those ugly highs as the result of finally getting her into some good normal numbers. And I knew that her counter regulatory system was working fine. :rolleyes:

I hope you get a ketones test today too.
 
I had a bouncy girl too. After a while it helped if I thought of those ugly highs as the result of finally getting her into some good normal numbers. And I knew that her counter regulatory system was working fine. :rolleyes:

I hope you get a ketones test today too.
I like that, it's a positive way of looking at it.

Yes, I did a ketone test. I get nervous if I don't!
 
Kris, I see where it says to decrease Millie's dose. It seems like we're never going to be able to increase because of her tendency to bounce. She was in the reds for several days but the one 89 does mean a lowering. Should I tag someone on here or start a new thread?
 
You can change your current subject line to add something like Dose Questions, and turn on the "?" prefix to get more eyes. According to SLGS you would lower for an 89, but with her so recent DKA history, I would keep the same dose since that 89 is so close to the reduction point. And you do want to keep as much insulin in her as safely possible. Good to see her coming down now.
 
You can change your current subject line to add something like Dose Questions, and turn on the "?" prefix to get more eyes. According to SLGS you would lower for an 89, but with her so recent DKA history, I would keep the same dose since that 89 is so close to the reduction point. And you do want to keep as much insulin in her as safely possible. Good to see her coming down now.
Thanks. And yes, the 89 is close. I confess I forgot about the SLGS protocol numbers...... I intend to look over everyone of my thread and the stickies and take note that I can keep handy!
 
It's actually best to stick to just one post a day, and change the title of the current daily post so people have the history of why you are asking the question. If you can, I would delete the other post and change the title on this one.
 
It's actually best to stick to just one post a day, and change the title of the current daily post so people have the history of why you are asking the question. If you can, I would delete the other post and change the title on this one.
I was advised to start a new post. Should I add the other info onto this one or just totally eliminate this one?
 
I guess this bouncing is NDW
Bouncing and NDW (new dose wonkiness) are two separate things.

Bouncing is when the liver releases counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG up after lower numbers or a fast drop. New Dose Wonkiness is what happens to some cats within the first 24 hours or so after a dose increase. It’s not known why, but sometimes after an increase, you might see a rise in numbers the first couple of cycles....thus it is called NDW.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top