4/8 Rex AMPS 395, +6 399

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...hour-curve-dose-increase.175994/#post-1935101

I discussed doing TR with my husband. He said Keena just can't not have dry food. I was trying to slowly switch him from Whole Earth Foods canned food to Friskies and he got sick today. If I could find something cheaper that Keena could eat, then all cats will have that and no dry food. It's a bit discouraging.

My husband does want to go to 2u for Rex. With TR, I could do that, right? His ideal weight is around 12. He hasn't been that low in many years.
 
With TR, you can do a 0.5 unit increase if you aren't seeing anything below 300. Jumping up to 2 units is too fast an increase but you could go to 1.5 units.

Can you feed the two cats separately so that only Keena gets the dry food? Is there any chance there's a protein or other ingredient in the Friskies that doesn't agree with him? Fish and beef are common allergens. I've even seen some react to carrageenan.
 
With TR, you can do a 0.5 unit increase if you aren't seeing anything below 300. Jumping up to 2 units is too fast an increase but you could go to 1.5 units.

Can you feed the two cats separately so that only Keena gets the dry food? Is there any chance there's a protein or other ingredient in the Friskies that doesn't agree with him? Fish and beef are common allergens. I've even seen some react to carrageenan.
I know Keena can't have beef. He has gotten sick from duck and chicken. I avoid fish flavors because Tanner is hypothyroid (was hyperthyroid). Turkey seems to be the safest one. Whole Earth Foods doesn't have carrageenan.

I have 4 cats. I'm thinking of putting the dry food up on the washer because Rex doesn't jump that high. This would be so easy if Keena doesn't have a sensitive stomach.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top