4/8 Rosa AMPS 96 +1 75 +2 61 +3 48 +3.5 54 +10.25 84 PMBG 91

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's far enough for now Rosa - back it up and surf...save the 'fun' numbers for tonight please!
 
Oh, it's beautiful it really is - I love these numbers usually...but not a number that's dropping fairly quickly by +2 when I have to get out of here in an hour. And of course I'm holding off on carbing her and aborting the cycle because her numbers have been so great since the weekend - I don't want to spoil her surfing! If she's still dropping at +3 I won't have a choice - she'll have to have a load of carbs then so I can leave, but I'm hoping she'll level out by then :nailbiting:
 
*&%! Should have given her carbs earlier. I'm meant to leave in 10 minutes and of course now she goes under 50. Of course I'm pleased she finally made it, but her timing couldn't be worse!! :P
 
OK, so I'm meant to be on my way out of the door right now. Can I carb her to hell and back and go (and possibly have to give her one last shot tonight to counteract the carbs) or do I absolutely HAVE to stay and keep testing?
 
There Rosa goes again telling you she is done with insulin. You might be surprised that she is able to handle the carbs and is still in the green tonight. I would say if she is under 125 at PMPS you skip and start your trial tonight. That is just my opinion though.
 
Sounds good to me thank you! :D As long as she's heading up in 10 minutes, I'm going to leave her with a bunch of carbs and go - I'll only be half an hour late then and she usually responds pretty well to carbs. Then I can look at tonight depending on her numbers when I get home!! I'm so pleased with her, I really am - I just wish she could have done this last night not this morning, but then she is a cat!! ;)
 
Sounds good to me thank you! :D As long as she's heading up in 10 minutes, I'm going to leave her with a bunch of carbs and go - I'll only be half an hour late then and she usually responds pretty well to carbs. Then I can look at tonight depending on her numbers when I get home!! I'm so pleased with her, I really am - I just wish she could have done this last night not this morning, but then she is a cat!! ;)

I hear you.
 
He'll be home until about her +6 - then he has a meeting. He'll give her food no problem, just can't test. I'm grabbing another test now and as long as she's not still dropping, I'm going to have to carb and go. Thank you! :D
 
Are you headed to work or something?
Yes.... you can give her some carbs.... get her back up.... and she hopefully will just surf....

any chance you can run home.... test and run off again?
 
Yeah, should have been out of her 15 minutes ago. Not much I can do about that - I'm going to be a bit late. Oh well!

Getting home isn't an option unfortunately - it's 25 minutes each way and I only get half an hour for lunch. As long as she's above 50 in a minute, I'm going to carb her some more and have Michael give her a little more every couple of hours until he leaves for work later.
 
And at work. Only 15 minutes late in the end. I have a feeling Michael may over carb her a little as he can't test but we'll deal with that tonight and decide whether to give her one more shot or let her go straight to a trial!! :D
 
It would seem that Rosa decided to take matters into her own hands (or paws) regarding what carbs she needs. She ate part of the first lot Michael gave her and has ignored the rest. I reckon as she turns into a kitty vacuum when she's low she knows what she's doing so he's not tried to force her to eat but is leaving the hc down for her in case she does need a bite or two at some point. :)
 
Figure she gets a trial from that 48 doesn't she? It doesn't even look like the carbs pushed her up all that much - she's still green and she did eat quite a lot of the carb food in the end! :D
 
There really isn't - I could try splitting the dose again, and if she doesn't make the trial I might have to. I'm just not all that sure it's possible! I'll see what her number is tonight as she did eat just about a full can of gravy lovers between what I gave her before I headed out and what Michael gave her afterwards - she might or might not get one more dose tonight but at the moment she's still looking pretty good! :D
 
So, I don't need to keep testing tonight as I got a good number at her usual pre-shot time - is that right? Or should I test a little more often than twice a day for the first few days to make sure she's not spiking at some point?
 
Way to go on starting your Trial Rosa!

You only need to test twice a day at normal shot time. That is the hardest part for me. LOL! Being in the habit of testing more often it is very difficult to only test twice a day. The only time you need to test more is if she is higher than 125 at test time, then you would want to test a couple hours after food to make sure she comes down a bit.
 
Sounds good to me - thank you! :D I'm sure she'll appreciate being tested a lot less too. I'll probably still put a few random extra tests in here and there just to make sure but for tonight I think I might give her a night off completely - I think she's earned it today! :D :D Now I'm home from work of course I've been celebrating with her - she had lots of kisses and hugs and told just how clever she is. Her timing was way off, but she'd been heading in this direction since the weekend so it's great that she finally earned the reduction. Now I just have to hope she can make it through the trial (anti-jinx)!!
 
Here's the OTJ Trial instructions for you

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Thanks Chris - I appreciate the help. :D And Rosa will be delighted to hear that she doesn't need any more tests now until tomorrow morning! :D I might actually get close to enough sleep tonight for a change too!!
 
Thank you Rose! :D This will be her second attempt, though the first one she's properly earned all the way so I'm hoping she'll make it this time (anti-jinx)!! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top