4 Sept | Girlie AMPS 112 Dose increase coming

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-july-girlie-amps-94.198031/

I was away in the US for a while and then got hijacked by work and life when I got back. I've had trouble with my back, so I'm supposed to stay off the computer as much as possible. Not great advice when my day job is working at a computer... o_O

My pet sitter missed a lot of shots as she was often late back from work, but Girlie's numbers were still really good while I was away. Girlie lost some weight, but I've managed to get more on her since I came back.

Since I've come back, though, I can't seem to get her out of the blues for the AM shots and a lot of the PM shots - not sure why. Before I left, if I made sure she had something to eat at +10 then I could almost guarantee a green AM or PM pre-shot. That no longer seems to be the case - not sure why. Can they just change that way, I wonder?

I've been thinking about increasing to 0.1 to see how she goes, but I'm not sure...

I hope all kitties are well. I am so sad to hear about Gizmo's passing. I can't seem to see any posts from Stacy&Asia lately...? My best to everyone...
 
I would increase. The drop isn't cutting it for her right now. With the skipped shots while you were away the depot got disturbed. Her nadirs are higher greens; there is room for improvement.
 
I would increase. The drop isn't cutting it for her right now. With the skipped shots while you were away the depot got disturbed. Her nadirs are higher greens; there is room for improvement.

I think I'll increase her dose to 0.1 this evening, as I"ll be able to monitor her closely over the weekend. It's odd how good her numbers were even with all of the shots that the pet sitter missed between 25 July and 11 August: 17 days and 8 missed shots! And still she got green PS in the AM and PM.

I'm going to see my mom again for Thanksgiving (Alzheimer's getting worse, so I need to see her while I can). I think I'll have to tell the pet sitter to shoot even if she's an hour or so late coming home: better to shoot late than miss all these shots. What do you think? I'd have Girlie back on a drop by then, I'm sure.

I smuggled egg yolk powder in, by the way, and Girlie's been getting it for a while now. She doesn't object, which is good!

I also got Miralax in the US. I'm assuming that this is the right one? I was using Osmolax in Australia, but I thought that Miralax might be better.

Hope all is well, Bobbie! :bighug:
 
You will reel her numbers back in again. :)

I hope the egg yolk powder helps. It really helped Bubba with no more hair balls.

Yes, it is Miralax that I use. I give Forrest 1/4 tsp twice a day, and Bubba is doing well on 1/8 tsp once a day. I believe the start dose is 1/8 tsp twice a day and increase if necessary.

As far as the pet sitter goes whilecyou are away, if she has to shoot an hour late better than skipping. But then she shouldn't shoot any earlier than 11.5 hours for the next shot. We can make up our shooting schedule either by 15 minutes earlier a cycle or 30 minutes earlier in a 24 hour period.
 
Last edited:
You will reel her numbers back in again. :)

I hope the egg yolk powder helps. It really helped Bubba with no more hair balls.

Yes, it is Miralax that I use. I give Forrest 1/4 tsp twice a day, and Bubba is doing well on 1/8 tsp once a day. I believe the start dose is 1/8 tsp twice a day and increase if necessary.

As far as the pet sitter goes whilecyou are away, if she has to shoot an hour late better than skipping. But then she shouldn't shoot any earlier than 11.5 hours for the next shot. We can make up our shooting schedule either by 15 minutes earlier a cycle or 30 minutes earlier in a 24 hour period.

I'll tell her to shoot rather than skip but tell her she can't shoot any earlier than 11.5 hours for the next shot. Thanks for that, Bobbie!

I started Girlie on 1/8 tsp of the egg yolk powder, but now she's on 1/4 tsp am and pm. She never had problems with furballs: I'm hoping it will help with the constipation. Going once very five or six days is probably not so great. She seems to be doing a bit better lately: maybe the egg yolk powder is kicking in! :-)
 
Back
Top