5/03 Cloud AMPS 401 (AT2) having a bad 24hrs

Status
Not open for further replies.

hummingcrow

Member Since 2016
previous day's thread / advice

I am sticking to the 3.75 units as advised and assume Cloud may be on a bounce from going too low.

I'm worried about him. He feels like he has a little fever this morning. Last night I guess I was klutzy taking his +3 after I had been asleep for a couple hours. Evidently his ear continued to bleed. I found him in the kitchen hoping for some food at 3am, but his beautiful mane was matted with blood (though he was no longer bleeding). I fed him about 1.5oz canned food and cleaned up his bloody fur as best I could, this took about an hour. I should have done another BG test but he was trying to run/hide from me and I was scared to screw it up again while groggy. Poor sweet guy.

I did get a +11 this morning before hopping into the shower. Also of note, I don't think he pooped yesterday, but he is eating more and peeing more as I would expect from his higher numbers the last 2 days.

Couldn't find any blood on his normal sleeping surfaces so I guess he absorbed it all with his fur. I still have a couple of clotted clumps to remove when I get home. I need to get him some more food and different syringes on way home (bought syringes at Costco last night asked specifically for ones with 1/2 unit increment marks, they gave me the wrong ones, sigh).

I know I need to get better/more data and will keep trying. I am in pretty dire need of some self-care since I have been putting off tending to some of my own basic needs for over a month while dealing with a death in my family plus Cloud's needs. Trying my best.

Any advice from the support forum is appreciated, though I'm not specifically asking anything as I realize you need BG numbers for best advising, and I probably don't have them at this time.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Good job getting the pm test and +11 this morning, sorry about the blood. Sounds like you probably hit the vein, it gushes out if you hit it, we've all done that from time to time.

Have you seen the picture of the sweet spot?

here it is just in case you haven't, if you hit the vein that's when things can get a bit gory:eek:

earpokey_zpsc6584fc3.jpg

You need to be holding this dose for the moment, the depot needs to build and the dose settle, and you sounds like you need to take time to take care of yourself:bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, hitting the vein can spout some blood. Polly's testing station has looked at times a little like a murder scene from a TV show. She shakes her head and splatters. I try, when the cat cooperates, to "pinch" the poke spot after the test to help clot things up a bit. But we've all had a splotter. It gets easier.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks, @Gill & George, @Julie and Eleanor & @pollydoodle - I deeply appreciate your supportive words. And the picture! :bighug:

The vet assistant who did his curves previous to me home testing said "Cloud's a bleeder," and it's true, I never have any trouble getting him to bleed. But in the last two weeks I've gotten pretty good at getting a poke that bleeds a smidge, not copiously.

I'm definitely going for the sweet spot, but Cloud was an aggressive (neutered) boy living outdoors before he met us. His ears are tattered and nicked and scarred and the left one, the one that bled last night, is smaller than the right. It looks like the ear tip was partly torn off before he came in to live with us. So in his case, some of the sweet spot is missing or perhaps re-routed. I do my best to pinch the poke spots for 60 seconds and then check whether it's still bleeding and pinch again if necessary. I must just have missed it in my sleepy stupor because I would have sworn he wasn't bleeding any longer. :facepalm:

Thanks again, I'll try to chill. :cool:
 
Oh, sorry about the blood and gore. DH hit a vein last week and said he felt like somthing from a slasher movie, although that was a gross exaggeration. I hope you start to see some better numbers. But please do allow yourself to think about you, too! If Cloud could, he would take care of you. In a very catlike way, but still...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top