5/10 MAX AM+11/87+1.5/135+5/78 PMPS 57+1/78+2/76+4.5/82+6/94

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-81pmps-74-2-5-100-5-75.157497/#post-1673585

Loud meowing more than an hour before PMPS. I tested at +11ish and gave him a few fd pieces of turkey. He had attempted to vomit earlier but I didn't find anything. He then drank water and continued yelling so I got up and gave him his Gerbers with his Miralax and gel cap. Finally peace. After his shot he ate his roo with Neo and all is now quiet.

I'd push his shot time up to avoid this but much earlier messes with things I want to do as I'd be gone from +3-4.5 which won't work. This too shall pass.

Prayers and vines to all in need.
 
It's good that he's hungry and sometimes you just have to feed them even if it's not at the ideal time. Good to see him working the reducie too! Have a good day Elise...vines and prayers :bighug::bighug:
 
I agree with Karen about sometimes feeding when they need it especially if there is a history of vomiting when the stomach is empty.
I don't mind feeding. It's just that 30/35 Saturday morning means I have to test first. He actually ate while I was at the gym this morning or he ate it when I put the food out. I experimented with more Neo in the mix. It might have made his nadir a bit higher but still green. I really want to get his phos down so this might be good.
 
Wow Max....looks like you and China are holding those reductions pretty nicely!! (anti jinx, anti jinx, anti jinx)

I'd rather have him hungry and eating well than being Mr. Picky Pants! We'll take a happy appy at 5am anytime over no appy at shot time!

Hope the Neo ends up being a hit! China wasn't impressed when we tried it

Surf safely tonight Max!
 
I agree about the appy. It just worries me now. So far so good though. He won't eat the Neo on its own nor Weruva but if I mix Neo in with kangaroo or wellness turkey he eats it. He gas to ve starving to eat Weruva or Soulistic chicken.

I'm cleaning out closets so home this afternoon and so he got a snack at +8.5. Usually he isn't interested but today he was.
 
I wouldn't shoot a 47 with him. Here's the directions from the sticky for when you have a 40's at preshot:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
  • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
    • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.​

I'd probably want to give him 1-2 teaspoons of his regular low carb and retest shortly.

Seems to me that shooting low with Max, though, is likely to mean you're going to be up very late tonight. With everything going on with your mom, I'm not sure you want to do that. I don't think there would be any harm in skipping, or in shooting just a token dose, say 1u or so after he gets back up over 50.
 
The 55 was on the Relion.. The back-up meter on the same drop was 47. I'm going to test again now. I gave him his regular food.
 
I wouldn't shoot either....I shot China the other night when she was at 50 and she dropped to 31

Hopefully he'll come up enough with a little food that you can shoot him without getting too much off schedule
 
Depends on how tired you are....the protocol says to give the scheduled dose, but of course you can always give a BCS

Either way, if you give any, you'll just want to make sure to get a +1 and +2 and keep a close eye on him so you can intervene early if you need to
 
Thanks Julie and Chris. The 47 got me. It seems that meter reads a few points lower than my regular one but seeing that made me feel I needed to feed him. He was waiting for more too.

I'm only 40 minutes off from my usual time. I was already off by 15 from the weekend.

Something is changing with him. It might be tge fluids but I give them at night after I shoot
 
Sorry I didn't get your tag earlier. Just got back from the vets and it was TFS here. Sounds like you got good advice though. Sending mega vines for safe surfing tonight. Does he usually drop after fluids?

Interesting experiment on the +8.5 snack. Might be worth repeating the experiment sometime.
 
Sorry I didn't get your tag earlier. Just got back from the vets and it was TFS here. Sounds like you got good advice though. Sending mega vines for safe surfing tonight. Does he usually drop after fluids?

Interesting experiment on the +8.5 snack. Might be worth repeating the experiment sometime.
I hope it was a good vet visit and the labs are good too. I guess you will get results tomorrow? :nailbiting: I hate the waiting.
In general he's been lower since I started fluids. That's when he started giving me green amps. It might just be a coinsidence though.

He's really hungry but I'm trying to spread out the food so he's hungry if I need him to be.

I'm not used to Max going down the dosing ladder.
 
I was wondering if he goes lower right after fluids. Not sure what + time you give them. I've have limited experience with that for Neko, but when she had fluids at the vet, her numbers went down right away, and it was before onset, so I know it was the fluids.

Yes I hear tomorrow on the b/w. I'm hoping vetty calls me at the beginning of her shift (early afternoon), instead of after (evening).
 
The first time punkin got subq fluids his blood sugar plummeted. Scared me. But after that, basically no response reflected in his BGs. I'd guess that if a cat is dehydrated, it makes a difference, but if they aren't, it might not matter as much.

We always gave the fluids at +3. What time are you giving them and are you shooting in a different area than where you're giving the fluids?
 
I shoot in his side or belly so it's a different place. I give him his fluids right after his insulin. He doesn't drop right away. He just comes down and is still green in the morning. He's actually not dehydrated though he does seem to get rid of all he takes in. He drinks too and I add water to his food.
 
Wow, Max, you are really living up to your nickname!! o_O Way to keep the bean on her toes! ;)

I'm so glad he's eating well, and tolerating a bigger percentage of the Neo. Harvey won't touch it if I mix any in with his beloved FF. :rolleyes:.

Interesting about the fluids and BG. I haven't had to give either of my sugar cats fluids regularly (anti-jinx), so I have nothing to contribute to the discussion, but I'm going to keep it in mind.

Sending vines and prayers for your DM, and I hope Max doesn't keep you up too late tonight!
 
Wow, Max, you are really living up to your nickname!! o_O Way to keep the bean on her toes! ;)

I'm so glad he's eating well, and tolerating a bigger percentage of the Neo. Harvey won't touch it if I mix any in with his beloved FF. :rolleyes:.

Interesting about the fluids and BG. I haven't had to give either of my sugar cats fluids regularly (anti-jinx), so I have nothing to contribute to the discussion, but I'm going to keep it in mind.

Sending vines and prayers for your DM, and I hope Max doesn't keep you up too late tonight!
Thanks Tricia. His +6 will be at 1:10, I'm praying he doesn't drop much so I can call it a night by then or an hour later.
 
Nice surf for Max tonight! Ya did good, Elise! But I sure hope you get to sleep at some point. Hear that Max?

I'm headed for bed. Erica is feeling pretty comfortable with Carter, and her internet is spotty, but if you are up anyway you might keep an eye out for her subject line. I think Carter's going to keep surfing at this point, but it never hurts to have eyes on someone.

See you tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top