5/12 Teal'c Amps 270

That will be Friday my next day off. Would that be the best day to do it? I'm so worried about ketones when he stays this high all the time, but never any change in color on the test strips so he seems to be doing ok in that regard. Right now 48 mins before food he is worried about getting fed.

I also worry about what the high numbers are doing to his other organs such as his kidneys but so far we have also avoided any problems. Just worried the longer he stays the higher chances of other complications.
 
How has he responded to increases in the past? Some kitties take a bit more time to show the effects than others.

Ideally it's always good to be around when there's an increase...but considering these numbers you may want to just get those night time mid-cycle readings after the increase. Kitties seem to like going lower at night than during the daytime...but only you know from his past behaviors when he's likely to respond and what time of day he hits his lowest numbers..
 
It appears he stays high a couple days before coming down below 90 in both cases. I think he reacts better to 2u. Need to learn how to feed the curve.
 
It appears he stays high a couple days before coming down below 90 in both cases. I think he reacts better to 2u. Need to learn how to feed the curve.

In that case, you might consider increasing tomorrow, so by the time you're off he should be hitting his stride.

Yep, I agree feeding the curve is an art in and of itself. Took me a while to get the jump on when Luci was heading down...and me trying to catch her and head her off at the pass...she was the darndest thing for taking one of those famous dives of hers! I had a helluva time getting her to cooperate and ease up on those dives (which meant if she went under 50, she'd lose what I considered to be an effective dose)...we spent a lot of time in the up/down scenario.

The things I found that helped me the most was setting a timer to test her earlier than usual if she started out lower than normal; using calipers to get the dose consistent from one time to the next; watching her more closely anytime she dropped 100 points or more; meaning I'd test her again within 30 minutes to see what she was up to (or going down to)...and then I'd feed her accordingly and I'd keep testing until she appeared to hit the end of her drop...

:)
 
Back
Top