5/2 Billie PMPS 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello!

Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-billie-pmps-288.137141/

Billie is keeping me on my toes! Her appy was consistently really great for over a week, so I tried skipping the ondansetron the day before yesterday. It seems like that skip threw her off. She did fine through the first part of the day without it, but her appy gradually declined after maybe 20 hours without it. I started it back up, and she ate better last night. Then, her appy was off again today. It's just picking up again now after tonight's dose.

Based on her BGs, I was thinking of an increase until she surprised me with a drop to 49 last night. I'm not reducing unless appy issues persist, but I guess I'm not increasing! She did eat a decent amount of dinner last night, and she ate a lot with the drop, so I'm not sure that it was from a lack of food.

I don't know if there is anything else I should be doing at this point - taking her back for another fPL test? Looking into other possibilities for the appy issues? It seems like the ondansetron really does the trick. She has had some soft poos, but mostly normal. She is acting like she feels good - lots of playing. I guess I'm still worried that there could be something else going on in addition to pancreatitis. But I'm thinking that if there was something else going on, I probably wouldn't be seeing such positive results from the ondansetron alone? She has been taking it for a month now. I don't know how common it is for a cat to be on it that long, but it has definitely helped her a lot. Before the skipped dose, she was eating fantastically. I hope she gets back on track with that.

That's all my rambling for tonight, I think! I hope everyone is doing well. Sending vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines.
 
I think I'd keep doing what you have been doing - since it's working to keep her feeling good. Maybe @tiffmaxee has some info about how long you can safely continuously ondansetron.

Sounds like overall she's doing pretty well.
 
When Max first got pancreatitis he was on ondansetron for a few months. I know of several cats that never are able to get off it but most usually do. It is safe. Like Billie it worked without side effects. I do think it might be good to get another fPL though just to see if he still comes out high since you don't know if anything else is going on. On the other hand. She is doing well so I might give it more time. If you do get another fPL. I would try to fast her for as long as possible. The makers of the test suggest 12 hours which I never did and never would do for a diabetic cat. If there's a way to get an early morning blood draw you might be able to fast at least 6-8 hours. Without that it's possible to land in the gray area which won't give you the info you need. What was her test result?
 
Thanks Julie and Elise! Her last fPL result was 4.5, and that was a month ago. She wasn't tested when her symptoms were the most severe - this was a couple weeks after, and she was starting to do better although still off. She wasn't officially fasted, but she wasn't eating much at the time. She probably grazed a few hours before the test but didn't eat a full meal. The vet didn't say anything about fasting, but if/when we do it again, I will fast her for 6-8 hours.
 
MAX has had fPL results in the 20's and even over 50. If I were you I would just keep giving the ondansetron and give it more time. I remember many times I thought Max would never be able to go home off it but he did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top