5/2 Willow AMPS 235bg

Status
Not open for further replies.

Willow

Member Since 2016
Good morning cat lovers!

Previous tread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-willow-pmps-555.157127/#post-1668353

We are starting off with a good number this morning. Let's get into green and surf all day!

Last night we were heading into a 100bg an hour drop. My first thought was come on Willow give me a break I need to get some sleep. My request must have been heard because she leveled off.

She then slept with me in a way that she had never done before, my wife tried to get a photo yet it really does not she her well. She was on her side with her head flat on the bed, my hand was over half of her body. She laid so still that I kept checking her to make sure she was not dead. Not sure how many times I woke up and would shake her because she was limp. When I woke up this morning she was still in the same place again this is not our norm.

Thank you again everyone hope all your kitties surf well today.
Monday are rough work days.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    99.8 KB · Views: 107
That's so sweet. Dealing with FD can create a closer bond with our kitties.

Nice sunny start today. I hope Willow surfs safely.
 
Good start today! Love the picture! I think everyone here touches and shakes their kitties during the night just to make sure they are still in the land of the living! I know I do many times, I will rub Shoes ears and when they move when I touch them, I know all is okay.
 
LOL...yep, I've been known to shake my kitties awake, too, because they look a little TOO limp and relaxed. Nice start for Willow!
 
Awwwww....what a wonderful picture!!

Add me to the crazy cat parents who give a little "nudge" to a heavily sleeping cat....and get the dirty looks that come with those little "nudges"!!
 
Good start today! Love the picture! I think everyone here touches and shakes their kitties during the night just to make sure they are still in the land of the living! I know I do many times, I will rub Shoes ears and when they move when I touch them, I know all is okay.

Yep, they are our kids
She is doing good and surfing in consisting numbers with no major swings.
 
Hi James,

Saw your response yesterday about the dose decrease to 2.0u at amps. She got 2.5u last night and 2.0u again this morning. I'm going to encourage you to pick a dose and stick with it. Changing doses frequently leads to wonky numbers.

Remember that the depot has to adjust to the new dose. When you increase the dose, it has to "grow" to fit before you can see what the dose will do. That can take up to 3 days. When you decrease the dose, it has to "shrink" to fit. That can also take up to 3 days. With Lantus, the dosing decisions are made primarily by the low points. So you are always looking at the low points for helping you decide the dose - not the preshots.

One thing that will come up if the morning and pm doses are different, is if you see lower numbers, how do you know what to do with the dose? Which dose did it? It just really complicates things.
 
LOL...yep, I've been known to shake my kitties awake, too, because they look a little TOO limp and relaxed. Nice start for Willow!

She was sleeping like she was dead. Talk about waking me up fast!
 
Hi James,

Saw your response yesterday about the dose decrease to 2.0u at amps. She got 2.5u last night and 2.0u again this morning. I'm going to encourage you to pick a dose and stick with it. Changing doses frequently leads to wonky numbers.

Remember that the depot has to adjust to the new dose. When you increase the dose, it has to "grow" to fit before you can see what the dose will do. That can take up to 3 days. When you decrease the dose, it has to "shrink" to fit. That can also take up to 3 days. With Lantus, the dosing decisions are made primarily by the low points. So you are always looking at the low points for helping you decide the dose - not the preshots.

One thing that will come up if the morning and pm doses are different, is if you see lower numbers, how do you know what to do with the dose? Which dose did it? It just really complicates things.

Hi
I'm putting her back at 2 until we have a consistent set of numbers without major swings up or down. Now that I have her food under control I need to make sure I can leave during the day to work without being in a panic all day. I need to have a clear head while working or it could cost me too much.
With that being said when she is at 2 units she surfs in yellow during the day, when she is at 2.5 I'm battling to keep her from going too low. So right now I'm sticking to 2 units twice a day and keep her there for awhile to see how she surfs. After I think it's 6 cycles of she needs more then I will up her .25
We had to reduce the other morning because no one was going to be home to save her.
I had someone checking her while I was working yesterday and they did the best that they could however I could not rely on them to save her and there is no way I could tell my client I have to leave.

Thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Awwwww....what a wonderful picture!!

Add me to the crazy cat parents who give a little "nudge" to a heavily sleeping cat....and get the dirty looks that come with those little "nudges"!!

Thank you
we know your part of that group, your one of us!
No looks nothing from her, just limp!
Normally she gives me that look, last night she was out! Now that I'm thinking about it could be because she has been keeping both of us up all night for the past few nights and she was really tired!
 
thanks for the explanation. I think staying at one dose am and pm is important.

Just to add a little bit of information - cats' blood sugar will always even out when one reduces the dose. Their body isn't being pushed down into normal range, so there is nothing to cause a bounce. If your goal is to have flat numbers then reducing the dose does accomplish that. Usually it leaves them in high numbers as well, unfortunately.

You may want to check her urine at some point to determine what her renal threshold is - that is the point where the kidneys can no longer process the glucose in the kidneys and it spills over into the urine. In some cats it's as low as 140, in some it may be higher. If the blood sugar is over renal threshold, it can cause damage to the rest of the body. All the things that happen to human diabetics from high blood sugar are also possible with diabetic cats.
 
thanks for the explanation. I think staying at one dose am and pm is important.

Just to add a little bit of information - cats' blood sugar will always even out when one reduces the dose. Their body isn't being pushed down into normal range, so there is nothing to cause a bounce. If your goal is to have flat numbers then reducing the dose does accomplish that. Usually it leaves them in high numbers as well, unfortunately.

You may want to check her urine at some point to determine what her renal threshold is - that is the point where the kidneys can no longer process the glucose in the kidneys and it spills over into the urine. In some cats it's as low as 140, in some it may be higher. If the blood sugar is over renal threshold, it can cause damage to the rest of the body. All the things that happen to human diabetics from high blood sugar are also possible with diabetic cats.

Hi
How do I check that?
Will the keytones strips work?
I'm not going to leave her there long. I just need to get her stable. The food problem was causing us serious problems.
With the 2.5 units I was having to save her a few times. It is amazing the difference in just .5 units what it does to her.
Also remember she was in the black for a really long time, I know the yellow is not good for her however it is better then where she was. It is taking time to get this under control. Just when we think we are good we find out we were doing something wrong that was causing a problem.
 
No, the ketone strips don't work for glucose. You want strips that measure glucose in urine - I'm not sure what they are called but you can get them at any people pharmacy.

It doesn't sound like you're really understanding the scope of the depot. Today was the 6th cycle after the 3.0u - so the depot from that dose could've been influencing blood sugar even through today. If a cat got below 50 on the 3.0u dose, their dose would be reduced to 2.75u. Then that dose would be held for a few days to re-evaluate it and see if that 2.75u was providing nadirs in the right neighborhood.

That's the power of 0.25u. You've reduced really by 1.0u - which is 1/3 of her dose. I don't think we know that 2.75u, 2.5u or 2.25u are too much. None of those doses have been given enough cycles to know yet.

I'm not meaning to argue with you and I won't keep talking about it. This is completely your choice. I just want to make sure you understand the implications of reducing her dose by that amount. Getting a cat stable and used to numbers in the 200's isn't necessarily progress, unless your goal is to stop the bouncing.

It sounds like you would feel more comfortable if you had some strategies in place to keep her safe while you are at work. Have you read the sticky on following Tight Reg while working full-time? Lots of ideas there that people use. Many, many people work full-time and still manage their diabetic cat, it just takes some creativity to keep them safe.
 
No, the ketone strips don't work for glucose. You want strips that measure glucose in urine - I'm not sure what they are called but you can get them at any people pharmacy.

It doesn't sound like you're really understanding the scope of the depot. Today was the 6th cycle after the 3.0u - so the depot from that dose could've been influencing blood sugar even through today. If a cat got below 50 on the 3.0u dose, their dose would be reduced to 2.75u. Then that dose would be held for a few days to re-evaluate it and see if that 2.75u was providing nadirs in the right neighborhood.

That's the power of 0.25u. You've reduced really by 1.0u - which is 1/3 of her dose. I don't think we know that 2.75u, 2.5u or 2.25u are too much. None of those doses have been given enough cycles to know yet.

I'm not meaning to argue with you and I won't keep talking about it. This is completely your choice. I just want to make sure you understand the implications of reducing her dose by that amount. Getting a cat stable and used to numbers in the 200's isn't necessarily progress, unless your goal is to stop the bouncing.

It sounds like you would feel more comfortable if you had some strategies in place to keep her safe while you are at work. Have you read the sticky on following Tight Reg while working full-time? Lots of ideas there that people use. Many, many people work full-time and still manage their diabetic cat, it just takes some creativity to keep them safe.

Hi,

I understand what you are saying I have read the sticky notes agin and the main thing I get from them is to be safe and to even skip shots when needed. This morning Willow was 180bg amps and I went ahead and gave her the full 2 units because someone will be here for a few hours.
Remember we are dealing with a major food problem that caused us to increase her units due to her high numbers
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top