5/22 JuJu AMPS 219/+ 5 340/PMPS 303/+5 207/+6 205/+7 176/+8 238/+9 270

Status
Not open for further replies.

JuJu09

Member Since 2014
5/21 Condo

WCR- Good

Ketone neg 5/19

Continuing with 1u this morning. May need to increase if no greens today. Hoping for a relatively flat cycle. No bouncing, please.
 
Ava is gonna get some extra tests tonight. It's definitely looking like we need to go up to a f1u.
 
Thanks for checking in, Marje and Julie.

You both have been so much help. I know you probably want to smack me in the back of the head, but can I get another explanation on why his AM cycles have been flat and the PM cycles are presenting more normally? An actual curve with a nadir around +6.

It's confusing the crap out of me because the AM/PM cycles are so different. Just when I thought I had this thing figured out...
 
pm cycles just seem to usually be lower for cats. ( one possibility is they eat less frequently)
but also..... he sees the blues at night and his body responds with a small bounce by morning.... and then he quickly recovers and sees blue
again by the pm cycle. The quick recovery is a good thing. ( some cats take up to 6 cycles to recover from bounces)
 
OK, so because kitty is bouncing, his body is doing everything it can to protect itself from hypo. Thereby rendering a cycle(s) non effective in lower BG.

So a kitty could run high numbers for up to 6 cycles but then see lower numbers on the same dose, after clearing the bounce?
 
It seems like cat bodies "forget" fairly quickly that normal numbers are normal. As they sit in higher numbers - most cats are diabetic for a while before they get diagnosed - their body accepts that as normal. Then when the insulin brings them into normal range, the body reacts as though it's actually a hypo. It's lower than they are used to, so the body treats it like a hypo, releasing sugars and hormones to raise the blood sugar back up into the high numbers that it now thinks are normal.

On 5/20 the daytime cycle was a normal Lantus cycle. The pm cycle was a normal Lantus cycle.
On 5/21 & 22 the daytime cycle was a bounce cycle. 5/21 looks like a normal pm cycle, but tonight looks like he's still working on clearing the bounce.

The more time he spends in normal numbers the more his body will "remember" that it's normal. You just keep plugging and eventually Juju will hopefully reduce his bouncing.

In the meantime, he's clearing bounces in 24 hours or so most of the time. That's pretty good.

This post has an explanation about Failed Reductions, New Dose Wonkiness and Bounces. The only reason for waiting after a dose reduction to see if it's going to work is if the cat bounces from the low numbers that caused the dose reduction, you just wait for the bounce to clear to see if the cat's going to stay in healthy numbers at that new dose.

I don't think we're going to see solid greens on this dose no matter how long you wait. I would go back up to just under the 1.25u if I were you, just making it a shade less than the previous 1.25u - call it a skinny 1.25u.

And no, no one wants to whack you! It's good to ask questions on whatever isn't clear. If you don't have this post "Where Can I Find?" you might want to bookmark it. That can help you locate where information is in the group.
 
Thanks, Rhi. Just watched Shadow's OTJ vid. "They call me Shadow... Boo!" Love it!


Thanks, Julie. Appreciate the help and the links. I'll reread them (Haven't looked at them since JuJu was first DX) and bookmark them.

As fas as dosing, my plan was to go f1u but if you feel a skinny 1.25 is better for JuJu then that's where we'll start. I'll start a new condo when I get home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top