5/22 Tuxie AMPS-474; +2-412; +3-394; +5-286; +8-326; +10-385 PMPS 473; +3-403; +5-320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
ALPHA TRAK 2 PET METER

Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-9-281-one-step-forward-2-steps-back.138190/

Today looks like it is going to be mostly a non-activity day. I am just hoping that Tuxie can stay away from the really high numbers. I have been giving him a Tbsp of his regular food at each testing to see if that levels him out. I just made a new batch of food this morning and have added extra carbs to it so the carb content is now about 5-6% for this batch. Basically he is getting about 8 mini-meals daily, which suits him fine. He is more than happy to eat at ANY time, no matter how much he gets.
 
Here's hoping your food strategy levels things out a bit. Always experimenting with the steps in this FD dance.

Marilyn and Polly

Thank you. So far today he has been fairly flat. Although I don't like the numbers, I still prefer a flatter cycle (with no blacks) to a rollercoaster cycle. In people the theory is that the ups and downs are harder on the body than higher ( but not too high) numbers. I will be holding this dose another 2-3 days, since Tuxie seems to take about 5 days to totally adjust..good or bad..to a dose change. Fingers crossed that he does not throw any really high BG numbers. :nailbiting:
 
Fingers crossed for you too. I'm thinking with 8 mini meals you're probably feeding past nadir as well. Because the insulin is wearing down then most people find it better not to feed past then. But it's quite possible I'm missing half the story here so if you have considered that already - carry on!
 
Fingers crossed for you too. I'm thinking with 8 mini meals you're probably feeding past nadir as well. Because the insulin is wearing down then most people find it better not to feed past then. But it's quite possible I'm missing half the story here so if you have considered that already - carry on!

With me feeding so many mini-meals I try to judge his nadir and only give bone broth or a teaspoon of salmon after that time, when I test. With all the testing I do (10-12 times a day...just a bit of overkill :) ) it is easy to feed 8 mini meals and still keep it down after nadir and before preshot readings. He gets a "mini-meal" after his shot..then 2 hours later..then 2 more hours..then 2 hours after that and then repeat again for the evening. .Bone broth and small amounts of salmon have no carbs, so there is very little food spike for those. Tuxie really looks forward to his test times...something I could never imagine 6 months ago.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top