5/23 Boris AMPS 286, +4 308, +6 379, PMPS 299, +2.5 245 coming off bounce

That's what the SLGS protocol says!
It's nice that you tested after PM pre-shot yesterday! Kitties very often will go lower at night, that's why it is very important to take at least one test before bed! that way you can keep him safe if he goes too low! If you have a chance, try to check him for ketones once in a while!
You're doing very well with Boris!:)
 
Morning!

You’ve got it! For now, until you get a better understanding of how Boris reacts to insulin the recommendation in the SLGS protocol is to skip shots for cats new to insulin when below 150.

The numbers that you got last night are actually in the range that we want Boris to eventually live in. At some point we all have to get comfortable shooting lower numbers (that’s what got me into my late night last night). That being said, there is no rush to be comfortable doing that with Boris. You still have a lot of data to gather to understand His insulin cycles. Let’s see what his AMPS is :)
 
AMPS 286

He moved back up into the higher range, more like what I was seeing 1-4 days ago. I gave him 1.75u, and we will see what happens.

If you have a chance, try to check him for ketones once in a while!

We have 3 cats and 4 litter boxes. I can't come up with a way to do that other than stalking him to the litter box, or locking him away till he pees. Any other ideas?
 
Last night's cycle is the perfect example of why night time tests are so important. I tend to nag people to do these midcycle night tests:rolleyes:, because I have one of those kitties who drops at night then bounces during the day. Had you not seen what Boris was up to last night, your viewpoint would be that he needs more insulin, and in fact, he earned a reduction. Great job last night.:)
 
Had you not seen what Boris was up to last night, your viewpoint would be that he needs more insulin, and in fact, he earned a reduction.

Indeed, that's what the vet wanted me to do yesterday, but based on the information all you lovely people here, I pushed back to keep the dose at 2 last night. I do need to call them with his numbers today, and I think I'll inform them I dropped his dose to 1.75 for now instead of asking what they think. They do still want to see him next week for a urinalysis, so I will do that. But I won't make any changes unless he's running dangerously low, at least not until after we get back from the cruise.

If it wasn't our wedding, at this point I wouldn't go!
 
I have 3 cats also...and many LB! My way of doing is if I happen to see him go to the LB, I follow him and dip the ketostix in the stream! I'm lucky, he often goes around the same time, might be the same for Boris.
I didn't find any better solution so that's how I do it !!:)
 
AMPS 286

He moved back up into the higher range, more like what I was seeing 1-4 days ago. I gave him 1.75u, and we will see what happens.



We have 3 cats and 4 litter boxes. I can't come up with a way to do that other than stalking him to the litter box, or locking him away till he pees. Any other ideas?
I know this solution isn't for everyone, but I actually bought a keytone meter that tests from blood.
 
I know this solution isn't for everyone, but I actually bought a keytone meter that tests from blood.

Really? Does it work similarly to the BG monitor? Even though I work from home, I'm not sure I can stalk him non-stop and still do my job! Would you mind sharing which one you use?

Nice start after last night's greens. I hope Boris doesn't bounce today. It's a good idea to tell your vet about Boris's numbers last night.

Yes, he appears to be stabilizing, so fingers crossed! I'm going to check him +4 and +6 this afternoon, PMPS, and then +2 or +3 if I can stay awake that long. I haven't had an interrupted night's sleep like last night in a while! I'm supposed to follow up with the vet today anyway, so I'll be sure to provide them with his latest numbers.
 
Really? Does it work similarly to the BG monitor? Even though I work from home, I'm not sure I can stalk him non-stop and still do my job! Would you mind sharing which one you use?
The one I bought is Ketomojo -- I heard about it from someone on this message board. You can use it at the same time you are doing a BG test as long as the drop of blood you get is not too small for 2 different strips. I was able to test both at once -- I just had both meters standing by with loaded strips so I could quickly switch out one for the other. There is no way Phoebe Squeak would let me hold a stick under her while she pees. :-)
 
+4 308

I can't even imagine what trying to catch him mid-stream would look like at our house, especially since Tazz would be right behind us going, "What's going on guys? Can I see?" Add in all of us crowded into a 4' x 6' closet??? LOL

So his numbers appear to be climbing again, though not outrageously like yesterday. These are more in line with what Boris was having prior to yesterday. I guess it's still possible he could bounce again?
 
It could definitely be another bounce! it could also be a phenomenon affectionately known around here as "new dose wonkiness" If it is a bounce I hope Boris clears it soon.. Mowgli is also spending some time way up in the pinks after his brief affair with green last night. Whaddya gunna do? haha
 
it could also be a phenomenon affectionately known around here as "new dose wonkiness" If it is a bounce I hope Boris clears it soon..

Not quite, NDW is seen with increases, not decreases ;) . From the info page..."NDW aka New Dose Wonkiness - "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations." This is just a bounce.
 
Not quite, NDW is seen with increases, not decreases ;) . From the info page..."NDW aka New Dose Wonkiness - "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations." This is just a bounce.
Thanks for the info... increases only... make sense! A good old fashioned bounce it is :D
 
While his numbers are still higher, he seems to be settling down nicely. I’m off to bed before I fall over!!!
 
Back
Top