5/23 Carter: PMPS 103 (+12.25 114 +12.5 135) +1 202 +2 174 +3 138 +4 201 +5 169

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Erica & Carter, May 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Yesterday.

    Well, Carter had an interesting day yesterday. Bouncing a little from it, but hopefully it will clear as fast as last time! I work all day today though so I know he'll at least be safe. Wife will get a +6 on her lunch break.

    My baby/toddler scale arrived from Amazon yesterday so I can finally start getting an accurate weight on the boys.

    Hope everyone has a good day.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice day yesterday. I hope Carter clears the bounce today.
     
  3. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Hope Carter clears the bounce soon!
     
  4. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    +6.75 84
    Wife was worried about further dropping since we wouldn't be home for another 4 hours so gave 3tsp HC FF gravy on lunch break then tested 15 minutes later and he was +7 71 and food was to go off in the autofeeder as well. +11 91 PMPS 103 - ok to shoot? I think this would be the lowest PS I would have shot, I'm prepared for it, lots of supplies etc, but because it's below 150 and he is on 3 units I wanted some sort of confirmation I guess?
     
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Can you stall, DON'T feed and retest in about 20 minutes?
     
  6. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    I haven't fed but last time I tested was almost 20 minute ago anyways. So wait 20 more minutes or 20 minutes from the initial PS?
     
  7. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Since you are able to monitor I would go ahead and shoot. paws crossed you can keep the green streak rolling
     
    Gill & George and Erica & Carter like this.
  8. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
  9. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Last edited: May 23, 2016
  10. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hey there Erica I would stall 2o more minutes and hopefuly Carter would come up some. You have never shot that low before and you are going into the night. But ultimately it's your call. You hold the syringe
     
  11. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....if you haven't fed him and he's gone up to 144, I'd shoot the scheduled dose if you've got plenty of supplies and can test as much as necessary

    These low PS's can be a GIFT!! I'd get a +1 and +2 so you can intervene early if necessary

    As Marje once told me....SHHOOOOOOOOTTTTTT!!!!!!
     
  12. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    AGH, sorry, typo on my phone. He went up to 114, not 144.
     
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Oh yeah, 144 go for it, I just saw that you had posted that above. Like Chris said, it's a gift.
     
  14. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    lol read my typo above. 114, not 144. My bad.
     
  15. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    hmmmmmm, what to you think Chris?
     
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....in that case, can you stall for another 20 without feeding and still be able to shoot 12 hours from then tomorrow morning?
     
  17. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I would like to see him up some more before you shoot and if it's not going to mess up your schedule to shoot 12 hours later
     
  18. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    I can. My latest I can stall would be until 7:30 (30 minutes from now) as that's when I have to leave for work tomorrow AM.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah me too @Bobbie And Bubba ....I'd at least like to see him moving upwards....that 103 and 114 are within that 20% variance
     
  20. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Okie doke, stalling. He's been doing so good on this dose that I don't want to ruin it by skipping, and I am prepared to check every 30 minutes from now until after nadir tonight, I have to be up all night anyways doing paperwork.
     
  21. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....let's do that then...I'll try to see you in a few minutes when you re-test!! (I can't guarantee anything living in a rural area with "iffy" internet service) but it looks like @Bobbie And Bubba will watch for you too and she can help you if I can't get on for some reason
     
  22. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    About to go get another test since it's been 20 minutes from that last test, but then I'll also get another test by 7:30 (which would be in an additional 30 minutes.)
     
  23. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
  24. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I will still be up at 8:30 EST ( which is your 7:30 ) to test Bubba. I won't be able to stay with you tonight though if you decide to shoot.
     
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think he's on his way up and you can go ahead and shoot now Erica

    I like that number better

    Just go ahead and feed/shoot and test again by +1
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  26. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Can you do one more? If would feel safer to me if we could get him to 150
     
  27. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    I'm going to disagree and really encourage you to shoot ASAP. You are home to monitor clearly have a grip on testing so now would be an excellent time to start lowering your no shoot level - in the end you are aiming for shooting everything above 50. And, not that there's anything wrong with shooting a dropping number depending on the circumstances, but he is also well up from nadir and rising.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  28. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Yeap I can. I'll test again in 20 minutes (by that time it will be about ~5 minutes from 7:30pm here.)
     
  29. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I agree.....go ahead and shoot Erika!! You've got lots of people watching out for you and you know what to do!!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  30. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    I know the goal is to shoot low stay low, I think?? I feel really confident that I can handle it and monitor correctly etc but the only thing making me nervous is the 3 units. I know that's not super large of a dose, but it's a bit more than the average dose I feel like. However he's made the most progress on it thus far.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  31. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    It looks like Chris and Vyktors Mom thinks you will be okay to shoot. I was reluctant to encourage you because I can not stay with you tonight if you needed help.
     
  32. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I will be up for many hours yet. It's OK to shoot. Get a +1 and a +2.
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  33. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    That's always something that has to be considered @Bobbie And Bubba !!
     
  34. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Totally understandable. :)
     
  35. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Okay guys, going to shoot, wish me luck! Start with a +1 shortly thereafter.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  36. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good luck!! You've got this and I know how excited you are !!!
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  37. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Good luck! You and Carter will do great!!
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  38. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    upload_2016-5-23_20-12-49.png These are for you! The coveted balls of steel. You have earned them. :)
     
    Erica & Carter and Shoeskitty-GA like this.
  39. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    You don't need to worry so much about the size of the dose when you have got there appropriately because it means that the dose is the right size for him right now. I was having heart palpitations the first times shooting Purrdy low with double digit doses but it turns out it works the same as other kitties on a lower dose.

    Shoot low to stay low is correct. The only way you're going to get him to stay down is by doing that and until you know how he reacts you only want to do that when you can monitor so tonight really is a gift - good luck I hope you are rewarded :D

    @julie & punkin (ga) has some links to spreadsheets that show what happens when you start shooting low that might provide some additional encouragement... (Thanks Julie :))
     
  40. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Hahaha thanks everyone! It's nice to see some progress! Wish this happened when I was at home full time but eh, what can ya do! :rolleyes:

    I'll be updating this thread constantly with numbers but if I'm ever worried I'll make sure I make it known in the thread title! :)
     
    Vyktors Mum and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  41. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
  42. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Well....that's either one heck of a food spike or he's going to bounce off those pretty greens today (my money is on the bounce....darn it)
     
  43. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Is it normal to bounce AFTER the preshot and not BY the preshot? I noticed that has been the case the past few days, but I guess I'm used to seeing the bounce as the PS number.
     
  44. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Darn indeed and after all that excitement! The bounce can kick in anytime, if it's taking a bit longer than it was previously I would take that as a good sign of some progress, i.e. that his liver is getting a little less panicky.
     
  45. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Yeah so far all his bounces on this dose clear after 1 cycle, before it was 6-8 cycles. I'm hopeful that even if he does bounce, his body is getting more used to these lower numbers.
     
  46. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Bouncing is the body's reaction to:
    1. a low number
    2. a drop in blood glucose that's too quick/too fast
    3. a number the body just isn't used to being at anymore (our cats are diabetic for quite a long time before most of us see the signs and get the diagnosis....during that time, their body adjusts and thinks that it's "normal" to be at higher numbers, so even a number that's not TOO low can cause a bounce)

    Or a combination of all 3 reasons!!

    They can happen at any point in the cycle
     
  47. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Gotcha.

    174 @ +2, maybe there is some hope yet for tonight!
     
  48. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
  49. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
  50. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Did Carter have a feed since the +3?
     
  51. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Nope, no food. He typically gets his "before bed" feeding now but I'm holding off to see if he's going up or not, to determine if/when I can plan to go to bed if he's going to stay in the yellows/blues.
     
  52. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Internet is being spotty, agh!
     
  53. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Interesting cycle. I think you're probably okay to feed him and go to bed now but one more test at +5 (to make sure the +4 wasn't a misread) wouldn't hurt
     
  54. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    For sure. About to test again for +5 in 20 minutes.
     
  55. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Will keep my eyes peeled for you
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  56. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Interesting? I'd go so far as to call it wonky!!

    Make up your mind Carter!!
     
  57. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    I can't complain though, such a nice treat to see no reds or blacks. :)
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  58. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Oh definitely!!

    He's looking good at this dose!!....And the fact he hasn't bounced to the moon after the greens today (so far anyway) is positive news!
     
  59. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Just did a +4.75 (closer to +5 though) because he happened to be close by and got 169 lol he really can't make up his mind tonight...

    I'm gonna feed him his late night snack and lie down/set an alarm to check again here in an hour. If I don't respond it's because my internet is barely working for some reason...
     
  60. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    At least I'm not the only one with internet "issues" tonight!

    Do you live in the middle of nowhere too?
     
  61. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Kind of. I think it's my router though.
     
  62. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Talk about being a cat! I think you're OK to at least get two hours sleep especially because he has his snack on board.
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  63. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I know that dance too...I usually end up resetting mine several times a week....of course my ISP says there's nothing wrong with it so they won't replace it

    Get a few hours sleep! It looks like Carter is going to surf for awhile
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  64. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Just caught up this AM, and what a "wonky" cycle for sure ! The 201 and 169 are basically the same number with meter variance but the 138 and the 201 are curious. It will be interesting to see what the AM is. Good job last night Erica.
     
    Erica & Carter likes this.
  65. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I was just looking at Carter's SS and bummer about the bounce. Also, I was reading you comments section for today and noticed you put some HC food in with the LC food and was wondering why with the numbers as high as they are.
     
  66. Erica & Carter

    Erica & Carter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Yeah, I didn't want to but he had dropped to 71 from 404 the other day when we were at work so I didn't want to take any chances as sometimes neither of us can come home to check mid day.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page