5/25 Spaz-amps 83/pmps 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela

Member Since 2015
Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-or-no-insulin.138232/#post-1426259


After having Spaz's BG shoot up to 374 after skipping insulin Friday night, he's basically been in the green since yesterday (with the exception of his AMPS which was 124.

This morning I gave him a reduced shot of 1.5 as I am at work today, even though he was okay with the 2 units last night. I'm reluctant to skip a dose all together as his BG went so high when I did but I also don't want to risk his BG going too low-especially when I'm at work.
Not quite sure what my next step should be.
 
Last edited:
I know how nerve wracking it can be to not be home to monitor your kitty's BG. If there's any way you can shoot consistently, I think Spaz may see some great numbers.

Also, can you put the date and Spaz's name in the subject line for this thread? We use a convention for the subject lines so everyone can find your thread: date Kitty's name AMPS-#, +hour-#

Also, here's the link to your previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-or-no-insulin.138232/#post-1426259
 
Sorry, I'm still getting the hang of the board.
Normally I do shoot consistently at two units but just recently started monitoring his BG daily. Reading threads here have got me paranoid about him going too low (especially since I weaned him completely off dry kibble on Friday) which is the reason I skipped his dose Friday (which I now regret) and gave him a reduced dose Thursday (changed my mind about skipping his dose completely) and this morning.
 
After doing some more reading it sounds like I should be keeping his dose at 2 units until he's in the green for a week and then look at trying to reduce his dose? I'm off on holidays from Wednesay until the end of the week so will be able to do a curve one of those days. I'd like to know how his levels are when he's under 100 from am to pm.
 
Better safe than sorry! It was fine to skip during the transition to wet food, now you can see where his numbers go on all wet food. Most cats need less insulin once they are off the wet.

Another way to earn a reduction is to go below 50 for a newly dx cat, in fact most cats get reductions that way. Nadir is usually about 6 hours after the shot and if you can't be home to monitor you don't know if the reduction has been earned. Half a unit was a big step down, but you may want to go w/ a reduced dose until you will be home to see how things are going mid cycle. Post again tonight so we can see how this dose worked.
 
So his BG went up to 176 on the 1.5 units. Lesson learned :). I'll stick with the 2 units until I see his levels remain consistent and then see about reducing his dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top