? 5/28 Loki AMPS 374 +6 76 +9 86 need advice on PM shot

His PM shot is coming up in 3 hours and I’m just wondering ahead of time if he stays below/around 100 if it’s still ok to shoot 2 units? This isn’t very usual for him. He’s slowly coming up, +9 86.
 
Looks like Loki might be on his way up...he may give you the big bounce by PMPS..looks like another couple of hours away?
 
I see you're getting close to your shot time. Sometimes the Mods are not available, so.....This is from the sticky re: TR & SLGS:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Take a deep, deep breath & stick with your dose for now. :) There is SO much info here, it's hard to keep up & remember, but the pros (I am NOT one) will remind you, like they do for me, to re-and re-read these stickys. It's scary, but you can do this. :)
 
also, bouncing is totally normal. I was SO frustrated, but then I just had to accept it as part of the journey. My Nova would hit those greens and jump right up to the yellows and pinks, and sometimes the reds with the occasional black....for SO often for many weeks, months. Hang in there. :)
 
Thank you!! I had the tab of stickies up but it’s so nerve-wracking see him hit a 300 point drop and maintain for hours, especially when he’s never reached that low before, it just made me wonder if this was particular. Luckily he’s back up to 150 and he’s getting his shot in 10 minutes, and we’re gonna get plenty of night tests for him!
 
Back
Top