5-29-18 Jones AMSP 196, +9 200 PMPS 274 Bounce?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tracey&Jones (GA), May 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Yesterday

    He ate better yesterday. It is supposed to cool down for a few days and I am hoping that helps with wanting him to eat.

    Today is Day 3 of the methyl B12 but I still need to get that B complex in. His capsules of all his meds are made up till Wednesday, at that point I will do up another 2 weeks worth with the B complex added into one capsule that isn't full yet.

    Got a call from the vet yesterday, she wants him to fast from midnight on and no meds or insulin the morning of the operation but I can resume when I get him home. He gets is SEB at +2 or +3 at night, so he will get that at least. I was going to put out half his food and then scoop it up before I go to bed.

    Scared s*%tless about this but I have weighed the benefits and risks. If he has teeth bothering him or as noticed some really bad gingivitis then it is better to get that dealt with and may help with him eating. However, to me he seems so....not the previous Jones from before the dx of IBD and FD and that scares me with the risk of anesthesia. He is scheduled for June 8th. I already made arrangements to work from home that day so I can pick him up as soon as possible.

    Since I have no more plans to travel until fall for work...I have booked Friday's off for the summer (at least the last two weeks of each month due to month end) to give me extra time to spend at home and enjoying my furbabies and my garden. If I ever get to planting....I didn't do any seeds this year...so it is buying all items.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2018
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Jones ate better yesterday. I hope he continues to eat for you today. Sending early prayer for his procedure. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  3. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I agree it's better to deal with his dental issues now when he's still "young" at 13 years old. I know I can't do anything with my elderly civvie at 18 years old. He's already fragile.

    Enjoy the "abbreviated" work season for the summer! I have every Friday off and I love it!! :)
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  4. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    I hope the weather cooling down gets Jonsey back to normal eating. Ugh, anesthesia is scary and hope the dental is a magic fix.
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  5. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Hugs, I know how scary anesthesia is because of age and just more so when you pile on FD and whatever else. Asia had several extractions at 13 and it was life changing for her, I hope the very same for Jones! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I wish I just had a dental for Asia even a year or two ago, it’s so dicey to attempt it now, but it still has to be a consideration since I know now it’s a real issue. The way I see it is better now than later and if it’s an issue now, you know it can only get worse since they are crap at magically healing their teeth! ;) I wish it made things less scary, but I hope the times flies quickly and it’s done and over with and a dental helps bring back the old Jones. I think bad teeth could contribute to IBD and FD, so you have some good odds it will help at least a little bit, if not a lot! :)
     
    HWright and Tracey&Jones (GA) like this.
  6. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Dental probs are best dealt with if possible , which we all know. Not surprised you are scared given Jones isn't being Jones.

    Have one of these:bighug:or maybe even two :bighug::bighug:
     
    HWright and Tracey&Jones (GA) like this.
  7. HWright

    HWright Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    If any assurance, Tracey: Azalea was 17 near 18 yo when she had eye enucleation surgery and then two months later, major dental surgery bc of stomatitis. I was sweating bullets (specialist surgeons were, too) bc of her age and ckd history. They both did special anesthesia and protocol. Granted, she didn’t bounce back as quickly as a younger cat would, but she did recover from the surgeries. Hope this helps and sending bushelsful of vines. :bighug:
     
  8. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Thank you everyone for the encouraging words. Greatly appreciated and needed.
     
  9. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Didn't catch a low today but he was lower last night. All food was gone today...so thinking he went low today.
     
  10. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Best of luck with the dental, Jones! I'm sure he'll do awesome!
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page