5-3-18 Jones AMPS 196, +6 101 PMPS 131, +4 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Very Active Member
Previous

Been tracking his calorie intake and he is a little off his food. I am not sure if he is naseous as he does get the cerenia every morning. Maybe he needs to have something else.

I also noticed that I was dosing the cypro a 1/4 tab morning and night but the bottle has 1/2 tab at night on it. Something to discuss with our vet on Saturday. I know you shouldn't give the appy stim with the Cerenia but I only have a bit in the morning to get everything in and done before heading to work. This may be why he goes off his food every once in awhile. Stupid hooman! Read the instructions! I just have it in my head that they said 1/4 tab giving twice day. Can't find that in my notes either...stupid hooman. Discuss with vet and go from there.

I also been having a hard time keeping his numbers down with the higher carb food (high calorie). I jumped some small dose increases but realized if I stay on .5u for 6-8 cycles then I can see if he stabilizes. If he doesn't come down then an increase will happen this weekend to 0.75u. No use getting extra calories if he can't utilize them.

Can't wait to see our vet on Saturday and see what she sees and if she wants to change up the med regime and if a dental is in order or is something that is just not worth worrying about. My man will be 14 in July.

I received the new pro-biotic yesterday. Gave first dose last night and made up the next dose for DS to give when he gets home. @Wendy&Neko - just want to confirm that it is only 1/32 tsp (smidgen) each dose or is it supposed to be more?

Continued vines for Silver and Juliet.
 
And my AVJ just arrived! Can start the AVJ/SEB pill ball this weekend as well.

There is no icky poo at the moment but he acts like his tummy is bothering him. He as been howling to get out to the grass to eat. I purchased some organic wheatgrass for him - will pick it up on Saturday.

And I noticed his B12 had expired...so pick up a new bottle Saturday and will him another injection this weekend in case last weeks injection wasn't good.
 
higher carb food (high calorie)
Higher carbs do not equal higher calories. I noticed when I looked at the food chart, those with higher carbs are actually lower in calories than low carb foods. I was bummed because I thought if I got higher carb (more tasty) foods for my skinny civvie, it would help him, but I dropped it when I saw the numbers.

I hope you get it all figured out. Have you tried ondansetron yet? It can be given up to 3x a day as needed.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Higher carbs do not equal higher calories.
I hope you get it all figured out. Have you tried ondansetron yet? It can be given up to 3x a day as needed.

:bighug::bighug:

Carbs...I have kinda of figured that out. Like us I am sure a higher carb diet isn't good overall either. I have gone down in the carb % in an effort to get better numbers.

I haven't tried that but was hoping that to be a discussion with the vet.
 
just want to confirm that it is only 1/32 tsp (smidgen) each dose
I've also seen it referred to as a "pinch". :p Yes, 1/16 of a packet a day. I split that between AM and PM servings. It won't hurt if he gets a bit more.

As for cypro dosing, I think you have to experiment with it. I remember one member found that anything over a "crumb" turned her cat into a food monster.

Sending vines for a good vetty visit. :bighug:
 
He seems to like his probiotic chicken treat. Eats it right up. I have increased it to the pinch spoon for tonight's dose.

He is eating about enough calories for 4.75kg cat over the last 7-9 days...which is what he weighs. Now to find out what he should weigh with all the muscle loss etc.

Well off to work out tonight as momma bean needs to work out some stress.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top