5/4 Billie AMPS 234 +3 130 +5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello!!

Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-2-billie-pmps-298.137246/

I think I really threw Billie off by trying to take her off the ondansetron. She went from having a great appetite and doing really well to being very off.

She has been back on the ondansetron uninterrupted for a couple days and her appy picked up today, although she will only eat FF or H&G salmon. No diarrhea so far which is a good sign, since she usually has diarrhea with different food. But, it's odd. This is what happened when she first started having appy issues/nausea a couple months ago (although it was much worse then). When it was really bad initially, she wouldn't eat anything. Then, she would eat FF or lunch meat but refused her Instinct. Eventually, she was fine with her Instinct again. Maybe it's a food aversion thing.

So, she can have FF or whatever she wants for now. I am glad her appy is picking up at least. Could stopping the ondansetron really throw her off this much? @tiffmaxee in your experience, what has happened if you tried to stop it too soon with Max?

At least we have some green today! :D She ate maybe 70% of what I'd like to see her eat so far today. Not bad. I thought about reducing her dose the other day when her appy really went down, but I think she's back to eating enough now to hold it.

I called her regular vet and IM vet today just to update them/see if they think there's anything I should be doing that I'm not doing, and they should call me back tomorrow. I hope everyone is doing well. Sending vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines.
 
we go off and on with the ondansetron and I can't tell a thing about appetite. Mine refuses most of what I offer....
I think it's an aversion thing...

in fact, just recently I noticed that mine will dig in.... and then stop... like it's hurting her stomach.
 
Hi Deanna. When I stopped the ondansetron before he was ready, his appetite gradually decrease. It then can take a day or two to work again. I'm glad her appy is back to 70%. That is definitely enough food to avoid fatty liver disease. When cats eat even though nauseous they can develop food aversions to whatever tgey were eating. It often happens widen appetite stimulants are given to a nauseous cat. I think a diabetic cat who gets hungry when the BG is getting low might have a similar reaction. I'm glad you started the ondansetron right away. I hope she returns to normal soon.
 
Thank you, Rhiannon, Carla and Elise! Elise, thank you very much for the input. That is reassuring because I was wondering why Billie had been back on the ondansetron for a day or two but her appy was still off. It's good to know it can take a day or two to work again. She is doing better tonight so far. She ate a pretty good amount of dinner and went back to graze again once so far. She still doesn't seem 100% herself, but definitely improving. She only wants Fancy Feast, but that's fine. It must be a food aversion with the Instinct. She also hasn't wanted fortiflora, and that happened last time her appy was bad too.
 
I'm scared to death to take Minka off the Ondansetron. It's so easy to upset the balance. I'm glad you got Billie back on and she's starting to respond. If FF is all she'll eat, then that's what you must feed her. I hope she will soon broaden her tastes. Sending appy vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top