5/4 Harvey AMPS 195 +3 58 +3.5 65 +4.5 83 +7 106 PMPS 139 +2.5 93 +3.5 79 +4.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
5/3 Recap
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 90
AM+4.25: 64
AM+5: 54
AM+5.5: 52
AM+6: 59
AM+7.25: 91
PMPS: 195
PM+4: 80
PM+5: 79

PM+6: 88
PM+8.25: 117

Yesterday

Harvey sure has been spending a lot of time on duty in the lagoon lately. :D Guess he's trying to make up for all the time he's had off the past few months. He sure doesn't want to lose his position as a Deputy LagoonMeister! I'm really happy with these numbers, and I hate to do it, but I'm gonna have to drop his dose by .25 for the weekend, as he'll be at Dawn's. We're going to Reno for the bowling sweepers. I'm just not confident that she'll test enough to catch him if he decided to go shark hunting, so we'll drop the dose tomorrow night to get the depot draining. He'll be home Sunday night, and unless he's been doing really well on the reduced dose, he'll go back up to 1.25.

I thought it was weird packing for two cats last time we boarded. It's going to be really strange packing for just one. :( I hope Dawn has another cat boarding so he has company - not that he can see the other cats, but I hate to think of him all alone in the room. Here comes the guilt....:confused:

His appy was not great again this morning, but the Ondansetron and Cypro helped and he ate okay and got his numbers up enough that I felt safe leaving to run some errands in Sac. I missed t/f/s but DH gave him the rest of the FF I had been feeding him, and he ate most of that. When I got home I gave him some Ziwipeak lamb, and to my amazement he ate almost all of it (the serving, not the can)!!! Paw crossed he'll eat more. I only have one more can of it, and I bought it in Sac (figures - I was just there! :rolleyes:), but if he keeps eating this, I'll get some more tomorrow. I looked online and found a place in Benecia, about 20 minutes away, that stocks it (I'll call first to make sure they have the right flavors). I'm not going to get excited about it yet - I've had false alarms before with fd/ckd friendly foods, where he ate them once and then never again. I really, really want to get him off all the FF he's been eating before his kidney numbers skyrocket. I just need a little cooperation.

Well, DH is probably wondering if I'm going to feed him tonight, so I'd better make the salad and get the leftovers heating (love having leftovers available after I've been out all afternoon).

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :bighug: Extra healing vines to Sienne, as she recuperates at home.

Thank you to the LLEF for setting up the memorial fund for Paula. I'm sure she's smiling somewhere to see so many people want to help others in her name. :bighug::bighug::bighug:


 
Look at those awesome numbers for Harvey!!

I know you're bummed about having to reduce right as he's starting to really show progress, but as we all know, it's better to be safe than sorry.

Have you asked Dawn if she only has 1 or 2 cats to watch if she'd be able to test more often? I can see how when she had the whole crew where it might have been a little hard to do, but it seems like if she's only got Harvey or only Harvey and 1 other cat, maybe she'd be more able/willing to test more

OK Deputy Harvey....Head on back down to the lagoon!! LagoonMeister Rusty and I are already there and waiting for you!! Maybe we can try "trio-surfing"?? I get to ride on you boys' shoulders!
 
I hope he continues to like the ZP. It was LBGs favorite food. She loved the lamb the best. I always ordered it in bulk from Chewys.

I hope you all have a wonderful time this weekend.
 
Look at Harvey, playing in the green!!!! You go, little boy!

Hope you have a fun weekend!
 
Thanks for visiting us, Chris, Rhiannon, Marje and Suzi.

@Chris & China it appears that Harvey accepted China's invitation. :D

Even if Harvey is the only cat, Dawn will have at least 5 or six dogs and who know what else. She cares for ANY kind of animal - her business is called All Species Animal Care and she takes anything - birds, horses, reptiles, etc. She always has tons of animals there, so two or three fewer cats isn't going to make a lot of difference. I'm fine with reducing the dose. It'll be for such a short time, and if we keep him on this dose I get the feeling he'd be earning a reduction soon, anyway (anti-jinx). I'd rather not have to worry about him while we're gone. I want to be able to totally detach from reality for a while.

Harvey's appy is still so-so. He hasn't gone back for more of the Ziwipeak, so it may be a one and done. Ond and Cypro coming up in a few minutes.
 
Awesome day for Harvey. With those 50's, wise move to reduce for that short time away. Provided he doesn't force your move before the weekend.

ZP lamb - paws down here.:rolleyes:
 
What's the P content of the Ziwipeak, I think I can get that here, I keep trying to find more CKD/FD friendly foods for BFG, got a few, he's not fussy usually but some of the lower P ones I've found he is just not keen on, he'll only eat them if I mix them up with his regular, and even then I think he's not happy about it.

Nice surf from Harvey, hope he has some company at the Kitty hotel
 
@Gill & George It's on Dr. Lisa's list. The Lamb is 224, Venison is 338, Venison & Fish is 260 and Lamb & Rabbit is 280. Not ideal, but much better than FF.

Harvey has been very quiet tonight, just hanging behind me on the chair (hard on my back, hanging on the edge). He looks like something hurts, so I just gave him some Bupe. I hope it helps.
 
@Gill & George It's on Dr. Lisa's list. The Lamb is 224, Venison is 338, Venison & Fish is 260 and Lamb & Rabbit is 280. Not ideal, but much better than FF.
I'll take a look at the list, I haven't really studied that as most of the foods on there aren't available here. I've just looked on their NZ website from what I can work out from their typical analysis they P is 1.24% DM for the fish and venison, but maybe I am doing something wrong with the calc, I'll need to double check my workings out later today. Got some work to do in the garden/yard before it starts raining here in a couple of hours.

eta just looked at list, my calc is ok, I've been trying to keep below 1% and have a few that are below that at the moment, might get some of the lamb that's a bit lower at 1.18% to keep that as a back up if he starts refusing food at any point.
 
Last edited:
One of BFG's staples is thrive chicken breast, P is 0.8% DM typical analysis and according to their uk website they are available in the USA.
And he also gets the tuna and salmon occasionally.
It's a shredded chicken breast type food.
I've just emailed them to ask about US stockists.
https://thrivepetfoods.com
 
Hmmm. Never heard of them. Harvey wouldn't eat it, though. He doesn't like shredded. Strictly a pate man.
That's the problem. A lot of the lower Phosphorus foods are shredded.
 
I hope Harvey is feeling better by now, and as always we've got appy vines on the way. The hunt for LowPhos LC fuds is beyond frustrating....I gave it up years ago since Trix didn't like any of the options. I don't understand why there aren't more kidney-friendly options when CKD is such a hugely common problem!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top