5/7 Silver AMPS 76 PMPS 349 +4=349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...178-7-254-pmps-180-4-209.195176/#post-2184620

Ok so that's a little scary. Couldn't he have give me a green preshot before the dose increase and st the weekend. I gave full dose as I'm hoping he does his usual and rises 100 points for the curve. Worrying if he gives me a green preshot at PMPS as he is going lower at night.

Maybe I shouldn't have increased back to 5.25 but that was due to the all yellows during the day over the weekend. Not sure I want to decrease back down as we need a stable depot.
 
A lot of the time when you shoot a green number, the cat surfs and doesn't drop like with a higher number. Of course Silver does his own thing, so he may go up.
 
A lot of the time when you shoot a green number, the cat surfs and doesn't drop like with a higher number. Of course Silver does his own thing, so he may go up.
I've already left. I meant to leave food out but was rushing this morning. He went up two days ago on a green preshot. As he's a late nadir cat I guess I'm going to have to get used to shooting green.

Leaving food out is not ideal as I do not like shutting him in my bedroom all day. They both hate it. A necessity only when he was sick.
 
Happy belated 12th birthday, Silver (and was it your birthday, too, Juliet?).
Hope Silver has a good day today. And that you have a nice calm Monday at work!
BCB9ED62-2A37-4443-80FB-D0E0881799CA.gif
 
Gonna see what tonight shows me. Nervous to drop after all the messing around with his dose lately. Back to 5u? I think it was likely the 5u that gave me the green today. Too soon for the 5.25 to have kicked in?
He is 12 days post dental -
If antibiotics are finished, ketones are still negative, appetite is normal and all Ps are in place, imho it’s time to return to following the SLGS guidelines of taking an immediate reduction if BG falls below 90 - particularly since he does not have access to food while you’re away.
 
He is 12 days post dental -
If antibiotics are finished, ketones are still negative, appetite is normal and all Ps are in place, imho it’s time to return to following the SLGS guidelines of taking an immediate reduction if BG falls below 90 - particularly since he does not have access to food while you’re away.
12 days post dental not 12 days post DKA. Only on day four of 14 days of AB. Per my signature I don't drop dose at single occurrence below 90 as he doesn't hold reductions well and is a long term diabetic. Will decide what to do tonight.
 
Silver is doing so well now with good numbers and no ketones. Do I need to continue with fluids? I've given him four 100ml doses past four days and there's 600ml left.

And if not - how long are the fluids good for and if not using right away would I store it in the fridge?
 
Last edited:
I wish I could help, Juliet, but I have experience with this. Have you tried pinching up his scruff to see if it rebounds quickly? Compare his rate to Sasha's? Try touching his gums to see if they feel tacky - a sign of dehydration.
He wasn't given the fluids because of dehydration.
 
I don’t know if it was based on ketones. Maybe @Sandy and Black Kitty would know. You could always ask the vet too. I wouldn’t want to give fluids unnecessarily but if that’s what was keeping things down while you figure out a safe working dose, it may be a good idea to continue for a bit too. I just don’t know.
 
I don’t know if it was based on ketones. Maybe @Sandy and Black Kitty would know. You could always ask the vet too. I wouldn’t want to give fluids unnecessarily but if that’s what was keeping things down while you figure out a safe working dose, it may be a good idea to continue for a bit too. I just don’t know.
No it wasn't based on ketones it was low potassium. I will think about it and decide tonight if I will continue. The vet wants me to bring him back in for more blood tests but I am not going to - a) Silver and I both need a vet break and b) I've taken too many risks with time off work and sick days already with vet visits. Can't do anymore.
 
Silver is doing so well now with goodnumbers and no ketones. Do I need to continue with fluids? I've given him four 100ml doses past four days and there's 600ml left.

And if not - how long are the fluids good for and if not using right away would I store it in the fridge?
FWIW, I only gave Alex sub-q fluids when actively throwing ketones. On occasion, I'd give her small amounts of fluids if she was dehydrated.

As far as how long is an opened bag of fluids good for.... there's been much discussion on this subject. My vet said a maximum of 30 days at room temperature as long as the fluid remains clear. If it looks cloudy or if you can see any particles in it... toss the bag. I stored an open bag by hanging it inside a closet with a pillowcase draped over it. This is the only documentation I have to back up his instructions: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3189676/

However, Tanya's web site says "Once you have opened a bag of fluids, you should ideally not use it for longer than ten days.": https://www.felinecrf.org/subcutaneous_fluids_tips.htm#fluid_storage_lifespan.

Hope this helps...

 
FWIW, I only gave Alex sub-q fluids when actively throwing ketones. On occasion, I'd give her small amounts of fluids if she was dehydrated.

As far as how long is an opened bag of fluids good for.... there's been much discussion on this subject. My vet said a maximum of 30 days at room temperature as long as the fluid remains clear. If it looks cloudy or if you can see any particles in it... toss the bag. I stored an open bag by hanging it inside a closet with a pillowcase draped over it. This is the only documentation I have to back up his instructions: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3189676/

However, Tanya's web site says "Once you have opened a bag of fluids, you should ideally not use it for longer than ten days.": https://www.felinecrf.org/subcutaneous_fluids_tips.htm#fluid_storage_lifespan.

Hope this helps...
Thanks. Vet said the reason he was on the fluids was due to low potassium. I'm guessing that was caused by his lack of eating?

Who is Tanya?
 
DKA messes with electrolyte levels (potassium, sodium, chloride, magnesium, calcium, phosphorus). Potassium is an electrolyte that is most affected by DKA...
 
Who is Tanya?

Tanya is a cat,
From the felinecrf.org site
My name is Helen. I have had three cats with CKD, Tanya, Thomas and Ollie (their photos are above). I created this website because I know first hand the shock and fear of the diagnosis, and how helpless it can make you feel, and I wanted to give people the detailed, practical information which would have helped me the first time I received the CKD diagnosis.
 
DKA messes with electrolyte levels (potassium, sodium, chloride, magnesium, calcium, phosphorus). Potassium is an electrolyte that is most affected by DKA...
Oh ok. So if no more ketones and no more DKA then I should be good to stop the fluids. Vet wants me to finish the bag but I don't want to give fluids unnecessarily as strain on heart right?
 
Tanya is a cat,
From the felinecrf.org site
My name is Helen. I have had three cats with CKD, Tanya, Thomas and Ollie (their photos are above). I created this website because I know first hand the shock and fear of the diagnosis, and how helpless it can make you feel, and I wanted to give people the detailed, practical information which would have helped me the first time I received the CKD diagnosis.
Thanks. And what is CKD?
 
Oh ok. So if no more ketones and no more DKA then I should be good to stop the fluids. Vet wants me to finish the bag but I don't want to give fluids unnecessarily as strain on heart right?
I think your best bet is to call the vet who told you to finish the bag and ask. He/she may have reasons I may not be aware of for finishing the bag.
 
I think your best bet is to call the vet who told you to finish the bag and ask. He/she may have reasons I may not be aware of for finishing the bag.
I did. He said to keep going until Friday when he wants to see him again to redo blood tests to see if potassium came up. But I can't. I've taken too much time off work and can't do anymore without risking my job. They are already upset at me leaving early and taking personal days.
 
I did. He said to keep going until Friday when he wants to see him again to redo blood tests to see if potassium came up. But I can't. I've taken too much time off work and can't do anymore without risking my job. They are already upset at me leaving early and taking personal days.
Well, it sounds to me like your vet wants you to finish the bag for a reason... to see if the potassium came up. He must think the extra time on fluids is worth it. So finish the bag or make the decision to go against his instructions. Administering fluids is a problem if kitty has heart problems.

As far as getting in to have his potassium levels checked... see if there's some way of working it out on Saturday. All you need is someone to do the blood draw...
 
He went up two days ago on a green preshot. As he's a late nadir cat I guess I'm going to have to get used to shooting green.
But, don't count on him always being a late nadir cat. Some food left is always going to be ideal when he is in a green number. The overweight civvie is not going to be in as much danger eating some of Silver's food as Silver will be without it. IMHO.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top