6/1/2018 Thomas AMPS 54, +15mins 61, +30mins 77, +45 108, +2 128, +3 139, +5 202, +8 356

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Cats

Member
Hi Everyone,

AMPS this mornnng was 65, lowest we've ever seen. I rechecked it was 54. He's acting completely normal. Do I feed high carb food or regular? I haven't given any insulin this morning

Previous
 
Last edited:
You have a couple of options. You can either skip the shot if Thomas if he isn't coming up. Or you can do a BCS (big chicken shot). A half dose if you can monitor.

Thomas eating ok?
 
Sure, I can do that. He's starving right now, even started drinking water which he never does anymore.

Would I still only give a half shot if he continues coming up?
 
I would like to see him above 68 which is the take action number on a pet meter. He is cutting that pretty close.

I would expect him to bounce from this low....but how much and how fast is a question.

I am going to see if some more experienced people are to help.
 
Ok...he is going up.

Too options....skip or give BCS.

I am not an expert except with my kitty.

If you can monitor closely...I would do a BCS. He is on a high dose and I would expect him to bounce.

If this was my kitty I would do a half dose.

I have to head to work...I will watch your thread.

Please feed poor starving Thomas.
 
For what it's worth (with my whopping week of glargine experience, haha), I would check a +2 as well. Hugs to both you and Thomas for a safe day today! :bighug:
 
Had to catch up. Didn't get the tag. When you got the 65, did you retest immediately to make sure it wasn't a bad strip?

So where is kitty at? I see glucose is rising. Is it with or without food?
 
Green on a high dose kitty is no different than a little sipper. The only difference is that you want to give the larger depot some respect. That means taking reductions when earned and at least until you get a better idea how Thomas handles these kinds of numbers, a BCS can help drain an overfull depot. Thomas did earn a reduction today. I usually suggest people take a half to 2/3 reduction after that in the beginning, for one cycle only, until you see how Thomas handles lower numbers. With a larger depot that is too big, you can be stuck for hours fighting low numbers.

Delaying like you did to see where he was going is also a good idea when you first start to see greens. It'll give you good data. When you shoot your lowest numbers to date, a +1 and a +2 are a good idea. They tell you what sort of food spike he normally gets and gives you a heads up how the cycle might go.

Congrats on the first green. :D Too bad it had to by so dramatic. Typical cat!
 
Sara tested 5 times before shooting this morning.

8:23AM 65(3.0) - are you sure this world # is correct? It should be 3.6 if it was 65 in US #'s.

8:25am 54(3.0)

8:40am 61(3.4)

8:55am 77(4.3)

9:10am 108(6.0)

Sara, you may want to put that information in the spreadsheet, so people can see the extra testing easily. In the AMPS cell put PS-3.0, + 15 -3.0, +15 4.3, +15 108 (6.0). You can then just color code the cell. You will have to do the same on the US sheet - manually input and color code.


As you delayed this morning, you will need to delay this evening shot as well and work your way back to your normal dose time. You can move it up 15/30 mins tonight and then do the remaining difference tomorrow morning to get back on track!
 
Last edited:
Had to catch up. Didn't get the tag. When you got the 65, did you retest immediately to make sure it wasn't a bad strip?
When I tested this AM I got 65, couldn't believe my eyes, retested and got 54.

Thomas did earn a reduction today. I usually suggest people take a half to 2/3 reduction after that in the beginning, for one cycle only, until you see how Thomas handles lower numbers.

I am having trouble understanding what the dose would be after the reduction. 11.5units tonight? Thomas came to cuddle 2 hours earlier overnight than he normally does. I had a feeling he was in good numbers at that time. I wish I would have tested.

Sara, you may want to put that information in the spreadsheet, so people can see the extra testing easily.

I will not be near a computer for a couple days so I'm doing everything on my phone. I'll see what I can do with the spreadsheet and then correct it when I'm near a computer. I haven't figured out how to color code it on a phone. I just end up changing the color of the writing.

@Tracey&Jones @Wendy&Neko @Olive & Paula AMPS +2 128(7.1)
When should I test again?
 
I think things are good and you don't need to test until regular shot time. Let the ears have a break. I imagine there will be quite a bounce from this.
 
If you are interested in gathering data, you could always test in a few hours.

Nice to see Thomas surfing. :cool:
 
The bounce has begun, 356 at +8. I'm guessing it will go higher before shot time.
I wish Thomas would surf everyday, he can stay away from the bright greens though, would love to see blue and dark greens more often.

Just to be clear, the plan is to shoot 11.5 units tonight?
 
Theoretically you go down the same amount you went up (1.0 units) but since 11 units wasn't enough, you could try 11.5. I say that knowing that you are good at getting those tests in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top