? 6/10 Simmy AMPS 55; SKIPPED; +.5=82; +1=77; +3=102; +6=158; +9=226

Meesta Simmy

Member Since 2019
YESTERDAY

Hi, all — Simmy had his third consecutive Green AMPS this morning and it's the lowest one ever at 55. He was very hungry and screamed at me until I got out of bed. It was the most awful sound! I've fed him 2.25 ounces of food and he's quieted down and mostly satisfied...

He's been on TIGHT REGULATION and 1.5 units for 5 days and it's been really good for him, but I do not feel comfortable giving him the 1.5 units. Although, I did give him 1.5 units at his 63 PMPS. His last test prior to his AMPS was 93...

What should I do about his shot?

Could he have been hypo when he was asleep until this morning?

Is this the day for a shot reduction?

Please help, thanks!

:nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

* Update *

+.5=82 (after eating 2.25 ounces of food)
+1=77 (a decrease?!)
 
Last edited:
He will bounce back from today in no time. He is doing very well. I wouldn't be surprised though to see some low blues with that skipped shot. Don't panic.

I love all that green compared to the pink and red!

What should I do about his PM shot tonight? Give the 1.5 units? Surely he will be in the blues or high greens... maybe even yellow?
 
+9 = 226

I thought it'd be higher now with no insulin — is this the depot working?

Also, in terms of this morning, how should it have played out? Should I have given him the 1.5 units if I had stalled and tested and saw that his BS stayed the same or moved? What would have been the range to shoot here?
 
is this the depot working?
Yes.

ow should it have played out?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

You stall for 20 mins, don't feed and test again to see if he is going up on his own. That tells you that the insulin is wearing off and it is probably safe to shoot if it not too low!!! I think in the beginning of June there was a stall - took us about an hour to see if we had a shootable number.

The other thing is with Lantus is the onset (when the insulin starts working) is about +2/+3 - so you are kind of shooting for that number. That is why it is important to know is kitty rising or are they still dropping. And you did great by posting.

Stall, Don't Feed, Post looking for assistance with "Stalling" in your thread title and the ?. I am in the west, but there is a lot of eastern's here that can answer.

The link that Carla provided has provided some great information on how to shoot those low numbers.

It is almost counter-intuitive - you shoot low to stay low on Lantus.

It may take a cycle or two to get his numbers back down.
 
258 PMPS
 

Attachments

  • 5766FCBF-5D14-4A89-8514-7A407954EB8A.jpeg
    5766FCBF-5D14-4A89-8514-7A407954EB8A.jpeg
    27.3 KB · Views: 63
Back
Top