6/10 TiTi PMPS 105 +1 93 AMPS 238, +2 230, +6 196 , +9 157, PMPS 148, +1 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-111-10-89-pmps-105-1-93.159237/#post-1698410


?????????
NS last night. Big jump today AMPS 238 from early morning +1 93

I could not shoot to a 93 without staying up half the night to all the night monitoring her; I just couldn't.

I had 9 hours of sleep, good thing, because my brain is working again.

TiTI ate like a champ this morning after her 13 units shot.

I'm hoping this won't be a day of bounces, because I have to shop and work.

ok. +2 230

+6 196

I like the color blue much better. :)
 
Last edited:
Not bad for a skipped shot and glad you got some rest. Have to take care of yourself to take care of Titi. Hope she surfs safely and comes down a bit for you.
 
Morning Kathy

Here is yesterdays post

Hope today is a steady one for you, totally understandable skipping last night, that AMPS is not bad at all.:)

Thanks for the reminder, I added the url

I guess it's ok. I though I was ok with shooting since I had a day of flat numbers, but 2 experienced helpers said it was still tricky, because of TiTI's high depot, and the very recent change in her shot units. I opted for sleep, and a rest for TiTI's ears.

If they aren't too expensive, I'm going for a Walmart's Relion meter today. I hate piercing TiTI's ears twice to get enough blood for the greedy Contour Next. Relion has a "3" need drop of blood as does the AT2, while Contour Next wants a "6"

It's weird , but I'm still tired. I think I could sleep another 12 hours with no problem. That might be the shingles , too. I'm almost over it, but the pain med, gabapentin, is somewhat soporific.

It was so nice to see TiTi in blue and green yesterday. I hope we return there soon.
 
Thanks for the reminder, I added the url

I guess it's ok. I though I was ok with shooting since I had a day of flat numbers, but 2 experienced helpers said it was still tricky, because of TiTI's high depot, and the very recent change in her shot units. I opted for sleep, and a rest for TiTI's ears.

If they aren't too expensive, I'm going for a Walmart's Relion meter today. I hate piercing TiTI's ears twice to get enough blood for the greedy Contour Next. Relion has a "3" need drop of blood as does the AT2, while Contour Next wants a "6"

It's weird , but I'm still tired. I think I could sleep another 12 hours with no problem. That might be the shingles , too. I'm almost over it, but the pain med, gabapentin, is somewhat soporific.

It was so nice to see TiTi in blue and green yesterday. I hope we return there soon.


What protocol should I use for testing TiTi today?

I need to go shopping, and finish some work-at-home-job chores to finish my qualifications for my new job. So, I want to work around the test times.
 
What protocol should I use for testing TiTi today?

I need to go shopping, and finish some work-at-home-job chores to finish my qualifications for my new job. So, I want to work around the test times.

I fell asleep again. So much for shopping till after work.

TiTI's tests are looking good. She' even went 34 points lower at +6.

I'm following the protocol I used on 6/8, but I'm wondering if it might be good to test at +9 instead opf +10, since on 6/7, I hit a low. Be in teresting to see what happens.

What do y'all think?
 
She is doing quite nicely today considering the needed skipped shot last night. You're doing good with the testing. Only because she dropped pretty good from +2-+6 I'd probably get 1 more test in around +9 or +10. I personally test more when Doodles is lower but when in the higher range every 3-4 hours is usually good. You'll get more comfortable with when to test Titi as time goes on and you continue to learn her patterns.
 
She is doing quite nicely today considering the needed skipped shot last night. You're doing good with the testing. Only because she dropped pretty good from +2-+6 I'd probably get 1 more test in around +9 or +10. I personally test more when Doodles is lower but when in the higher range every 3-4 hours is usually good. You'll get more comfortable with when to test Titi as time goes on and you continue to learn her patterns.

Thanks. I am also pleasantly surprised. Testing again at
+9
PMPS
+1
+4
 
Aha. +9
She is sure recovering quickly from the skipped shots! Looks like she's headed back into great numbers already.


YES! back to 148 f0or PMPS, no bouncing, no fast downs or ups.

You guys were really helpful. Cleared up my questions. I do not care to picture the night and day I might have had if I had shot anything at all.

As it was I slept 9 hours, the a 2 hour nap. I was way too trashed to monitor.

Was glad to see muffin made it.
 
Did you shoot already? Some of us were thinking maybe a small reduction since she recovered so well from that skip.
 
Wendy, Sandy & I were just talking - she is making a really fast recovery from the skipped shot again.

We're all thinking you might want to drop to 11u with her next shot. Our thinking is that this dose seems like it might be a little bit high. With an interruption, like a skipped shot, it would usually take longer for a cat to get back to normal numbers. Having her get "back to business" so quickly suggests that she might need a little less.

With the depot, each shot sort of builds upon the last one. The way she is responding to the skipped shot, both this time and after the last skipped shot, suggests that as you continue shooting the same dose, and they keep building on the last one, she may end up in lower numbers.

I'm not sure how to explain that better, but know you like to understand the reasoning. Maybe Sandy & Wendy can add some thoughts to it.
 
Wendy, Sandy & I were just talking - she is making a really fast recovery from the skipped shot again.

We're all thinking you might want to drop to 11u with her next shot. Our thinking is that this dose seems like it might be a little bit high. With an interruption, like a skipped shot, it would usually take longer for a cat to get back to normal numbers. Having her get "back to business" so quickly suggests that she might need a little less.

With the depot, each shot sort of builds upon the last one. The way she is responding to the skipped shot, both this time and after the last skipped shot, suggests that as you continue shooting the same dose, and they keep building on the last one, she may end up in lower numbers.

I'm not sure how to explain that better, but know you like to understand the reasoning. Maybe Sandy & Wendy can add some thoughts to it.
\

oh dangit. I just shot 13 U.

I've been suspicious myself, because of yesterday's numbers.

And you explained it perfectly well. This is the 4th time it's been explained, I've read up on it in the stickies, and a vets from UK whose been doing research , and I've been seeing the depot in action, so that also helps.
I test again at +3. Sure do hope I don't see a precipitous drop.
 
Julie explained it well. Removing dry food can have quite the change and since we didn't see higher numbers with the skip, it could mean she needs a smaller dose. But maybe not. Cats aren't always predictable. Good plan on the +3. How many strips do you have left?
 
There may not be a problem in this cycle. It's hard to say, but you should watch her numbers tonight. Which of course you are already doing. :)

And since you have a heads-up about the situation, you are prepared. What's that saying? "Forewarned is forearmed?"
 
Nice to see some lower numbers! WTG TiTi! :cat:

Have you had a chance to check her ketones with the Nova Max Plus?
 
Hi there :cool:

YES! back to 148 f0or PMPS, no bouncing, no fast downs or ups.
TiTi appears to have turned a corner .
With an interruption, like a skipped shot, it would usually take longer for a cat to get back to normal numbers. Having her get "back to business" so quickly suggests that she might need a little less.

With the depot, each shot sort of builds upon the last one. The way she is responding to the skipped shot, both this time and after the last skipped shot, suggests that as you continue shooting the same dose, and they keep building on the last one, she may end up in lower numbers.
I could not have said it better.

Like Wendys Neko and Julies Punkin, my Black Kitty was high dose and with high doses comes high drama.

When a high dose kitty starts down the dosing ladder, there is huge potential for downward momentum to build and get ahead of you very rapidly. Trying to get ahead of the downward pressure like trying to rein in wild horses that are going downhill.
A caregiver risks getting really strung out.

I've had shingles twice; each time following a period of prolonged stress and both times on the trigeminal nerve.
I know you don't want a visit from shingles twice.

:cool:
 
Hi there :cool:

TiTi appears to have turned a corner .
I could not have said it better.

Like Wendys Neko and Julies Punkin, my Black Kitty was high dose and with high doses comes high drama.

When a high dose kitty starts down the dosing ladder, there is huge potential for downward momentum to build and get ahead of you very rapidly. Trying to get ahead of the downward pressure like trying to rein in wild horses that are going downhill.
A caregiver risks getting really strung out.

I've had shingles twice; each time following a period of prolonged stress and both times on the trigeminal nerve.
I know you don't want a visit from shingles twice.

:cool:

yes, well, I hope someone's up, because I missed this post. I was working (money you know), then a new emergency with another cat, Mikey,and then, too late, I got this messge.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top