? 6/10 Vyktor AMPS 133 / Purrdy AMPS 288 +2.5 211 - Vet update and dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Vyktor
AMPS 162 +3 49 (1/3) :D:D +3.75 58 :D +4.5 83 :D +5.25 77 :D +9 94 :D
PMPS 137 +2 117 :cool: +4 126 +6.5 83 :D +9 79 :D

Vyktor you could really help me out by picking a nadir and sticking to it! If you can't manage that how about at least sticking to early or late...

Purrdy - SS
AMPS 266 +3 185 +8 211
PMPS 241 +3 225 +4.5 234

Purrdy is looking down the barrel of another increase tonight after 6 cycles at 6.5u, we've only had one pink at this dose but we still haven't seen any normal numbers. He's been mostly yellow with just a couple of high blues.

He is off to the vet this afternoon. While he was here I found a little flat black mole type thing in the shooting zone. Mum found it again yesterday and it has grown. Mum also thinks his body shape has changed. I noted his odd body shape when he was here - by the feeling of the bones test his weight is fine but if you look down at him his middle sticks out (he doesn't look pot bellied but from the top view he sticks out at the waist instead of coming in), mum thinks his middle is sticking out more now. If you could send a little of that magical LL love Purrdy's way it would be most appreciated.
 
Lots of healing light and vines for Purrdy, as for being predictable it is a cats job to be unpredictable why do you think they are the hand maidens/lords of gremlins???
 
Piling on more vines for Purrdy. :bighug::bighug: for you and Mum.

Be good Vyktor, bean is distracted today.
 
Sorry for lack of visiting today I am just wiped out.

Thank you all for the LL love it seems to have worked its magic again :) Mum got her money's worth today and spent about an hour with the vet, a bit too long for her to remember everything so some of it's a little hazy but the most important thing - the growth. Apparently it isn't deep enough to biopsy but the vet doesn't think it looks sinister. I was so happy to hear that I was fairly convinced it was going to be melanoma, turns out so was mum but neither of us had said that to the other. They measured it up and just want to keep an eye on it.

They think he may have a bacterial skin infection so took some samples to culture and gave him a convenia injection (he's had convenia before without problems so that should be fine). The also took bloods for a panel and thyroid - probably should have got them to test for growth hormones while they were there but mum didn't think of it at the time - we should get the panel results tomorrow. They did mention that they only worry about insulin resistance once a kitty goes past 10 units so that's probably why they didn't think to suggest it. They said they were very happy with mum's testing so they didn't want a curve and thought she (we :)) are managing his diabetes well. They gave her some notes from a diabetes conference they attended recently which she will forward to me tomorrow - it will be interesting to see those.

They didn't say much about his body shape except that it might be to accommodate his bladder. Mum's not sure if they were just being funny but maybe that does make sense. Mum measured his water intake yesterday - 750ml. @rhiannon and shadow (GA) - he looks a bit like the overweight kitty from the top view (but not quite that shape) but from the side view he looks 'ideal'.

They are baffled by his missing fur patches, apparently some of his fur is spiked on the end as is expected but some is blunt which can indicate over grooming but mum has seen no evidence of over grooming. I guess maybe he could go crazy grooming in the middle of the night with no one to see but that seems unlikely - doesn't it?

He was due for an increase to 7u tonight but mum had enough on her mind today so I left it. The vet said to be cautious in case the AB makes a big difference to the numbers. I am still inclined to increase tomorrow because if his spotty skin is an infection he's had it for an awfully long time, including while he was here running green. I think as long mum keeps on top of the testing it will be okay and we really need to get in front of these numbers @Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) what do you think?
 
More vines for Purrdy. I hope the vet can get it all figured out. Hang in there!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty

P.s.to Vyktor, Rusty would like you to bring the gum hootch to the party for Martian tonight!
 
Sorry I missed yesterday. What a relief! I hope the AB helps w/ the skin issues. Tess has several little bumps like that . Vet said sebaceous cysts and like yours to just keep an eye on them. Paws crossed for the blood work.
 
What a wild ride for Purrdy! Glad things seems on the up and up though. Lots of vines and purrs that all test results come back with good news. Anti-jinxes! :bighug:

Looks to me like Vyktor has the same types of nadirs of Miss Meows, only backwards. Later nadirs between +5 and +10 during the day, earlier nadirs between +3 and +6 at night. Even that's not set in stone though :rolleyes:
 
I'm happy to hear the vet didn't think the skin growth was sinister.:)

He was due for an increase to 7u tonight but mum had enough on her mind today so I left it. The vet said to be cautious in case the AB makes a big difference to the numbers. I am still inclined to increase tomorrow because if his spotty skin is an infection he's had it for an awfully long time, including while he was here running green. I think as long mum keeps on top of the testing it will be okay and we really need to get in front of these numbers @Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) what do you think?
If Purrdy was seeing greens I might be more cautious, but as long as your mum can keep testing like she does, I think you should be fine with an increase. BTW, Neko never got to 10 units, neither has Tennessee, both tested positive for acro. Neko's vet also thought we should wait to 10 units. I've seen a recent paper that says to test for acromegaly if unregulated at anything over 5 units, though we say 6 here. I have seen a few kitties with other things going on that got them over 5 but not to 6. Lu-Ann refers to the acro pot belly as "saddlebags", seems a better description to me.
 
What a couple of stress days. Vyktor, we really like those greens, but how 'bout finding some rhythm to your numbers. A steady rhythm. This moving target nadir is a little tough on the bean.

Lots and lots of vines for Purrdy. So glad the "mole" turned out to be only something worth watching. My Patch had a few of those. Also just labeled cyst type things by our vet.

Polly got up to 10.5 U (and then down to 10 U) before her SRT. Tested at 7U. Heeding advice from here, I really wanted to keep ahead of her numbers and tried to keep her low yellows to mid blues. Lower would have been nice, but I worked at those benchmarks mostly. She was pretty much mid to low blue when we went to Colorado for the radiation.

Polly also had a football shape. I used to call her my wide body girl. I'd look down at her and it looked like she had swallowed a football, narrower on the ends, fatter in the middle. But very firm, tight like a drum.

Lots of vines for Purrdy and you and your mum.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Punkin didn't have a tight middle, he was flabby, but he'd been 17lbs at his highest and mostly was about 13ish lbs while diabetic. I wonder at all of the skin comments though - the other high dose condition is Cushing's, which involves the skin. Doesn't sound exactly like this, but I'd file it away as something to keep in mind.

As far as his dose, I'm coming in late tonight and see you increased. I would've agreed with Wendy anyway - it looks to me like he needs more insulin. I'm so glad that the growth appears to be nothing important. *whew*

Vyktor seems to like this dose. What a nice day for him!!

Sending you a big hug, Serryn, sounds like things have been rough lately. :bighug:
 
Sending a ton of healing vines for Purrdy.
Vyktor surf safe for your Mum.
:bighug::bighug::bighug: hugs for all.
 
Sorry I missed yesterday's condo. About the HC fuds: If it's FF grilled chicken in gravy, it's 13% according to Dr. Lisa's list. So MC. But whatever works.

How frustrating about the lack of an acro test. I don't know a lot about it, but from what I've read on your condo, sure sounds likely to me.

I love that your Mum's vet is on board with your management of the FD. Wish we had more like that here. Will you share the info they gave her with us? Pretty please?

Sending healing vines for Purrdy and atta boys for Vyktor. Nose wiggles to Meg and :bighug: for the bean.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top