6/11 Lucy PMPS=110, +2=113

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by mariko, Jun 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Good morning!

    Yesterday's

    Lucy is feeling very good since last night, and her appetite this morning was great!
    She seems to feel better when she is in blue numbers than green.
    Marje told me in my previous condo that happens when their bodies are not yet used to lower numbers.
    I hope she will be as happy when she is in green soon!!

    I am coming to realize.....
    OH MY GAWWWWDDD!
    These testing strips are costing me a FORTUNE :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  2. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Hi guys .. Nice number this morning lucy! And yes, in time when those greens start rolling in more often lucy will feel even better then she does now :mrgreen: Those testing strips do cost quite a bit but they are so important to have around! Have a great day!
     
  3. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Thank you for visiting!
    Sooo nice Mocha is OTJ now!
     
  4. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Now you know why we recommend the Relion meters if you are in the USA. It's the cost of the test strips that will make the biggest dent in your budget.

    Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro, test strips $0.36 each
    Walmart Relion Prime, test strips $0.18 each
    One Touch Ultra Mini, test strips, $1.05 each (best price I could find with a quick search)

    Shop around online. They may have a better price than your local stores. Here are a few I found for the one touch ultra

    ADW 100/$149.99 (pricey)
    Walmart.com 100/$116.96
    Health Warehouse 100/$105
    Sometimes sellers on Ebay have good prices. Watch the expiration dates.
     
  5. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Ah! Deb!! My very first rescuer/mentor at the FDMB.
    Thank you for visiting again!

    Thank you for the information about the test strip.
    I live in Canada so I can't get Relion, it's very unfortunate...
    At the local Costco, I can but a box of 100 strips at about CAD$75, so it's much better than the online stores you mentioned, but still twice as much as Relion....

    And, the only 1/2 unit marking syringes I can find in Canada cost about CAD$45 per box of 100.
    I wonder if AWD ships to Canada......
     
  6. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    ouch on your strips....
    I feel gouged paying 41 cents each.
    The nice thing is they practically give the meter away so if you don't have a back up meter yet..... go price compare and pick the one with the
    cheapest strips.
    I just like my meters ( both have expensive strips) and now we don't use so many any more.
    I buy the strips on ebay.....otherwise I'd be paying 50 cents or more /strip.
    There are many deals on ebay where they will include the meter.
     
  7. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Thank you, Rhiannon.
    I've never bought anything on eBay before, but I'll try!

    I was thinking about changing to Accu-Check.
    Maybe I'll get one as a back-up, and see which one I like more....
     
  8. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    I have the accu-chek and the Bayer contour next. The lowest strips I have found are on ebay for either one.... and it's 40-41 cents.
     
  9. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Hi Mariko, I know how expensive the strips can get for us. I as a newbie used th Alpha Trak until it was just too pricey, so I switched to the Relion Confirm. You've gotten lots of good feedback above.
    I had a chance to look at Lucky's profile, and those are some beautiful pics of her. I saw where she has acupuncture weekly. Would that be for arthritis, by any chance. One of Maggie's Vets takes his kitty for acupuncture for arthritis and said it greatly helps. Have a great day.
     
  10. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Oh, I so hear ya on those test strips. I used to use the same meter you're currently using, and it was quickly driving us into the poor house. One day early on and we were still gathering a TON of data, Trix dropped to her lowest number very quickly, and I went through 20 strips - just in one day! I've switched meters twice, and I've settled on this one...I like it, it's reliable, and the strips are cheap. But, it is ADW, so I'm not sure if you'll have shipping issues or not:

    Arkray Vital Meter

    Arkray Vital Test Strips - 250 Strips for $45

    I think this meter and it's strips is compatible with one of the Walmart meters, but I can't remember for sure on that.

    Great report on Lucy this morning!!
     
  11. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    Ann, I will reply to you post about acupuncture later today, but right now I need an immediate advice!!!

    Lucy dropped to 76 at +2, and I need to go to work today.
    I can leave some food, but I really doubt that she'll eat it.
    I have another cat, who might get to it before Lucy.
    I bought a timed feeder, but waiting for a delivery, even with it, I seriously doubt she'll eat it as she is a hand-fed cat.

    I can leave work early and come back in 4 hours or so.
    By looking at how she did on Sunday in her SS, do you think it would be OK for me to leave home for 4 hrs?
     
  12. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    I know this is not a dangerous number, but I wanted to catch some attention for advice. Sorry!
     
  13. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    It's a pretty big drop in a short amount of time. It actually looks to me like Lucy is angling for a dose reduction. You can give her a mess of HC food to bump up her numbers and essentially abort the cycle. If there's a way to separate your kitties so your other cat doesn't eat Lucy's food, you can always leave food out, as well. I would definitely encourage you to make sure her numbers are stable (i.e., not dropping) before you leave and to check back if you can. I'd try to get a test at +2.5 to see where things are heading.
     
  14. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149

    But Vancouver isn't that far for a shopping trip down to the states. ;-)

    Venita switched all the DCIN (Diabetic Cats in Need) clients to the Arkray meters. Here is the equivalency of the WM and Arkray meters.

    And if you use the link at the top of the screen to go to ADW to buy the strips, this website gets a little bit of money to keep it going. Any shopping through Amazon or at Walmart, I use the link whenever I can. Every little bit of money will help this website to keep going. We have fundraisers too.

    Not sure if they ship to Canada.
     
  15. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    I probably would give some high carb food to Lucy just before I left and feed the other cat. Then I would leave out food too, more than enough. I can't remember but am thinking that you can't separate the cats?
    Liz
     
  16. mtncat58

    mtncat58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    If you test a lot Relion Meters the cheapest.I have confirm and Contour back up for Lucky,Lot's to think about when looking for meters good luck.
    Linda
     
  17. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    Thank you for your quick reply.
    OK, I fed her 1tsp of LC immediately after +2, so I will wait another 10 min. before feeding HC and test her at +2.5, and then test feed her HC.

    I'll also call the office and tell them I'll be later.
    I'll stay until the number stables and get your OK.
    Work is not nearly as important as Lucy's safety, but I wanted to go if it's not dangerous.

    Separating them in other rooms and limiting where they can go freaks them out.
    I don't want to stress Lucy....
    Will be back in 7 min...
     
  18. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    Ok, that sounds good. I'll wait for your number.
    Liz
     
  19. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76

    Oh GOD!
    She's dropping!!
    +2.5 is 65.
    I'm giving her HC now, FF gravy food.
     
  20. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    UP, Lucy, you're supposed to go up! Great job, Mariko.
    Liz
     
  21. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    Thank you for staying.
    I'll test her at +3 next
    I gave her about 2 tsp of HC.
    Should I give more?
     
  22. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    No, I think that's enough for now.
    Liz
     
  23. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    Thank you.
    Can you stay with us a bit longer?
    I'll test her again in 15 min.
     
  24. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    Yes, I'll be here for another 2 hours.
    Liz
     
  25. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    Thank yoooouuuuuuu!
    I'll post the next number in 8 min or so.
     
  26. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    Should I take down the 911 icon now?
     
  27. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    Yes, you can take down the 911. You are doing great! I love the pictures of Lucy and Ginger.
    Liz
     
  28. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65

    She is only marginally up, +3 is 74.
    Feed more more HC now?
    I'm supposed to wait until she is up 2 tests, correct?
     
  29. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74

    Ok, that's good! Yes, get another test in 30 mins. I would feed some more HC, about 2 teaspoons.
    Liz
     
  30. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74

    OK, I'll feed her some more and test at +3.5.
     
  31. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74

    You've got eyes on you, yes take the 911 down . :D :D

    Do you have Target in Canada? They have a house brand meter called Up & Up, it got a top rating from Consumer Reports. Strips are $20 for 50 and it is reassuring to have a retail store that carries your strips in an emergency.

    The Up & Up is actually the Agamatrix WaveSense Presto meter. I use the WaveSense strips in ours all the time, the cheapest price I've found (other than eBay) is at Total Diabetes Warehouse, as low as $13.40 a box if you by 100 strips. Weirdly they are more expensive if you buy the larger quantity packages! They do ship to Canada, but I'm not sure of the shipping charges to get stuff there. ADW carries them too, but a little more expensive. Walgreens may have them too. I thought that ADW shipped to Canade, but could find nothing on their site. You could call them, their phone number is on the bottom of their pages.
     
  32. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74

    Thanks Ann, I will reply to you after Lucy is safe and I go to work and come back!

    Lucy really doesn't like the flaky bits of FF Turkey in gravy, but I got her to lick more of the gravy....
    Will test her again in 10 min, and post.
     
  33. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74

    She is up again, but only a little bit.
    +3.5 is 79.
    Feed more?
    I'm not sure if she'll eat more.
    I can leave some food out, but she may not eat it even if she needs to.

    If I give her couple more tsp of food, do you think it's OK to leave home now?

    If it still too risky, I will stay another 30 min, and test at +4.
    Should I try that?
     
  34. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79

    How about holding off on the food and see what she is at +4? Then hopefully she will eat a little more and you can leave.
    Liz
     
  35. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79

    OK, thank you. I will not feed until I test at +4.
    My boss just called me. He said not to worry about work.
     
  36. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79

    That is so nice that your boss called! :D
    Liz
     
  37. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79

    Mariko

    Just checking in....Lucy is looking good....Liz has been doing a super job of helping.

    Are you staying home or do you still need to go to work?

    Great idea to hold off on the food and see what she is doing. Hopefully that rise is not all food/carbs talking but it might be and she may wobble a bit in numbers.
     
  38. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79

    She didn't give up blood easily this time!
    +4 is 81.
    Almost the same as +3.5.

    Do you think it's safe for me to leave home now after feeding her a little more?
     
  39. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    Thank you Marje for checking on us.

    Although my boss said not to worry, I'd like to go to work for 3 hours.
    In case I will face the same situation tomorrow morning, I want to catch up a bit today if safe to do so.
     
  40. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    Forgot to mention.
    If I got to work for 3 hours, I will be leaving Lucy for close to 4 hrs.
     
  41. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    What would make me the most comfortable is another test in either 30 minutes or an hour, if at all possible.

    It is still so early in the cycle and I think the potential for her to come back down, especially if she will not eat food if you leave it out....or Ginger might eat it.

    What do you think? And thanks for your thoughts for Gussie yesterday...he sends big wet slobbery kisses :D
     
  42. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    That's good that she is up a little, and not down. This is tough because she probably won't eat while you are gone. I am going to wait and see what Marje says. I have to leave in a bit but Marje will be here. Super job, Mariko!
    Liz
     
  43. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    Thank you, Marje.
    OK, I will stay until she is safe.
    I will test again in 10 min, that would be +4.5. I didn't give any food.
    Can you stay with us a bit?
    I think Anne has to go.....
     
  44. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    Thank you Anne.
    Marje thinks I'd better stay a bit more, so I will do so.
    Thank you for staying with us.
     
  45. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    You bet! I'm all yours :D Just post your next number.
     
  46. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    You are so welcome! :D And Gus gives the BEST kisses!
    Liz
     
  47. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    Liz would know...she has had them firsthand!
     
  48. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy AMPS=149; +2=76; +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=8

    She is a little bit up again.
    +4.5 is 85, and I didn't feed her anything after +4.
     
  49. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    Stubborn little girl! I would try and feed her a good low carb meal before you go. That should help keep her from wobbling too much.

    Sound like a plan?
     
  50. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    Yes, and I can leave some LC food at 3 different locations.
    Maybe she'll eat some of it.
    Lucy is funny, she refuses to eat her own food by her self, but she likes to lick Ginger's bowl for crumbs after she's done...
    If I leave some food on Ginger's feeding place, she may lick the leftover...

    Marje, am I putting her in DANGER by leaving her now?
    Should I test again in another 30min?
    If so, feed her or not feed her now.
     
  51. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    It depends on what you can do with your job. If you need to go, feed her, leave food out. She's very safe now and she's getting closer to nadir.

    If you want to grab another test at +5 and then feed her, that is fine, too. It depends on what you need to do.

    Lucy is usually pretty flat. I'm not nearly as concerned as I would be if she was lower and it was earlier in the cycle.
     
  52. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    OK, thank you Marje.
    I will test at +5, and then feed her, and leave some food.
    And go to work and try to come back as soon as possible.

    This is hard!
     
  53. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    (((Mariko))))

    I know but you are doing a fantastic job! She is spending so much time in good numbers!

    I'll still be here so just post. It's great you have a boss who is flexible. You need that job to take such great care of Lucy and Ginger :D
     
  54. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    Thanks, Marje.
    I think she's good now!
    Her +5 is 99.
    I will feed her a little bit, and also leave some food before leaving.

    Question!
    Sienne mentioned about a dose reduction earlier. It's not now, is it? Should I keep her on 0.75unit for a few more cycle? Or reduce from the next shot? I will check back here before today's PM shot.


    PS: Thank you everyone for lots of tips about meter and test strips earlier. Lucy prevented me from looking into your information, but I will tonight. You guys are all wonderful!
     
  55. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

    Perfect! YAY! Good plan.

    No...no dose reduction unless she drops below 40 once or goes between 40-50 on three different days at this dose....she is not a newly diagnosed diabetic.

    The other thing I would consider is if you are having to feed a ton of food to keep her above 40, then you could reduce. I haven't seen that with Lucy. Sienne was just hinting since she took a big drop at +2, it was something to watch. But Lucy has her own ideas.

    Great job....have a super day at work.
     
  56. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

    Thanks again, Marje! You are wonderful.
     
  57. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

    Marje's right -- I wasn't suggesting that you reduce yet. Lucy's SS looks to me like she's gathering up some speed over the last couple of days and may head for a reduction. It may be that when you don't have work looming in front of you that you may want to hold off on the HC and let Lucy dip her toes in the below 50 water.

    I'm also going to see if I can find some Canadians who can offer input on meters and syringes.
     
  58. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

    You're welcome.

    And that is a very good idea that Sienne has. When you are home...just feed LC and see what she does. Remember Lantus has a cumulative nature so one shot builds upon the preceding. Eventually, the depot overfills and the numbers come down. So she is trending a bit like that.

    I don't know if it would help but check your Canadian eBay. I use the same meter and I buy my strips from eBay. I pay about $22/50 and only buy from those shipping free. I also watch the expiration dates and make sure it's out a bit.
     
  59. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

    You can get a free bayer contour USB meter and 25 strips if you go to http://www.bayerdiabetes.ca/BDoffer and use code "BDS 11-14" And then if you register the meter when it arrives, you get a free USB wall charger. Its a reliable meter.
    This offer was in the flyer comes inside the BD ultra fine 3/10cc syringes you get in Walmart Canada. I used a similar one six months ago and it worked great so bayer seem to run it a lot.

    The strips are expensive in stores $75 for 100 in Shoppers for example but you can get them cheaper on eBay ( I can pay $50 for 100 including free lancets from Shorefront medical). But of course if you get them in shoppers you can get points! I havent found a good meter that has strips cheaper than that - they all seem to be about the same price. It arrives in a few days.
     
  60. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

    The free Contour offer that Wendy (Tiggy) mentions comes in all boxes of BD syringes, not just Walmart. I have one in the box I just got from Save-On-Foods pharmacy. The cheapest I've seen Contour test strips was $72 on sale at London Drugs.

    I have a Contour as a backup meter, but the Relion Confirm is my primary meter and I buy the Arkray Glucocard 01 strips from ADW. Depending on where you live in Vancouver, it doesn't take long to get to the States and pick things up. It takes me 45 minutes to get to the border and the Bellingham Walmart is 15-20 minutes after that. Alternatively, ADW does NOT ship to Canada, but you can get a free US post box and have things shipped there. Those places are usually 5 minutes the other side of the border. My last order via ADW, the Arkray strips were on sale, I got 500 for $126, shipping included. The difference from paying for strips here more than pays for the cost of gas to go pick things up. When they ask at customs what you purchased, if you say "diabetic test strips for my cat", their eyes glaze over and they wave you on through. :lol: If you are interested in this option, PM me and I'll give you some details.
     
  61. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99


    I love it.... :lol: :cool:
     
  62. KarensPoe

    KarensPoe Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

    Hi...I'm new here, your thread caught my eye...both how you worked through that low and the meter info.

    When I saw the link about Bayer in Canada, I figured maybe USA had one, so I checked and found:


    https://www.bayercontour.com/Meter-and- ... ospec=save

    They send a coupon to your email or you can print right off the site once you complete the info. I did find that it's a bit tricky..you have to refresh if "Submit" does not work.

    I may be posting in the wrong area, so if you want to copy that link to post elsewhere, please feel free.
    :D
     
  63. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Re: 6/11 Lucy +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99; +10.5=9

    Thank you so much everyone for great tips on meter and test strips. There seems to be many options, so I would like to look into it when I have more time. I'd like to read your suggestion again, and check on them all one by one. Right now I have to catch up on work!!!

    Thank you also Sienne and Marje about your advice.
    I will let her drop a little further if she does this during the PM cycle.
    I just checked her at +10.5 and she is 97.
    I gave her about a teaspoon of LC food trying to bring it up a little for the PMPS...
    I think she may give me low numbers again tonight.

    That's fine. I won't be able to sleep tonight anyway.
    I had to bring a lot of work home from office as I couldn't work this morning :smile: :smile: :smile:
     
  64. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Looking good, Lucy! Thank you for visiting Zener's condo. :D No worries about the name, it's confusing, and you were worried about Lucy. Great job today. Doesn't Gus give the best kisses? :D
    Liz
     
  65. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Super day for Lucy! You did such a great job, Mariko! Nice and calm.

    I hope you can find a good meter solution.
     
  66. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Thank you, Liz!
    Thank you, Marje!
    I feel like I am one step forward with this taking-care-of-a-diabetic-kitty thing, getting less panicky every time, thanks to you all.

    I got so many tips today on meter and strips :D :D :D
    Hard to decide which one!
    I think the first thing for me to do is try to get a cheaper strips on eBay for my existing meter.
    And then I can take time to decide on a better meter option!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page