6/12 Sampson AMPS 380, not so hungry today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn

Member Since 2015
For the past two days Sampson has vomited dinner the first go-round but kept it down just fine the second offering. I narrowed it down to what I thought was him eating too fast as he gulps his food in the evening. Last night, second feeding I tried putting his food in the bottom of an ice tray, he didn't like it and I had to dump it on the floor to get him to eat it. This morning I tried putting it in the cube parts of the ice tray and he was eating well so I poked him. Then about 3/4 of the way through he wouldn't eat any more. I tried to spoon out some but he wouldn't touch that either. Yesterday he ate it out of the spoon. I tried to give him some chicken chunks and he didn't want those either. I ended up leaving him alone in the cat room with the rest of his food and advised my brother to check in on him periodically. Haven't noticed any excess urinating but its hard to tell when my dog keeps eating the litter and three cats use that box lol. I did see a poop of his yesterday and it looked like a normal raw-fed kitty poop. I am bringing home test strips for ketones today just incase. Also getting some Fortiflora to try and entice him. He is fine otherwise, hydrated, pink, etc.
 
We use a particular convention with the title of a condo. If you could edit the subject line so you include the date (that way we all know what the date is if we have to backtrack) and Sampson's name. It's nice to be able to give your kitty the credit for his condo!

I'm not sure why you're using an ice cube tray. There are some bowls available that help to slow a kitty who inhales his food down. That's one option. You might want to consider not giving Sampson all of his food at once. Many of us provide multiple small meals. It puts less pressure on the pancreas when you don't feed your kitty all of their food for the cycle at one time.
 
Tess has done that when I give her raw lamb, I just split the meal up when I feed her lamb now. I give her some and half an hour later some more. For the first week of Lantus you will continue to see wonky numbers. The shed hasn't fully developed yet and more of the dose is being reserved until the shed is full.
 
I realized after I posted that I should have included his name and the date but I can't figure out hoe to edit it on my phone. I can edit the body but not the subject. He ended up finishing it off with no vomiting my brother reported. The ice cube tray was an attempt to get him to eat slower. I think he was weirded out by the ice cube tray lol. This evening I'm going to just try to spread his food out thinly on a baking sheet to see if that works. He left me a hair all from last night so the vet thinks that's another possibility for what may be causing the upset. I am bringing home strips to test for ketones, though. In the morning I don't have time to feed him small amounts at a time.
 
You can try "catsicles". Freeze some of the food and put it out before you leave, he can eat it as it thaws. Or would the rest of your crew get to it first?
 
To edit the subject line go to the top of the page under the subject and to the left is a button called "Thread Tools". Click on that and you get a drop down list that lets you choose to edit the subject.
 
You mentioned you were able to put him in a room by himself for a while. Can you get a second litter box to put in there with him, so you will know the deposits are his? What about getting a timed feeder? Many of us use this one. You can put small amounts in each section and have it turn after half an hour, or an hour, whatever you want.

I have a kitty that used to scarf and barf. We used both the feed smaller amounts and the spread the food out techniques. They helped a lot.
 
Well my brother was wrong, he did vomit after breakfast at some point. I just blended in to the carpet. I am beyond stressed out and just sat down for the first time since I got home from work. I tried to spread out his food but about 3/4 of the way through he vomited again. (this time I was smart enough to gate him in a linoleum floored area). I do add a lot of water to his grind, could that be the issue? I've always added water and he has always eaten at the same speed. It wasn't until he started insulin that he started vomiting. I ended up not giving him insulin because I wasn't sure what to do and I didn't have time to check here. I did an exam on his belly and felt some hard stuff in his intestines. Naturally I assumed he had a blockage but I guess I squeezed them enough that he had to poop! They were normal, formed poos. (Also not heavy bone poos, they were the normal brown color not yellow or chalky.) Also was able to check for ketones, it was negative. Finally I got a text back from the vet and she suggested I try some M/D since he did "well" on that but I really don't want to have to resort back to that! So instead I gave him some chicken chunks split in to 4 mini meals 5 minutes apart (had a thought that maybe it was the beef) and so far he has kept those down. I think tomorrow AM I will feed him chicken in 4 mini meals 5 minutes apart and poke him. That will narrow down whether or not it is the insulin or not I think. Also have to remember to gate him on the linoleum just in case!

His PMPS (but really no shot) was taken but I misplaced the sticky note it was on.
+4 was: 374
 
Your meter should have a memory function, so you can go back and see that last test. Also, if you don't give insulin, you call it a PMBG, and that tells us you skipped the shot.

Could he have been constipated? Sometimes that will make them vomit. Chicken is a great choice, if his tummy is upset - nice and bland.

Are you still on your phone? You can edit your subject line to include the PMBG and the +4, using the "Thread Tools" link in the top right corner of the page.

Yay for negative ketones. One thing you can mark off the list!
 
So far so good this AM. I will fill in the spreadsheet (now that I realize the meter has memory!!! Thank you!!) and start a new condo later when I am more awake. Fed Sampson 4 minimeals of chicken chunks and no vomiting in an hour so I gave him 1u. Will try the same diet this evening and see what happens. Also will be stopping in to the store to get him some famotidine.
 
He has been eating the diet with the beef for over a week, started it PM 6/4 and didn't even warm it or anything until he vomited! Prior to that I had been giving him chunks of chicken, pork, and beef heart with his canned M/D and he didn't have any issues then either. About to start a new condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top