? 6/12 TiTi AMPS 134 Shoot? Shot +1, 1 hr. aft. 134 AMPS +1 136 +4 85 +6 161 + 11 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-11-titi-9-187-amps-215-3-177.159309/

Last night, I skipped the pre=PMPS, and will never skip it again.

At +11 172, seemed fine to skip PMPS, and shoot 11u, but at +3 and +5 , I saw we were in trouble yet again. Fed TiTi, added 21/2mls honey. At +6 and +8, so finally felt safe to sleep.

This morning at AMPS TiTi is at 134. Dunno if I can shoot or not, nor do I know how much to shoot.

(PS: Mikey is back to normal. Thank you, my special vet, who lets me owe her, and loves animals as much as I do.)
 
Are you going to be around to monitor? You shot a 114 on 6/9 and TiTi gave you a gorgeous cycle! If you have enough strips and supplies (HC food, karo, etc), then I would shoot this morning. If you do shoot, you can start with getting a +1 to see how things are going early on.

I have to run and do a few things, but I'll check back in in about an hour.

ETA - Last night's cycle was also gorgeous! I know it was stressful, but very, very nice numbers!!!
 
I need to shop for lances, kitty litter, and human food today. But yes, I can monitor for awhile.

The prolem is that I have to find some level of stability that gets me more than 5 hrs sleep.

Also the shot is now an hour late, Been too worried to do it.
 
It's kind of nice to have a lower preshot in the day instead of the night cycle!

Did you get more strips yesterday?

I think you could shoot it, if you are prepared for the lower numbers that may result. The other thing is that shooting a lower preshot will often result in a fairly flat cycle.

But since you've had a changing scene, I think you could also wait and retest anytime now and see if she is rising or falling. If she is rising I'd go ahead. If her blood sugar is still dropping, you could consider a lesser dose.

One last option is you could choose to do a +18 cycle. That means that you would skip this morning's shot and shoot at what would be normally be your +6. I think this is 11:20am for you right now. Assuming you meant to shoot at 11am, you could skip this shot and instead shoot at 5pm.

Then skip tonight's shot and shoot at 11am tomorrow, 18 hours after this afternoon's shot. Or 10am if that is your preferred time.

It's up to you.
 
I just posted with some other choices. I kinda like the 18 hour cycle option since you're already an hour late.

Once you're past 12 hours you can shoot at any time, so if you want to get back to the 10/10 schedule, you could shoot at 4pm today and 10am tomorrow.
 
I need to shop for lances, kitty litter, and human food today. But yes, I can monitor for awhile.

The prolem is that I have to find some level of stability that gets me more than 5 hrs sleep.

Also the shot is now an hour late, Been too worried to do it.

Ok. Shot 11u at 45 minutes past AMPS test.
 
It's kind of nice to have a lower preshot in the day instead of the night cycle!

Did you get more strips yesterday?

I think you could shoot it, if you are prepared for the lower numbers that may result. The other thing is that shooting a lower preshot will often result in a fairly flat cycle.

But since you've had a changing scene, I think you could also wait and retest anytime now and see if she is rising or falling. If she is rising I'd go ahead. If her blood sugar is still dropping, you could consider a lesser dose.

One last option is you could choose to do a +18 cycle. That means that you would skip this morning's shot and shoot at what would be normally be your +6. I think this is 11:20am for you right now. Assuming you meant to shoot at 11am, you could skip this shot and instead shoot at 5pm.

Then skip tonight's shot and shoot at 11am tomorrow, 18 hours after this afternoon's shot. Or 10am if that is your preferred time.

It's up to you.

Well, true enough. I decided to shoot at 11:15 am, 45 minutes past my AMPS test . It's odd, because yesterday I shot an hour late, at AMPS 10:30, and still ran too low after PMPS. +3 106. I knew I had to stay up after that. But it was so unexpected. , I will never skip a PMPS test again. I figured at +11 172, I could skip the pre-PMPS, because, hey, 172 is safe. Dumb.

Yes, I have 50 strips, but now running out of lances. I had 125 lances a few days ago. Down to about 30+ now. My poor TiTi's ear. She looks like a punkster.
 
Well, true enough. I decided to shoot at 11:15 am, 45 minutes past my AMPS test . It's odd, because yesterday I shot an hour late, at AMPS 10:30, and still ran too low after PMPS. +3 106. I knew I had to stay up after that. But it was so unexpected. , I will never skip a PMPS test again. I figured at +11 172, I could skip the pre-PMPS, because, hey, 172 is safe. Dumb.

Yes, I have 50 strips, but now running out of lances. I had 125 lances a few days ago. Down to about 30+ now. My poor TiTi's ear. She looks like a punkster.
I shot at 11:15am, but since the morning before I shot late at 10:30am, I'm not on the 18 hr schedule, am I? I think I do not understand this 18 hour schedule. However, at no sleep to 5 hours sleep in the last 48 hours, I am presently dealing with, probably, a double digit IQ.
 
No worries - I think you're doing fine. It's confusing for everyone in the beginning.

You're shooting (or trying to!) on a 12 hour schedule. And that's perfect, so just keep on.

The 18 hour schedule, just to explain a little more.

12 hour schedule (ideal option and the first choice under normal circumstances)
shoot 10am and 10pm, 10am and 10pm

18 hour schedule (great option for certain circumstances, like a cat being too low to shoot at +12, or you not being able to monitor)
skip 10am shot, shoot at 4pm (18 hours after the 10pm shot the night before. We always count from the last shot.)
skip 10pm shot, shoot at 10am (18 hours after the 4pm shot the night before.)
so the shots would be 10pm, 4pm, 10am

When you are shooting 12 hour cycles, in 48 hours you give 4 shots (10pm, 10am, 10pm, 10am)
When you are shooting 18 hours cycles, in 48 hours you give 3 shots (10pm, 4pm, 10am)

Hope that helps a bit. I hope she stays nice and flat for you.




OK - I see you shot at +13 (1 hour after your usual shot time.) That goes into your amps column, which always records the number you actually shot.

Then restart your counting with that shot. +1 will be one hour after you shot, +2 will be 2 hours after you shot, etc. Leave the 134 in the amps column, but below that write whatever you tested at +13. Did you grab another test right before you shot? That's the amps.

Does that make sense? If that's confusing, I'm sure Marje @Marje and Gracie would be able to fix it for you.
 
oh, gee. I did the preAMPS 132 at 10:15,; it was so low, I wrote for advice. At 11:15, I shot 11, +2 134

I am not sure what this means, except that I am shooting late by one hour, the last 2 days in a row. Today this was due to waiting for advice. Yesterday, it was to catch another hour of sleep.

I start full time work tomorrow, and even though it is work from home, I can lose this job, which is tested for speed and accuracy every few hours. If my speed or accuracy fails, no job. So 5 hours sleep won't be enough. That is an important consideration.

TiTi's days seem to be flat, her night not at all. I do see a pattern in the early hours of the morning.
 
I'll fix the SS to show when you shot today. I already fixed it for yesterday.

I know 132 seems like a low number especially with a larger depot but it's a very shootable number so you didn't need to stall.

Stay flat TiTi!
 
Last edited:
I'll fix the SS tomshowmwhen you shot today. I already fixed it for yesterday.

I know 132 seems like a low number especially with a larger depot but it's a very shootable number so you didn't need to stall.

Stay flat TiTi!

She didn't
+4 85
Gave her LC food, and 2.5mls honey.

I am so tired.
 
What do you mean shooting too high? And living in blue seems dangerous?

I'm not sure if you mean shooting too high of a dose? Being in blue is much better than yellow or higher! And she's still getting green nadirs so I'm thinking, for now, and u til she earns a reduction, this is a good dose.

BTW, blue numbers can also indicate a bounce. They don't always bounce into yellow and higher.
 
85 is a very healthy number. And from previous days it doesn't look like she normally heads much lower after +4 (or that's the pattern I see). Maybe she'll surf in green for you.
 
85 is a very healthy number. And from previous days it doesn't look like she normally heads much lower after +4 (or that's the pattern I see). Maybe she'll surf in green for you.

Ah now I understand something. When she goes green, I've been giving her honey and food to get out of green. I son't think I ever just left her there to see what happens. I've always been afraid that this is the beginning of the big train roaring downward.
 
Food when she's green is good. When she's at 85 and not going down really quickly, some low carb might help her surf (not a lot, so that if she keeps going down she'll still be hungry for higher carb if needed.)
 
Food when she's green is good. When she's at 85 and not going down really quickly, some low carb might help her surf (not a lot, so that if she keeps going down she'll still be hungry for higher carb if needed.)

But maybe not the honey? 2-2 1/2 mls?

I only have LC food. Well, dried food, but I'm not going back to that.

I have 2 calicoes that refuse all wet food, so they are polishing off the dry food.
 
I wouldn’t give her HC or syrup when she is green, above 50, and got there this slowly. I’d feed LC and see how she does.

There are times when the kitty might be headed down really fast and early in the cycle and a tiny bit of gravy might low them down just a tiny bit. But when she’s been as flat as she is, until she gets below 50, I’d go with LC. Of course, if she’s 50 at +1 or +2, that’s probably a good time to also give some gravy. So you need to look at what the number is, where it is in the cycle, and how fast she’s dropping. Lots to remember.

You mean she might be experiencing a low bounce?, or is this showing her normal pattern?
If she gets into green and then pops back up into higher blue by the end of the cycle, it could be a bounce. But, if you’ve been feeding her HC when she’s in green, it’s more likely duration. I didn’t realize you were doing that but if you see her BG rise really, really fast, it’s probably a duration issue.
 
I wouldn’t give her HC or syrup when she is green, above 50, and got there this slowly. I’d feed LC and see how she does.

There are times when the kitty might be headed down really fast and early in the cycle and a tiny bit of gravy might low them down just a tiny bit. But when she’s been as flat as she is, until she gets below 50, I’d go with LC. Of course, if she’s 50 at +1 or +2, that’s probably a good time to also give some gravy. So you need to look at what the number is, where it is in the cycle, and how fast she’s dropping. Lots to remember.


If she gets into green and then pops back up into higher blue by the end of the cycle, it could be a bounce. But, if you’ve been feeding her HC when she’s in green, it’s more likely duration. I didn’t realize you were doing that but if you see her BG rise really, really fast, it’s probably a duration issue.

Ok . The numbers do seem to be hitting point in her cycle pretty consistently. I'll need to buy some gravy good.

I've never bought it, because my cats lick up the gravy and leave the meat behind. Fortunately my dogs are pleased by my cats' negligence. They clean up leftovers.

What is duration?
 
Ok . The numbers do seem to be hitting point in her cycle pretty consistently. I'll need to buy some gravy good.

I've never bought it, because my cats lick up the gravy and leave the meat behind. Fortunately my dogs are pleased by my cats' negligence. They clean up leftovers.

What is duration?
+6 161 Is this number still influenced by the food and honey given at 85, or can this be considered fasting?
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

Usually high carbs and sugars such as honey will be out of the system around 2 hours after they are digested. By giving high carb, you can put the brakes on the insulin action, shorten the duration, and start to see her numbers rise faster. It's a fine balance, learning how much of what type of carbs to give your cat, and at what point in the cycle. It requires experimenting. Typically giving a couple tsp of their regular low carb food when they first hit green will help them "surf" along around the same number. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others. It's a good idea to keep track of how much carbs you give and when, so you can learn what works for TiTi.
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

Usually high carbs and sugars such as honey will be out of the system around 2 hours after they are digested. By giving high carb, you can put the brakes on the insulin action, shorten the duration, and start to see her numbers rise faster. It's a fine balance, learning how much of what type of carbs to give your cat, and at what point in the cycle. It requires experimenting. Typically giving a couple tsp of their regular low carb food when they first hit green will help them "surf" along around the same number. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others. It's a good idea to keep track of how much carbs you give and when, so you can learn what works for TiTi.

THANKS. I'd no idea, except that sugars leave the system very quickly, but that varies as well. Okay 3 questions.

1. Then, in that case, the number 161 had little to do with what she ate 3 hours earlier?

2. What are suitable low carbs? I only have Friskies pate, and Fancy Feast pate, which I understand are HC.

3. How do I ensure that I get a good 7 to 8 hours sleep tonight. I cannot go longer on the present schedule, and function well. Tomorrow I need to be at a reasonable performance level, or I risk endangering my new job. Monday is the start date.
 
The 161 could have come from a couple of things, partly the honey she had earlier, partly the normal rise in insulin as the cycle progresses.

Pates are normally low carb food, so your Friskies pate and Fancy Feast pate if that's what she normally eats, are fine. The ones with Gravy are the HC or high carb. Do you have any of those on hand? If not, I would get some.

How many hours after PMPS do you need to go to bed to get 7 hours of sleep? TiTi seems to like to have hear low points earlier in the cycle, which should help you. Tonight will be the 4th cycle on 11 units, so the 13 unit depot should be diminishing, that should also help. Your test early in the PM cycle, such as a +2, can help you decide what to do tonight. It may be as simple as leaving food out for TiTi to snack on as she needs it.
 
The 161 could have come from a couple of things, partly the honey she had earlier, partly the normal rise in insulin as the cycle progresses.

Pates are normally low carb food, so your Friskies pate and Fancy Feast pate if that's what she normally eats, are fine. The ones with Gravy are the HC or high carb. Do you have any of those on hand? If not, I would get some.

How many hours after PMPS do you need to go to bed to get 7 hours of sleep? TiTi seems to like to have hear low points earlier in the cycle, which should help you. Tonight will be the 4th cycle on 11 units, so the 13 unit depot should be diminishing, that should also help. Your test early in the PM cycle, such as a +2, can help you decide what to do tonight. It may be as simple as leaving food out for TiTi to snack on as she needs it.

+11 110. Last night it was +11 172 . Seems inconsistent. I just fed her. Dunno what her PMPS will be.

What value have the LC vs the HC foods?

Still slogging away in the Duration wiki. Whew. Lot to it. I'll see if I can nap between PMPS and +2, just in case. Shouldn't be difficult. I'm tired.

Does there come a point when conditions are less emergent. When TiTI and I will have a more stable "depot" so to speak?
 
+11 110. Last night it was +11 172 . Seems inconsistent. I just fed her. Dunno what her PMPS will be.

What value have the LC vs the HC foods?

Still slogging away in the Duration wiki. Whew. Lot to it. I'll see if I can nap between PMPS and +2, just in case. Shouldn't be difficult. I'm tired.

Does there come a point when conditions are less emergent. When TiTI and I will have a more stable "depot" so to speak?
Well, Shot 11u at midnight.
Gonna nap until +2 test
 
LC foods are less than 10% carbs

MC are usually between 11%-15%

HC are greater than 16%

As long as he's not below 50, you generally want to stick with the LC foods to see if you can just keep him surfing in the same general area...not too high, not too low

If he's dropping too quickly, you might want to try some MC or HC (this is where keeping good notes on your spreadsheet as to what you feed and when really helps) to slow him down, but hopefully not give too much and send his numbers back up again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top