6/13 Cassie AMPS 555 +3.5/297 +7.5/365 PMPS 267

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Tested with alphatrak 2.
We discussed giving 1 unit today since her blood sugar was so low last night, but 555 seems super high! Should I still stick with 1 unit or 2? I still haven't received relion glucometer in mail so I only have 2 strips to test later. I'm assuming stick with 1 unit for now. Thanks!

UPDATE: I'm gonna give her one unit, I'm not sure how long it's safe to wait so I figure I'll play it safe and go with 1 unit this morning, especially since I might not be able to monitor her levels enough today to see if 2 units was too much.
 
Last edited:
You did the right thing as she’s bouncing from the lower number she’s not used to.

That's relieving to hear! I actually didn't give her ANY last night, so that must be why it was extra high. But she has noticeably improved in her energy from yesterday when I think she was hypo, so I'm glad she's swinging in the higher numbers rather than lower. :)
 
Definitely a result of skipping. Before long you will be praying for those lower numbers. I would actually have given her 1.75 with that high preshot. Something is better than nothing and you had to make a quick decision this morning. Last night skipping was the right thing to do.
 
Glad you went with the 1 unit Abby! We already saw what 2 units would do! Since you still don't have syringes and are using the pen needles, your only choice was 1 or 2 units and it's better to be safe!

The high this morning is probably a mix of 2 things...Not getting the shot last night and Cassie "bouncing" from the low yesterday.

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all three)

In case #3, when our kitties are diagnosed, we generally don't know how long they might have been diabetic and so their liver gets used to higher numbers. When the numbers start coming down with insulin, the liver reacts because those numbers no longer seem normal. As a protection, the liver and pancreas release counter regulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG back up to what the body believes is normal. We call it "liver training school". Hopefully Cassie's liver will be a quick learner!!

It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones and sugars to clear out so patience is important here.
 
Glad you went with the 1 unit Abby! We already saw what 2 units would do! Since you still don't have syringes and are using the pen needles, your only choice was 1 or 2 units and it's better to be safe!

The high this morning is probably a mix of 2 things...Not getting the shot last night and Cassie "bouncing" from the low yesterday.

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all three)

In case #3, when our kitties are diagnosed, we generally don't know how long they might have been diabetic and so their liver gets used to higher numbers. When the numbers start coming down with insulin, the liver reacts because those numbers no longer seem normal. As a protection, the liver and pancreas release counter regulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG back up to what the body believes is normal. We call it "liver training school". Hopefully Cassie's liver will be a quick learner!!

It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones and sugars to clear out so patience is important here.

And I just got my glucometer and test strips today so I'm gonna be testing like a madwoman. I have 2 more strips left for the alphatrak so I'm gonna use those up and test her in a little bit to see what her levels are at. :) Looks like syringes will be here 15-16th too.
 
Just tested her now (with my ReliOn!!) at 7.5 and it's 365, is it normal for it to climb up already? I gave insulin at 10:30AM this morning so does that mean her nadir must be between 1:30-5:30? I was hoping it'd still be lower!

It's too soon to conclude anything. Due to that drop yesterday, she's still "bouncing"....it can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) for the bounce to clear.

I'd just hold the 1U dose (at least until you get some syringes) …..it takes time for higher numbers to do damage....it's the low ones that can kill quickly.
 
Just tested her now at 7.5 and it's 365, is it normal for it to climb up already? I gave insulin at 10:30AM this morning so does that mean her nadir must be between 1:30-5:30? I was hoping it'd still be lower!
It's too soon to conclude anything. Due to that drop yesterday, she's still "bouncing"....it can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) for the bounce to clear.

I'd just hold the 1U dose (at least until you get some syringes) …..it takes time for higher numbers to do damage....it's the low ones that can kill quickly.

I have so much anxiety, like it's a race against time. :(
It's too soon to conclude anything. Due to that drop yesterday, she's still "bouncing"....it can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) for the bounce to clear.

I'd just hold the 1U dose (at least until you get some syringes) …..it takes time for higher numbers to do damage....it's the low ones that can kill quickly.

PMPS 267, gave 1 unit. :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top