6/14 Cassie AMPS: 582 2U +2 501 +7 Relion 293 PMPS 201

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
My previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-13-cassie-amps-555-3-5-297-7-5-365-pmps-267.230925/

I'm very stressed this morning. So Cassie sleeps on my bed and I woke up and saw blood all over the sheet and in her mouth. I called the vet and they got me in within the hour. A suture came undone!! Poor Cassie. She's on more antibiotics and they gave me some painkiller pills for her that I can put in her food. I also discussed how I think she was hypo and explained the steps I took, and the vet wants me to stick with 2 units UNTIL I perform a glucose curve and get the info back to them. So I tested Cassie's bloodsugar today with the alphatrak meter at 582 and gave 2 units. I will be monitoring her very closely and testing bloodsugar all today, my emergency hypo kit is ready as well. I ordered more expensive alphatrak test strips so "I could speak in the vets language," lol. My plan is to go ahead and listen to them about 2 units, do a glucose curve on the 16th (test strips get here tomorrow on the 15th), and report data back to vet to see what their opinion is. I'm hoping they say to go ahead and lower the dose anyways, and once I get the okay from them I'll continue to change it based on my daily findings and testings. I want to curl up and cry, it's so hard to make the right decision and best choice for her. My heart hurts, I hope she's gonna be okay.
 
Last edited:
I haven't popped in before, so "Hi" and welcome. Sorry to hear the stitches came apart - how scary! What type of painkiller did they give you? I'm not so familiar with one that is pills that go in food.

A couple things to remember. First of all, you hold the syringe and the decision is yours on what you want to shoot. Second, 2 units was too much insulin a couple days ago, I doubt anything a changed there. Getting syringes should be a priority. Third, cats bounce when they see numbers aren't used to. Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve, today is just the third cycle after the 70's you saw. And lastly, we determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat, not on the preshot values. 2 units has proven to be too much, keep a close eye on Cassie today. You will have more of a depot build than you did the first day.

Here is the link to your previous post here - we include those so it's easy for people to go back and see what was said before: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-13-cassie-amps-555-3-5-297-7-5-365-pmps-267.230925/
 
I haven't popped in before, so "Hi" and welcome. Sorry to hear the stitches came apart - how scary! What type of painkiller did they give you? I'm not so familiar with one that is pills that go in food.

A couple things to remember. First of all, you hold the syringe and the decision is yours on what you want to shoot. Second, 2 units was too much insulin a couple days ago, I doubt anything a changed there. Getting syringes should be a priority. Third, cats bounce when they see numbers aren't used to. Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve, today is just the third cycle after the 70's you saw. And lastly, we determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat, not on the preshot values. 2 units has proven to be too much, keep a close eye on Cassie today. You will have more of a depot build than you did the first day.

Here is the link to your previous post here - we include those so it's easy for people to go back and see what was said before: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-13-cassie-amps-555-3-5-297-7-5-365-pmps-267.230925/

Oops I'm so sorry I forgot to include my previous post! I was so stressed I just typed everything out and hit enter!

She got Onsior, she gobbled it right up with her food. They offered an injection version but it was a lot more money.
I agree, I'm very nervous. Just don't know what to do. She's in my sight at all times today and I'm getting good at getting blood from her so I'll be checking it soon. Fingers crossed everything is going to be fine. This is all so scary. I don't want to lose her.
 
We all remember how nerve wracking it is at first. :bighug:

With Lantus, if you get a +2 test, it'll often help you know what type of cycle will follow. If you see a big drop between the preshot number and the +2, it'll be an active cycle that needs more monitoring. A number about the same as preshot means a normal Lantus cycle. A higher number means a quiet cycle. I always liked to see those cause it meant I could go out of the house or get to sleep early. Bounces aren't always a bad thing. :p

Onsior is only recommended for short term use, sounds like that is what you are doing. I hope she heals fast. Pain from surgery can also cause higher numbers. When any pain or inflammation goes away, blood sugar numbers can come down.
 
Yep she has 3 pills and only gets one every 24 hrs. I'm just glad I'm done using the buprenex stuff that has to go in her gums, that was so hard to do! I'll test her blood sugar in 30 mins then, that'll be the +2. :) Fingers crossed for a good number!!
 
If you are home testing, the likelihood that something bad will happen is small. If you're testing, you'll know if and when to intervene.

Like Wendy said, you are the one holding the syringe -- not your vet. You're seeing Cassie's numbers when she's home and feels safe. She's to at the vet's office where she's stressed. FWIW, the initial dose of Lantus is based on a cat's weight (initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms). For most cats, this calculates out to around 1.0u, give or take. So, 2.0u is a lot.

You really do want to get syringes. The pen needles are not adequate for treating cats. The dosing is too large.

Let us know how we can help.
 
If you are home testing, the likelihood that something bad will happen is small. If you're testing, you'll know if and when to intervene.

Like Wendy said, you are the one holding the syringe -- not your vet. You're seeing Cassie's numbers when she's home and feels safe. She's to at the vet's office where she's stressed. FWIW, the initial dose of Lantus is based on a cat's weight (initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms). For most cats, this calculates out to around 1.0u, give or take. So, 2.0u is a lot.

You really do want to get syringes. The pen needles are not adequate for treating cats. The dosing is too large.

Let us know how we can help.

Syringes will be here in a few days!! The tracking won't tell me exactly when. :(
 
We all remember how nerve wracking it is at first. :bighug:

With Lantus, if you get a +2 test, it'll often help you know what type of cycle will follow. If you see a big drop between the preshot number and the +2, it'll be an active cycle that needs more monitoring. A number about the same as preshot means a normal Lantus cycle. A higher number means a quiet cycle. I always liked to see those cause it meant I could go out of the house or get to sleep early. Bounces aren't always a bad thing. :p

Onsior is only recommended for short term use, sounds like that is what you are doing. I hope she heals fast. Pain from surgery can also cause higher numbers. When any pain or inflammation goes away, blood sugar numbers can come down.

+2 came back as 501, that's a good sign right? :) (PS I used alphatrak for AMPS and just now, I'm sorry for flipping between glucometers a bit!)
 
Boy you have had enough scares in the last few days to last for a month at least! Once the bounce clears I’m pretty sure you will be lowering the dose. Thank goodness you are testing. You are lucky she’s hungry and were able to get the pill into her easily. :bighug:
 
293 (this time with relion) at roughly +7 hours (15 minutes early). Looking good so far right?? No physical symptoms of hypo either.
 
Yes, looking good so far. The skip and two cycles with 1.0 units probably drained the 2.0 depot enough that it's not influencing today's cycle.
 
Back
Top