Abby and Cassie
Member Since 2020
My previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-13-cassie-amps-555-3-5-297-7-5-365-pmps-267.230925/
I'm very stressed this morning. So Cassie sleeps on my bed and I woke up and saw blood all over the sheet and in her mouth. I called the vet and they got me in within the hour. A suture came undone!! Poor Cassie. She's on more antibiotics and they gave me some painkiller pills for her that I can put in her food. I also discussed how I think she was hypo and explained the steps I took, and the vet wants me to stick with 2 units UNTIL I perform a glucose curve and get the info back to them. So I tested Cassie's bloodsugar today with the alphatrak meter at 582 and gave 2 units. I will be monitoring her very closely and testing bloodsugar all today, my emergency hypo kit is ready as well. I ordered more expensive alphatrak test strips so "I could speak in the vets language," lol. My plan is to go ahead and listen to them about 2 units, do a glucose curve on the 16th (test strips get here tomorrow on the 15th), and report data back to vet to see what their opinion is. I'm hoping they say to go ahead and lower the dose anyways, and once I get the okay from them I'll continue to change it based on my daily findings and testings. I want to curl up and cry, it's so hard to make the right decision and best choice for her. My heart hurts, I hope she's gonna be okay.
I'm very stressed this morning. So Cassie sleeps on my bed and I woke up and saw blood all over the sheet and in her mouth. I called the vet and they got me in within the hour. A suture came undone!! Poor Cassie. She's on more antibiotics and they gave me some painkiller pills for her that I can put in her food. I also discussed how I think she was hypo and explained the steps I took, and the vet wants me to stick with 2 units UNTIL I perform a glucose curve and get the info back to them. So I tested Cassie's bloodsugar today with the alphatrak meter at 582 and gave 2 units. I will be monitoring her very closely and testing bloodsugar all today, my emergency hypo kit is ready as well. I ordered more expensive alphatrak test strips so "I could speak in the vets language," lol. My plan is to go ahead and listen to them about 2 units, do a glucose curve on the 16th (test strips get here tomorrow on the 15th), and report data back to vet to see what their opinion is. I'm hoping they say to go ahead and lower the dose anyways, and once I get the okay from them I'll continue to change it based on my daily findings and testings. I want to curl up and cry, it's so hard to make the right decision and best choice for her. My heart hurts, I hope she's gonna be okay.
Last edited:
