6/14 Jack the Cat AMPS 108, +3 68, +5 20, + 20 min 83, + 6.75 153, PMPS 163, + 2 107

Well not such a good morning. Checked him at +5 and he was 20. Immediately gave HC food and corn syrup. Twenty minutes later he was at 83. His timing couldn't have been worse as I had an appointment and could not check him 30 minutes later. He is now at 153.

Would appreciate your thoughts as to what happened that he went down to 20?

Thanks.
 
I think it's always better to be safe than sorry... better too high than too low so you did the right thing :)

Sometimes its good to know the strips can be faulty :)
 
Reduced dose to .5 unit. I don't have the syringes with the small unit markings. I've ordered them so will start using as soon as received.

PMPS is 163.

Have a question. I use the ReliOn Prime monitor and strips. He winces every time I place the strip on his ear. Has anyone else had this issue with their fur baby?

I will continue to test and record his results until we leave town on Thursday. Hopefully more blues and greens.

The 20 today was a shock. Jack just doesn't show any symptoms.

You all have a great evening.
 
Have a question. I use the ReliOn Prime monitor and strips. He winces every time I place the strip on his ear. Has anyone else had this issue with their fur baby?
I've not had that issue, but you could try putting the blood drop on your fingernail and testing from that.
 
Tonight's +2 is 107 which is within 1 point of where he started the day.

Do I need to be worried he with hypo tonight like he did this morning?

He got .5 units tonight, so maybe not?
 
I would test +2 depending on how much he drops... continue through every hour until he levels out. The depot will still be in play so it is hard to say...
I too am suspicious like Amanda* could have been a bad strip. :facepalm:
Next time... o_O
 
I don't think that 20 was a wonky strip. He angled down sharply last night from PMPS to +2, and had another good drop today between AMPS and +3. Not sure of your feeding schedule but I would have fed carbs at +3 today and checked earlier than +5. Anything more than 20% drop from preshot to +2 or +3 would make me pay closer attention. Just something to keep in mind in the future.

So that said, tonight's cycle will be more active, seeing that +2 of 107...that's another good drop already. Hope Jack stays safe tonight, but do get a +3 or +4 if you can, that will tell you if you need more testing, or need to intervene with higher carbs if he still drops more. The cycle has only just started ;)
 
I did feed carbs at +3 along with corn syrup. I had a meeting that prevented me from testing at +4. Right now feeding schedule is same as dosing schedule, every 12 hours. The reason for that is I am out of town this and next week and cat sitter can only come twice a day to feed and shoot.

Once this trip is completed I plan to feed 4x a day.

Today I plan to test every 2 hours to get a good picture of where he is.

Thank your for your guidance.
 
Back
Top