6/15 Mouzer pmps +25.5 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
6/14 Mouzer

6/15 Mouzer pmps +11.5/amps/69/SLGS NS, This reaading is 2tsp hc influenced
6/14 pmps +12 76 still 2tsp hc influence til +13
+12.5 68
+13 78 hc worn off
+13.5 69
+14 73
+14.5 1.5oz lc
+16 62
+19.5 76 1.5oz lc
+21.5 101
+22.5 115
+23.5 122 NS
+25.5 111

lol and below 90 for today, so the 0.75u reduction earned yesterday is now 0.5u earned today LOL
I dont know if it goes like that but just being silly and pointing this out :D


Important Note to all Readers:This dosing suggestion is for Mouzer only based on his specific patterns and history. Please do not copy this dosing strategy. If you need assistance with your kitty in dosing, please ask for kitty specific suggestions.

Wow! Mouzer did earn his next reduction, before he was even given today's reduction
 
Last edited:
You really need to make sure he doesn't read the posts, 51! mouzer really!!!

On SLGS, you wouldn't shoot under 90 anyways.
Your option would be to wait until he was high enough and shoot then (if you can realistically get that far off schedule) or skip.
Additionally as lizzie and you have both noted the number is influenced by HC. So we need to bear that in mind when/if he is shootable.
If he were to be 200 say at amps he would be OK to shoot, because that would most likely signal that duration was up and that was the end of the cycle (basically we haven't seen him shoot up by 140pts due to some HC)
So I think we need to look at the number at PS and decide how much of it is due to carb and how much of it is due to duration giving out, before you make an informed decision on shooting or not. Taking into consideration sleep deprivation, your health and your schedule.

ETA definitely no shooting 30min early today though.
 
You really need to make sure he doesn't read the posts, 51! mouzer really!!!

On SLGS, you wouldn't shoot under 90 anyways.
Your option would be to wait until he was high enough and shoot then (if you can realistically get that far off schedule) or skip.
Additionally as lizzie and you have both noted the number is influenced by HC. So we need to bear that in mind when/if he is shootable.
If he were to be 200 say at amps he would be OK to shoot, because that would most likely signal that duration was up and that was the end of the cycle (basically we haven't seen him shoot up by 140pts due to some HC)
So I think we need to look at the number at PS and decide how much of it is due to carb and how much of it is due to duration giving out, before you make an informed decision on shooting or not. Taking into consideration sleep deprivation, your health and your schedule.

ETA definitely no shooting 30min early today though.

It is PS -
But it isnt going to rise above 90 in 30 mins, I dont think LOL
And he is royally teed off at me for all of the poking yesterday - he hissed at me LOL And his ear looks pretty beat up - Having a hard time finding a new spot that is not tender.
His other ear is an ear tipped ear and I have poked every part of it, seeking blood, to get off of the other ear, and it will give no blood.
And I cant stop poking until he comes up to a number I can trust to leave him alone for a while about it hahaha
He was poked 33 times yesterday and this condo makes 34 times and +12 will be 35 times
 
Last edited:
It is PS - I wanted to get back on schedule
I realised that the +11.5 was when you were hoping to feed.
But it isnt going to rise above 90 in 30 mins, I dont think LOL
you know what's going to happen now you said that, don't you??LOL

I'd want to see him above 100, given the HC earlier before considering the shoot, and whether you do or don't depends on other factors too.
1) your need for sleep
2) ability to monitor if your little guy is really peed off with the pokes (sounds like you had a bit of a crime scene going there with that earlier poke)
3) is he going to eat.
4) your schedule, and if he doesn't get up high enough till say +13 (or whatever) is that going to cause problems

It's OK to skip and catch your breath, we've seen him recover pretty quick.
 
I realised that the +11.5 was when you were hoping to feed.

you know what's going to happen now you said that, don't you??LOL

I'd want to see him above 100, given the HC earlier before considering the shoot, and whether you do or don't depends on other factors too.
1) your need for sleep
2) ability to monitor if your little guy is really peed off with the pokes (sounds like you had a bit of a crime scene going there with that earlier poke)
3) is he going to eat.
4) your schedule, and if he doesn't get up high enough till say +13 (or whatever) is that going to cause problems

It's OK to skip and catch your breath, we've seen him recover pretty quick.

I aint givin a shot at 100 haha that 153 shot was pooky enough for me and now I see how he has done all night, no no lolol not at 100
 
no no lolol not at 100
LOL I meant at least above 100, I didnt think you'd be wanting to shoot 100 (not today anyways, one day though perhaps ;)) eg another 153 would likely be OK.

TBH if he was in the low 100's I'd be a little nervous about shooting because of the carbs being in the picture, and though we haven't seen him bump up hugely due to the carbs, it still makes me uneasy.
 
Well well Mouser look at you surfing in greens all night!

For next time, ( yes, there will be a next time) after a long run in the greens and if at +11.5 he is 69, I would not give HC to him unless you were trying to boost him up so you could shoot. Rather, I would have just given a little LC if he was demanding food. Remember that 69 is not a hypo number even though your reduction number on SLGS is 90 and that is only for safety sake. The high carb at the end of a cycle without a shot could send him soaring.
 
As you fed HC at +11.5, by +13.5 the number you get will not be influenced by HC, because it's 2 hours after the snack. With Mouzer, that's when we've seen him drop back a bit.

I know - +13.5 hc wears off - I cant make that up to go with what is ahead
I have to sleep tonight and Friday I cant be home like this

Edit +13 it will be worn off ... the 2tsp hc was given at +11 with a 51 reading
 
Last edited:
Wow, I just looked at your spread sheet. You must be exhausted!! I hope the NS will help you to get some rest today.

I am past exhausted lol I have been awake for 26.75 hours and wont have a chance to sleep until at the earliest in 3.25 more hours. I have to get going and get these animals their meds and all they have to have lolol I bet this will be the quickest I have ever fallen asleep in a real long time, once I finally get to lay down lololol
 
Well well Mouser look at you surfing in greens all night!

For next time, ( yes, there will be a next time) after a long run in the greens and if at +11.5 he is 69, I would not give HC to him unless you were trying to boost him up so you could shoot. Rather, I would have just given a little LC if he was demanding food. Remember that 69 is not a hypo number even though your reduction number on SLGS is 90 and that is only for safety sake. The high carb at the end of a cycle without a shot could send him soaring.

+10 58 3tsp lc
+10.5 61
+11 51 2tsp hc and blood all over - so the +13 is wear off lol I need to fix that but still NS
that lc didnt do it for me lolol
+11.5 69
+12 76 lc worn off, still under hc
+12.5 68 still under hc til +13 next test we see what horror I have done :D
I was alone lol I been up since 4am yesterday morning - 25hrs at that +11, I saw 51, Mouzer had slapped my hand away, causing something to happen with the lancet and blood was pouring out of his ear, onto his paws, onto the couch, on top of his head lololol I gave hc -- I deserve a break ahahahaaha Gimme A Break!! LOL
 
Last edited:
I know - +13.5 hc wears off - I cant make that up to go with what is ahead
I have to sleep tonight and Friday I cant be home like this
Then just call it a skip, that's OK.

Cheryl when you get a minute where you have that 69 in the amps box, can you put @+11.5, seeing as it's +11.5 hours since last shot (not 12).

I think you should not feed any more HC now, unless he were to drop below 50 (this message will self destruct so the kitty doesn't read it:p)
 
Then just call it a skip, that's OK.

Cheryl when you get a minute where you have that 69 in the amps box, can you put @+11.5, seeing as it's +11.5 hours since last shot (not 12).

I think you should not feed any more HC now, unless he were to drop below 50 (this message will self destruct so the kitty doesn't read it:p)

I only gave the 2tsp hc because it was 51 and blood gone everywhere, my mind was in circles and that was close enough to 50 and below to freak me out lolololol
 
Last edited:
Wow! I would skip too! Then I'd be skipping on my way to bed!
For his ear you can use some triple antibiotic ointment with pain relief on it to help it heal and feel better. I like to put it on thin if im still testing but then put a good coating on if I'm not going to be testing for a few hours. Just remember to wipe a bit off before your next test if you put it on thick.
 
Wow! I would skip too! Then I'd be skipping on my way to bed!
For his ear you can use some triple antibiotic ointment with pain relief on it to help it heal and feel better. I like to put it on thin if im still testing but then put a good coating on if I'm not going to be testing for a few hours. Just remember to wipe a bit off before your next test if you put it on thick.

LOLOL I have the neosporin with pain relief and I couldnt make him stop bleeding, so I thought maybe a big gob of that would lolololol
You should have seen me in there lolol I put a huge glob on, kept bleeding, more huge glob lolololol
I finally put a bandaid on but it wont stay...
And I actually did not have to poke him for the next two test because I rubbed his ear with the cosmetic cotton to get the neosporin off and it started bleeding all over again, so got me some blood without the lancet lololol POOR MOUZER lololol His mom has lost her marbles ahahahahaahhaaha
 
Last edited:
+13.5 69

I have work to get done. I dont think I can get to lay down until about noon today, unless Mouzer keeps this up and keeps putting me behind.
Oh gawd! I need to sleep lololol
If Mouzer does rise high, it isnt like he hasnt gone black before lol not that I want that, but he will be ok and get back to good - just might take a day or two or three lololol And then he will do this to me all over again LOL
 
Last edited:
Cheryl, has he had any breakfast??

LOL NO! He is mad at me because I wont stop sticking him in the ear lol When I get anywhere near him, he moves to another side away from me.
If he isnt asking for food, I am going to just let him ride this, so it will be closer to pm shot and maybe not a huge opportunity to go insanely high before then.
I think I am going to give a poke break, go get work done, he isnt going down now, he will go up and I will give it a little time before next test.
Unless he just read this and will go down, even with no shot ahhaha
I think I will do a +16, that prevents three pokes between now and then lol
 
Last edited:
He's basically staying flat, I think you could ease up on the testing, it will give both you and Mouzer a break.

I don't think you need to be testing every 30min at the moment (and that comes from a serial testaholic:))

Maybe next test in an hour, if he is still flat then 2 hours, ease yourself off the testing, we wouldn't want you going cold turkey:p

Give him some space and see if he will eat in a little while, I do think he needs some food in his tummy. If you could get him to eat before +6 (+18)then he won't be begging for food just before shot time.
Ideally you want him to eat a good meal at shot time, so that it will be there in his system when the insulin shot onsets. Marje gave you an extensive post on a feeding strategy, when you manage to read it after you get some sleep, I would definitely try to start implementing it this evening.

On the plus side, as you have skipped you can re set your shot time to suit your schedule.
 
He's basically staying flat, I think you could ease up on the testing, it will give both you and Mouzer a break.

I don't think you need to be testing every 30min at the moment (and that comes from a serial testaholic:))

Maybe next test in an hour, if he is still flat then 2 hours, ease yourself off the testing, we wouldn't want you going cold turkey:p

Give him some space and see if he will eat in a little while, I do think he needs some food in his tummy. If you could get him to eat before +6 (+18)then he won't be begging for food just before shot time.
Ideally you want him to eat a good meal at shot time, so that it will be there in his system when the insulin shot onsets. Marje gave you an extensive post on a feeding strategy, when you manage to read it after you get some sleep, I would definitely try to start implementing it this evening.

On the plus side, as you have skipped you can re set your shot time to suit your schedule.

I need this guy to let me go to sleep lolol
I have to be up for a while but I am going to have to find time for some kind of nap, at least, and before I give that blasted pm shot to keep me up all night lol
and I cant be home as I need to tomorrow, so to stay on top of him. I hope he does maybe go yellow and blue lol just for this ahahahaah
OK I am goin to get some work done and I be back at +16, which is 10:30am est
 
Gonna rush to finish what I absolutely have to get done and then I am going to bed LOL
I will be back no later than 5:45pm est
It is 1039am est
 
+19.5 76 1.5oz lc

OK I think I got the time right. I am really groggy hahaha

It was 10:30am for +16 and 2pm for this one I am trying to figure and I think that is +19.5
but correct me if I am wrong.

I slept three hours heehee and so I did a marathon as in for me because I have not been awake for 31 hours straight since I was in my 30's lolol
I can hardly see, my eyes are so blurry

I dont even know how often to monitor right now but to fall back on -heck it is in where Marje has help for me and I am so fuzzy headed right now I cant think --
but I will get a +21.5/+10-spot and the 15 mins before a shot would be given but if he is not coming up out of this there will be no shot. i cannot stay up tonight and I cannot monitor properly tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
+19.5 76 1.5oz lc

OK I think I got the time right. I am really groggy hahaha

It was 10:30am for +16 and 2pm for this one I am trying to figure and I think that is +19.5
but correct me if I am wrong.

I slept three hours heehee and so I did a marathon as in for me because I have not been awake for 31 hours straight since I was in my 30's lolol
I can hardly see, my eyes are so blurry

I dont even know how often to monitor right now but to fall back on -heck it is in where Marje has help for me and I am so fuzzy headed right now I cant think --
but I will get a +21.5/+10-spot and the 15 mins before a shot would be given but if he is not coming up out of this there will be no shot. i cannot stay up tonight and I cannot monitor properly tomorrow.
+19.5 is right.

I can't believe Mouzer is still in the 70's. That shot worked too well. :rolleyes:
 
+19.5 is right.

I can't believe Mouzer is still in the 70's. That shot worked too well. :rolleyes:

I cant believe it either haha And I dont even know how this stuff goes but I still cant believe it :D

I just went and marked my SS with time because that 30 min late shot and being awake so many hours has my mind all messed up.
I have to run go do afternoon animal chores. I will be back at +21.5
 
Cherryl

I hope you are getting some rest but want to be sure and post this for you.

Jill, Gill, and I have been studying Mouzer's SS and had a discussion about what we might suggest for dosing for the immediate future.

The three of us agree that, potentially, Mouzer's diabetes was steroid induced due to the depomedrol shots he got for his stomatitis. The insulin you have given him, to date, perhaps has been just enough support for his pancreas that it has decided it can do a "little" work on its own.

Do we know this in unequivocally? No but we've seen very similar situations over the years.

His required reductions, his low AMBG today, his lack of response to HC food at the end of the cycle, and the fact that he's still green put up a flag to us that he needs less insulin right now.

Based on that, as well as the fact that you are exhausted, and he could possibly continue down the dosing ladder at a bit of a clip, we suggest you lower his dose to 0.5u tonight, if he gives you a number above 90 that you feel comfortable shooting. If he is still green tonight, it's a good time to skip another shot and get some rest.

This would be his new dose until he either shows he needs an increase, he drops below 90 soon, or his depot just gets ahead like it has recently.

Important Note to all Readers: This dosing suggestion is for Mouzer only based on his specific patterns and history. Please do not copy this dosing strategy. If you need assistance with your kitty in dosing, please ask for kitty specific suggestions.

What do you think, Cherryl?
 
Last edited:
Cherryl

I hope you are getting some rest but want to be sure and post this for you.

Jill, Gill, and I have been studying Mouzer's SS and had a discussion about what we might suggest for dosing for the immediate future.

The three of us agree that, potentially, Mouzer's diabetes was steroid induced due to the depomedrol shots he got for his stomatitis. The insulin you have given him, to date, perhaps has been just enough support for his pancreas that it has decided it can do a "little" work on its own.

Do we know this in unequivocally? No but we've seen very similar situations over the years.

His required reductions, his low AMBG today, his lack of response to HC food at the end of the cycle, and the fact that he's still green put up a flag to us that he needs less insulin right now.

Based on that, as well as the fact that you are exhausted, and he could possibly continue down the dosing ladder at a bit of a clip, we suggest you lower his dose to 0.5u tonight, if he gives you a number above 90 that you feel comfortable shooting. If he is still green tonight, it's a good time to skip another shot and get some rest.

This would be his new dose until he either shows he needs an increase, he drops below 90 soon, or his depot just gets ahead like it has recently.

Important Note to all Readers: This dosing suggestion is for Mouzer only based on his specific patterns and history. Please do not copy this dosing strategy. If you need assistance with your kitty in dosing, please ask for kitty specific suggestions.

What do you think, Cherryl?

OH! I am relieved LOL I am glad you guys have been looking this over and making a decision. My mind is so fuzzy and I am also bewildered because you know I do not understand this stuff enough to know what is going on. I have been thinking, this has got to be a steriod induced diabetes and the vet that gave the depo shots did tell me I could hope it is because better chances for Mouzer.

My only issue now is, if Mouzer gets to where he cant eat again, due to stomatitis pain, I dont know what to tell a vet to give for pain, that is not a steriod and I dont want him to have those depo shots. If you know, or know someone who does know or has dealt with stomatitis and diabetes and avoiding diabetes by avoiding depo shots, please let me know.

If he comes up to 90 lol and I give 0.5u - we have no guarantee this wont do a same thing like last night, do we?
I am just worried about not being able to monitor tonight and not to be around enough tomorrow where if he went low, I would feel ok to leave him, and I hate it but I really do have to leave. I honestly so wish I could ride this whole thing out with him. I am not sure if I should do shot if he gets to 90 or wait til he is around 130 for a shot. Maybe even at 120.
 
Last edited:
His required reductions, his low AMBG today, his lack of response to HC food at the end of the cycle, and the fact that he's still green put up a flag to us that he needs less insulin right now.

Based on that, as well as the fact that you are exhausted, and he could possibly continue down the dosing ladder at a bit of a clip, we suggest you lower his dose to 0.5u tonight, if he gives you a number above 90 that you feel comfortable shooting. If he is still green tonight, it's a good time to skip another shot and get some rest.

This would be his new dose until he either shows he needs an increase, he drops below 90 soon, or his depot just gets ahead like it has recently.

Important Note to all Readers: This dosing suggestion is for Mouzer only based on his specific patterns and history. Please do not copy this dosing strategy. If you need assistance with your kitty in dosing, please ask for kitty specific suggestions.
I was wondering the same since this was potentially steroid induced diabetes. I noticed how HC food didn't do much. I'm glad you three confirmed my thoughts.

I'm happy for you, Cherryl, that you can try 0.5u for your next shot, whenever that may be. :bighug:
 
I was wondering the same since this was potentially steroid induced diabetes. I noticed how HC food didn't do much. I'm glad you three confirmed my thoughts.

I'm happy for you, Cherryl, that you can try 0.5u for your next shot, whenever that may be. :bighug:

I am happy and hopeful for Mouzer. But I am also glad there are those here that can know if he needs another raise back up with dose, as time goes and we see what he does. I am so blessed to have all of you looking at this! I dont know what I would do if I did not have you guys/gals - helping out with this and taking the time to really make sure Mouzer is safe, all the way through!! And I am getting another test in about five minutes.
 
If he comes up to 90 lol and I give 0.5u - we have no guarantee this wont do a same thing like last night, do we?
No, we don't... which is why Marje said:
we suggest you lower his dose to 0.5u tonight, if he gives you a number above 90 that you feel comfortable shooting. If he is still green tonight, it's a good time to skip another shot and get some rest.
We suggest you do not shoot a green number tonight. We also want to make sure you're comfortable with the preshot number if/when you decide to shoot. In other words, if he doesn't throw you a preshot number you feel good about AND given you can't monitor tonight... don't shoot. I really don't think you'll lose any momentum at all and you need to sleep. :)

 
My only issue now is, if Mouzer gets to where he cant eat again, due to stomatitis pain, I dont know what to tell a vet to give for pain, that is not a steriod and I dont want him to have those depo shots. If you know, or know someone who does know or has dealt with stomatitis and diabetes and avoiding diabetes by avoiding depo shots, please let me know.
I do not know much about stomatits other than what I read last night after you posted that Mouzer had it. Has the vet given any "topical/mouth" meds or has it just been pain meds and steroids?

I do know that SEB (slippery elm bark) is given for mouth ulcers. You might try it?

Here is the link:
http://felinecrf.org/treatments_waste_products_regulation.htm#mouth_ulcers

http://felinecrf.org/holistic_treatments.htm#slippery_elm_bark

You can also make slippery elm bark into a syrup that is used for digestive problems or for mouth sores or ulcers. It has the same soothing and healing effects in the mouth - try dabbing in your cat's mouth ulcers if required. The syrup is weaker than the straight powder, so you can give a little more of it. Some people have told me they find it hard to place the syrup on their cat's mouth ulcers if they are in hard-to-reach areas of the mouth. In such cases, you may wish to use a syringe to aim the syrup at the ulcers.

Hopefully someone with experience/knowledge will chime in.

The three of us agree that, potentially, Mouzer's diabetes was steroid induced due to the depomedrol shots he got for his stomatitis. The insulin you have given him, to date, perhaps has been just enough support for his pancreas that it has decided it can do a "little" work on its own.

So excited for you and Mouzer! Told ya so - :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top