Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Yesterday 6/15 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...160-3-108-4-66-5-74-6-66-8-76-9-5-131.215686/
Day 19 @ 2. Units Lantus
Day 19 @ 2. Units Lantus




I know you see things on Yoyo's SS that I don't see, but please explain......Does he have room for an increase because he doesn't have green everyday? or that he doesn't have green AM and PM? or because he goes into the yellow at PS? or is it all of those things? or is it something else that I am not aware of.Looks like he had you up last night with someYou let me know when you are ready to increase the dose. I don’t want to pressure you. He’s got room for an increase but I totally understand that this is a good dose for you both.
![]()


















. From the literature I've read so far it seems theres less likely a chance of hypo on Lantus vs say Vetsulin, but am curious what people have experienced!
! She is gorgeous. It's great that she works with you with all the BG testing. My guy is Mr. Sensitive & has been from the day he was born. He is cooperative with the BG testing now but still will get upset by it. I actually had to back off today because after a few days of increased testing with the start of Lantus, he really got into low/sad place by Friday evening. He is now officially a little flared up with his pancreatitis tonight & I had to give him cerenia. He hasn't needed that for the past 3 years
? Looking forward to the end of the week when I may see something. Hopefully his flare won't cause too many issues with his BG.
All of the above. If you are striving for tight regulation, you’d want mostly green cycles. However, in Tilly’s, Kirsten explains that keeping the BG between 50-200. In that case, this dose is working just fine for him. And I know you are more comfortable with where he is right now. That’s fine. We can continue to watch him but if he trends up any, we should think about a dose increase. Since lantus shots are cumulative, we will be optimistic that he will continue to improve or earn a reduction.I know you see things on Yoyo's SS that I don't see, but please explain......Does he have room for an increase because he doesn't have green everyday? or that he doesn't have green AM and PM? or because he goes into the yellow at PS? or is it all of those things? or is it something else that I am not aware of.
Please explain when you have some spare time. Of course my fear of increasing is that he will go below 50 but I'm starting to think that may not be the case but of course I always think that way
Hope you and family had a good day![]()
Welcome to FDMB. Your profile is blocked so I can’t quickly tell if you are posting every day but that’s the best way to help Mr. T! He’s very handsome, too!!!Thank you so much Debra! I see that you switched to TR & based on your SS it looks like you've got Yoyo in a great place with all those lovely blues & greens!! Very exciting. Its interesting how one minute a low # hits & then you get a yellow & think What the?? Looking forward to seeing you nail this
Yoyo looks like quite the chill cat! She is gorgeous. It's great that she works with you with all the BG testing. My guy is Mr. Sensitive & has been from the day he was born. He is cooperative with the BG testing now but still will get upset by it. I actually had to back off today because after a few days of increased testing with the start of Lantus, he really got into low/sad place by Friday evening. He is now officially a little flared up with his pancreatitis tonight & I had to give him cerenia. He hasn't needed that for the past 3 years
. I will have to take his slightly more fragile personality & emotions into consideration with all of this & find a balance.
I've also been slowly but surely reading, reading & MORE reading. I read the threads here, I've done a dive into the published literature & I'm just trying understand all the different approaches to this. I'm now just trying to be patient with the switch to Lantus. Tick tock, tick tock...is it time for it to be on board & bring those #'s down yet
? Looking forward to the end of the week when I may see something. Hopefully his flare won't cause too many issues with his BG.
Have a great night as well & thank you for the warm welcome!![]()
I remember the first time that I was taking Yoyo's BG....I was shaking and thought that I would never be able to do this. I had my sister hold him while I poked his little ear.....and now what a difference, he jumps on the bed and waits for me to get the meter and lancet, I swear he knows the routine. Usually when I test he always gets fed afterwards. Have you tried rewarding Mr T with Low Carb food after his BG tests?Thank you so much Debra! I see that you switched to TR & based on your SS it looks like you've got Yoyo in a great place with all those lovely blues & greens!! Very exciting. Its interesting how one minute a low # hits & then you get a yellow & think What the?? Looking forward to seeing you nail this
Yoyo looks like quite the chill cat! She is gorgeous. It's great that she works with you with all the BG testing. My guy is Mr. Sensitive & has been from the day he was born. He is cooperative with the BG testing now but still will get upset by it. I actually had to back off today because after a few days of increased testing with the start of Lantus, he really got into low/sad place by Friday evening. He is now officially a little flared up with his pancreatitis tonight & I had to give him cerenia. He hasn't needed that for the past 3 years
. I will have to take his slightly more fragile personality & emotions into consideration with all of this & find a balance.
I've also been slowly but surely reading, reading & MORE reading. I read the threads here, I've done a dive into the published literature & I'm just trying understand all the different approaches to this. I'm now just trying to be patient with the switch to Lantus. Tick tock, tick tock...is it time for it to be on board & bring those #'s down yet
? Looking forward to the end of the week when I may see something. Hopefully his flare won't cause too many issues with his BG.
Have a great night as well & thank you for the warm welcome!![]()

And you are committed to listening, learning, and asking great questions. Plus you are just a genuinely kind personI remember the first time that I was taking Yoyo's BG....I was shaking and thought that I would never be able to do this. I had my sister hold him while I poked his little ear.....and now what a difference, he jumps on the bed and waits for me to get the meter and lancet, I swear he knows the routine. Usually when I test he always gets fed afterwards. Have you tried rewarding Mr T with Low Carb food after his BG tests?
I'm sorry that he isn't feeling well, I hope he feels better soon.
@Marje and Gracie is my HERO. She is a fantastic caring individual who is very knowledgeable and will put any of your fears to rest.
She has guided Yoyo and me and we are forever grateful to her.
Mr T will improve, it just takes time and patience.![]()


Welcome to FDMB. Your profile is blocked so I can’t quickly tell if you are posting every day but that’s the best way to help Mr. T! He’s very handsome, too!!!
I remember the first time that I was taking Yoyo's BG....I was shaking and thought that I would never be able to do this. I had my sister hold him while I poked his little ear.....and now what a difference, he jumps on the bed and waits for me to get the meter and lancet, I swear he knows the routine. Usually when I test he always gets fed afterwards. Have you tried rewarding Mr T with Low Carb food after his BG tests?
I'm sorry that he isn't feeling well, I hope he feels better soon.
@Marje and Gracie is my HERO. She is a fantastic caring individual who is very knowledgeable and will put any of your fears to rest.
She has guided Yoyo and me and we are forever grateful to her.
Mr T will improve, it just takes time and patience.![]()

Perfect. Thank you!!!Thank you Marje. Too kind! I believe I fixed the issue with the settings!!