PMPS 146, bk lo, 10lbs 9oz. So kinda all over the place with the numbers right now. First, he just went poo at PM+0 and it was soft serve. But, his BG held steady, ketones are almost gone, and weight is up a bit despite the diarrhea. So I'm holding at the 5u insulin dosage and going back to 1cc metro. Hopefully this is a brief bout of diarrhea and the BG doesn't drop too much or at the very least the extra food will offset it.
My hope was that I'd be able to ween him off the metro. We got this AnimalBiome Gut Restoration kit that is a fecal transplant supplement that's supposed to reset the gut biome and really help with IBD. It notes that antibiotics can compete with the new microbes and to end or reduce dosage if possible, but it also states that if the meds are vital to their health, it is what it is. So while I was hoping we could end the metro before starting it, it's starting to feel like that either might not be possible or might just take too long so I think I'm going to wait until this bout of diarrhea is over and then start it. Worst case scenario if it doesn't take we can just order a new bottle of pills. The pills themselves are pretty cheap, it's the testing kits that cost a lot and we won't really need to do more of those; he'll either get better from it or he won't and we won't really need a poop test to tell us if that happened.