6/23 Jerry AM 89 OTJ Trial starts today. +6=98 PM = 119, +5 =78

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Vicki and Jerry, Jun 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vicki and Jerry

    Vicki and Jerry Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Jerry condo Decided to start a OTJ trial with Jerry. Jerry went to 36 at +6 yesterday AM so I gave him a reduction of insulin to one pin drop for his PM shot. Since he was on a micro amount of .1- ( which is two pin drops.) With some discussion I am going to try the OTJ trail for Jerry. Wish us luck!!!
     
  2. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Great to see his lower numbers. Good luck with the trial, hope Jerry pulls thru - which I'm sure he will and get OTJ..........keep testing here and there with spot checks daily so you can catch anything abnormal. Excited for you!!
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  3. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Good luck!!! :bighug:
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  4. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Good luck! So exciting!:D
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  5. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Good Luck on the OTJ trial.
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Best of luck to you! Paws and fingers crossed that he makes the trial of OTJ! Then celebration time!! :D:D
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Oooooo so exciting, good luck!
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial:

    • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
    • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
    • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
    Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
    Good luck with the trial!!!

    Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  9. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    How exciting! Happy Day 1! :D
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
  10. Vicki and Jerry

    Vicki and Jerry Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Thank you for this information. I have printed it off for easy reference!
     
  11. Vicki and Jerry

    Vicki and Jerry Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    PM test time was 119, Jerry ate then and tested at 5 hours later and he was 78! Paws crossed he stays on this track!!
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  12. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Looks like he is ready. I hope the OTJ trial works.
     
    Vicki and Jerry likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page