? 6/25 Post DKA Millie AMPS 434, +7 523, +9 508.Going higher! Dosing input needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Millie has been better since her recent MOD ketone episode. She's eating and drinking and back to herself. The ketone blood meter has not worked but she's urinating and I'm able to get her count that way.

In the last three days since her increase (on 6/22) she had a nadir of 181 which was great to see. Unfortunately she spends LOTS of time in the 400s. I only it's only been 6 cycles since the increase and since the bounce but I am trying to stay on top of this and not let it go too long if she needs another increase. Although night readings are VERY difficult, I have been trying to get some. I guess I should wait a couple of more cycles and more readings to decide if it's time to increase.
 
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
    Following TR if you can monitor I'd increase if she were mine. I You don't want the new norm to be in those high numbers.
  • It would be nice if you could get some PMPS tests
 
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
    Following TR if you can monitor I'd increase if she were mine. I You don't want the new norm to be in those high numbers.
  • It would be nice if you could get some PMPS tests
Thank you. Yes, I read the protocol. I've also been told by some with more experience than myself (and experience with DKA prone kitties) that sometimes you don't necessarily follow the regular protocol to help keep kitties safe. I'm trying to make sure I post more often and also get info before it's an emergency. I'm considering increasing in the next day or so.
 
If you are still following TR, you are absolutely fine to increase the dose. The only hesitation I would have is if you see Millie's numbers dropping and the bounce is breaking. If numbers are dropping at shot time, please post and ask for help so some experienced eyes can help you figure out what to do so you don't lose momentum (i.e., those pretty blue numbers).
 
If you are still following TR, you are absolutely fine to increase the dose. The only hesitation I would have is if you see Millie's numbers dropping and the bounce is breaking. If numbers are dropping at shot time, please post and ask for help so some experienced eyes can help you figure out what to do so you don't lose momentum (i.e., those pretty blue numbers).
Will do!
 
Millie's +7 523 and +9 508. Not sure if it's due to food? She gets her reshot bg in two hours. Should I not feed to see if her bg is any different?

Also, it's hard where we are and weather was like this a few days ago when she started running high. Does weather affect some diabetic cats? She is eating and drinking and just jumped on the bed to be with me. so seems alright. Just don't like her going up in bg!
 
Adding a new post bumps up your condo.

Some cats are effected by hot weather -- especially if you don't have air conditioning.

Given where the numbers are and you're following TR, if this were my cat, I would increase the dose to 2.5u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top