6/26 Silver AMPS 128 PMPS 31 +1=182 +4=281

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Juliet, Jun 26, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Hopefully you'll see some more green soon.
     
  3. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    If not by tonight I'll increase. Doesn't seem to want to come down the dosing ladder. Thought it might have happened after the dental so that was probably unnecessary to put him through. Made no difference.
     
  4. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I wouldn't say it was unnecessary. Teeth issues can cause our kitties to feel bad and make their BG higher. When Furball has had dentals in the past it didn't make a difference in her numbers either, but I'm glad I had them done.
     
    Kris & Teasel and Amanda & Shmee like this.
  5. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    I think the dental was worth it...his numbers were generally higher and climbing, he developed keytones and his dose was continually going up in a short space.

    Now he may need the same amount of juice as back then....but those lower blues and sprinkle of greens look better than the sea of yellow with sprinkling of high blue. Plus he has put back on weight...he feels better!


    Good luck with your dose increase.
     
    PussCatPrince - GA likes this.
  6. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Dental is never an unnecessary thing. They can't tell us if they have a toothache or not. I have my kitties done every 5 yrs of course unless there is an issue that needs addressing.
     
    PussCatPrince - GA likes this.
  7. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    The sea of yellow and ketones was not due to the need for a dental. The preceding issues and DKA was due to infection caused by the dental. No benefits to it.
     
  8. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Wow. I don't have the funds to do that. Once in a lifetime is more than I can afford.
     
  9. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Mostly my vet does it and February is dental month so it's 20% off. Trip and Tux was $345 each. Now Olive I'm taking to a specialist so she is expensive.
     
    Juliet likes this.
  10. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Sweet. My vet charged over $1,000. And then didn't give antibiotics. He got an infection followed by DKA and more $$ into vet pocket.
     
  11. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Well given the preshot I just came home to it will be a decrease not an increase. He is leading me a merry dance.
     
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Wow! Up Silver, up. They do like to keep us guessing.
     
    Juliet likes this.
  13. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    I fed him his usual meal but may high carb him at bedtime depending on his number. Dunno where that lime green came from. No hypo symptoms tho. Surprised. What number would give hypo symptoms?
     
  14. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Hypo symptoms depend on the cat. Jones are very slight...mostly he gets cold.

    Cats seem to have their own agenda.
     
    Juliet likes this.
  15. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Like Tracey said, hypo symptoms are different with each cat. I hope Silver comes up tonight.
     
    Juliet likes this.
  16. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    He came up thanks. Not too high but at least there's no insulin to bring him down as I skipped the shot. Clearly 4.25u is too much. Bit 4u wasn't bringing him into green so a little confused as to the new dose. I can't fatten the 4u as it's just one drop between the two doses.
     
  17. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    You're telling me! Be nice if they let us know. I pray every day I walk out the door that God keeps Silver safe while I am gone and that when his time comes it's not by my hand. He was high blue this morning and no expectation of green let alone lime green.
     
  18. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Maybe he'll surf on the 4 units. A cat doesn't always do the same thing on a dose that they did in the past. I'm glad he came up for you.
     
    Juliet likes this.
  19. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    I'd get that if it was long in the past but the 4u was only four days ago. Not even a week.
     
  20. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I had a heart attack when I saw your subject line = PMPS 31.
    Would you please change that to PMBG 31? Also the 182 would be a +13 (according to your ss).

    I'm glad Silver was ok when you got home...
    Given your circumstances, you're running him too low for comfort. :(
     
  21. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Okay so now he is over 200 - is this due to bouncing do you think or the skipped shot?
     
  22. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    I'm glad he came up for you! 31 to 182 is a big jump, did you give HC food at the 31?
     
    Juliet likes this.
  23. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Thanks Amanda. No, regular food. I am quite okay with the 31 as its considerably higher on the Accu-check meter which is more in line with vet lab results. i wasn't worried. I also knew he'd come up fast due to his usual patterns. He is well over 200 now. The preshot is always his lowest in the curve.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
  24. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Oh gotcha ok, I always forget to check which meter people have.
     
  25. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    I use both. I grab a double check when needed. Also - given that the 31 is not in line with his tests for the last several days, it could have just been a bum strip.
     
  26. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Or, he could have been 29 or 27 or 25 or lower a half hour before that PreShot test. Good Luck with the dose reduction.
     
  27. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Juliet, one cannot count on that assumption. Comparisons between pet-specific meters and human meters are typically very close at low numbers.
    Another assumption.

    Not trying to argue with you. Just want Silver to stay safe.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  28. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Thanks Dyana
     
  29. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    No assumption - I took test on BOTH meters if you read the condo you would see that. Also, you have not been in Silver's condo for some time. My circumstances are not the same and now, are unknown to you.
     
  30. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yet another assumption.

    Good luck to you, Juliet!
     
  31. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Well you clearly do not know our circumstances. I will not be responding to you again. Thank you.
     
  32. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I must not have not seen the post with the results from both meters for comparison when you got the 31. What post number would that be?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page