6/26 Silver AMPS 128 PMPS 31 +1=182 +4=281

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hopefully you'll see some more green soon.
If not by tonight I'll increase. Doesn't seem to want to come down the dosing ladder. Thought it might have happened after the dental so that was probably unnecessary to put him through. Made no difference.
 
Thought it might have happened after the dental so that was probably unnecessary to put him through. Made no difference.
I wouldn't say it was unnecessary. Teeth issues can cause our kitties to feel bad and make their BG higher. When Furball has had dentals in the past it didn't make a difference in her numbers either, but I'm glad I had them done.
 
I think the dental was worth it...his numbers were generally higher and climbing, he developed keytones and his dose was continually going up in a short space.

Now he may need the same amount of juice as back then....but those lower blues and sprinkle of greens look better than the sea of yellow with sprinkling of high blue. Plus he has put back on weight...he feels better!


Good luck with your dose increase.
 
Dental is never an unnecessary thing. They can't tell us if they have a toothache or not. I have my kitties done every 5 yrs of course unless there is an issue that needs addressing.
 
I think the dental was worth it...his numbers were generally higher and climbing, he developed keytones and his dose was continually going up in a short space.

Now he may need the same amount of juice as back then....but those lower blues and sprinkle of greens look better than the sea of yellow with sprinkling of high blue. Plus he has put back on weight...he feels better!


Good luck with your dose increase.
The sea of yellow and ketones was not due to the need for a dental. The preceding issues and DKA was due to infection caused by the dental. No benefits to it.
 
Dental is never an unnecessary thing. They can't tell us if they have a toothache or not. I have my kitties done every 5 yrs of course unless there is an issue that needs addressing.
Wow. I don't have the funds to do that. Once in a lifetime is more than I can afford.
 
Mostly my vet does it and February is dental month so it's 20% off. Trip and Tux was $345 each. Now Olive I'm taking to a specialist so she is expensive.
Sweet. My vet charged over $1,000. And then didn't give antibiotics. He got an infection followed by DKA and more $$ into vet pocket.
 
I think the dental was worth it...his numbers were generally higher and climbing, he developed keytones and his dose was continually going up in a short space.

Now he may need the same amount of juice as back then....but those lower blues and sprinkle of greens look better than the sea of yellow with sprinkling of high blue. Plus he has put back on weight...he feels better!


Good luck with your dose increase.
Well given the preshot I just came home to it will be a decrease not an increase. He is leading me a merry dance.
 
Wow! Up Silver, up. They do like to keep us guessing.
I fed him his usual meal but may high carb him at bedtime depending on his number. Dunno where that lime green came from. No hypo symptoms tho. Surprised. What number would give hypo symptoms?
 
Like Tracey said, hypo symptoms are different with each cat. I hope Silver comes up tonight.
He came up thanks. Not too high but at least there's no insulin to bring him down as I skipped the shot. Clearly 4.25u is too much. Bit 4u wasn't bringing him into green so a little confused as to the new dose. I can't fatten the 4u as it's just one drop between the two doses.
 
Hypo symptoms depend on the cat. Jones are very slight...mostly he gets cold.

Cats seem to have their own agenda.
You're telling me! Be nice if they let us know. I pray every day I walk out the door that God keeps Silver safe while I am gone and that when his time comes it's not by my hand. He was high blue this morning and no expectation of green let alone lime green.
 
He came up thanks. Not too high but at least there's no insulin to bring him down as I skipped the shot. Clearly 4.25u is too much. Bit 4u wasn't bringing him into green so a little confused as to the new dose. I can't fatten the 4u as it's just one drop between the two doses.
Maybe he'll surf on the 4 units. A cat doesn't always do the same thing on a dose that they did in the past. I'm glad he came up for you.
 
Maybe he'll surf on the 4 units. A cat doesn't always do the same thing on a dose that they did in the past. I'm glad he came up for you.
I'd get that if it was long in the past but the 4u was only four days ago. Not even a week.
 
Maybe he'll surf on the 4 units. A cat doesn't always do the same thing on a dose that they did in the past. I'm glad he came up for you.
Okay so now he is over 200 - is this due to bouncing do you think or the skipped shot?
 
I'm glad he came up for you! 31 to 182 is a big jump, did you give HC food at the 31?
Thanks Amanda. No, regular food. I am quite okay with the 31 as its considerably higher on the Accu-check meter which is more in line with vet lab results. i wasn't worried. I also knew he'd come up fast due to his usual patterns. He is well over 200 now. The preshot is always his lowest in the curve.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Amanda. No, regular food. I am quite okay with the 31 as its considerably higher on the Accu-check meter which is more in line with vet lab results. i wasn't worried. I also knew he'd come up fast due to his usual patters. He is well over 200 now. The preshot is always his lowest in the curve.
Oh gotcha ok, I always forget to check which meter people have.
 
am quite okay with the 31 as its considerably higher on the Accu-check meter which is more in line with vet lab results.
Juliet, one cannot count on that assumption. Comparisons between pet-specific meters and human meters are typically very close at low numbers.
Also - given that the 31 is not in line with his tests for the last several days, it could have just been a bum strip.
Another assumption.

Not trying to argue with you. Just want Silver to stay safe.
 
Juliet, one cannot count on that assumption. Comparisons between pet-specific meters and human meters are typically very close at low numbers.

Another assumption.

Not trying to argue with you. Just want Silver to stay safe.
No assumption - I took test on BOTH meters if you read the condo you would see that. Also, you have not been in Silver's condo for some time. My circumstances are not the same and now, are unknown to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top